We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Bay Lodge and Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“I loved the place!”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

West Bay Lodge is a located in the West Bay section of Roatan Island. We were secluded yet near the small strip mall and the beach which was just a small walk away. There are several restaurants in the area and taxi's wait near the lodge.

The staff was great! One feels like you are part of a family. I can't wait until my return, as I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtr1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    81
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
137
271
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Arrived from Houston around 1315 on a Thursday, waited in line for 20 minutes to get through customs and were met by Carlos, the West Bay Lodge driver, who grabbed our bags and whisked us into his van for the 20 minute narrated ride to the Lodge. We were greeted warmly by Celeste and Milos, escorted to our rooms and met again in the restaurant for welcoming rum punches and a delicious lunch. Hit the beach and got in an hour snorkel before the sun went down in spectacular fashion. We knew we had made an excellent choice of destination and accommodation.

The hosts bent over backwards to accommodate any requests, including runs to the store for anything we thought we needed and making special meals for a couple of our group with dietary issues.

Nice rooms with great ventilation and/or great A/C depending on the temperature. After a day at the beach, the pool felt wonderful and was a great meeting place for our group. We even had drinks and lunch, pool side, a couple of times served very nicely by Marlon and the kitchen staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alem23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Lush tropical grounds with nice pool. Very convenient restaurant on site with delicious food and attentive staff. They bent over backwards to accommodate a variety of dietary needs from gluten free, onion free, vegetarian, and sea food lovers. Marlon even invented a gluten free corn pancake recipe and had special quick cooking rice special delivered when we wanted to cook in the bungalow. The staff interacts as a family and truly loves their work. Only handicap access to facilities and beach keep it from being a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

while the animal rescue going on here is highly commendable, eating with cats and parrots is not our thing. walking through parrot droppings to dine, swim or rest, not so pleasant. squawking parrots at 7:45 am. you decide.
small chilly pool, nice for cooling off, but not when more than a couple of people are in it.
stressed staff, trying, but making lots of mistakes.
walkway to the over-devloped, but beautiful beach, pretty disgusting.
seems like the restaurants are paving it with cooking grease...it's rancid smelling, with stagnant puddles after the rain. wear your worst shoes!
located roadside and where taxis dead end and turnaround.
this is not the place to go for peace and quiet and fine service.
however, at a fair price, that includes a decent breakfast- we ate it on our deck, away from the cats and parrots- here are the PROS:
clean comfortable beds, near but not on the very active beach.
easy access to snorkeling, diving and swimming.
abundant tropical foliage.
nice market, coffee shop, and scooter rental right across the street.
sincere, warm and accommodating host named Milos.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank discerningbugetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed in West Bay Lodge for a week over Christmas with our two-year-old in the property across from the main lodge. I can't tell you how many times we patted ourselves on the back for choosing this location over our other options. It's not a fancy place and it's not right on the beach but the space is much nicer and quieter than most of the on-the-beach locations we had in our price range and beyond. The food is also very good, especially dinner and lunch. Milos and Celeste were incredibly helpful (as was Marlon). We would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojo6429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2011

So my mother's review (Tramacita below) pretty much says it all, but I wanted to add a few things.

First of all, the homemade tortillas, served almost with every meal, are delicious. I would give my left arm for a lobster baleada right about now!! The staff was phenomenal, especially Oyuki and Marlon. The rooms were really well equipped, they absolutely stock the fridge with great drink options and the cost is really reasonable. The porch hammocks were a wonderful quiet place to relax, and watching the bats sip nectar from the banana tree flowers was a favorite activity at dusk. The pool area is perfect, especially on the days when the cruise ships take over the beach.

As mentioned previously, no need for a car. The staff at WBL did a great job of hooking us up with Juan Carlos for a tour to the Hole in the Wall restaurant ( a must do).

The beach in West Bay is breathtaking.....quickly a couple comments about Roatan, WEAR bug spray on the beach, I hardly ever saw them, but the sandflies did get me and I didn't really feel it until day 7. Avoid the beach on Tues/Wed/Thu if you can as those seem to be the highest traffic cruise ship days.

Anyway, back to West Bay Lodge.....absolutely no regrets about our choice to stay here, I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokelumne Hill, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2011

5 of us ( all adults, myself, my husband and two adult daughters and one son-in-law) stayed at the West Bay Lodge for 8 nights over Christmas and New Years. We could not have been happier with tthe accomodations and the food and friendly atmsophere. Celeste and Milos were wonderful and helpful. we immensely enjoyed eating breakfast with the 7 parrots and various cats. Marlon was the majordomo I guess and he was a sweetheart. Great location, 2 block walk from the most beautiful beach on Roatan

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tramacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
589 reviews
9.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Lodge and Spa

Property: West Bay Lodge and Spa
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West Bay
#1 Green Hotel in West Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Bay Lodge and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your West Bay Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Bay Hotel West Bay
West Bay Lodge And Spa Roatan, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing