We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to remember”
Review of Nibaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nibaru
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cala di Volpe
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A trip to remember”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

It's amazing that people like the owners of the Nibaru Hotel still exist. They went out of their way to accommodate us. I had left behind my laptop and i Pad in the rental car at the airport. Ricardo went to the airport, which is 30+ minutes away from the hotel, picked up the laptop and the i Pad, and kept them at the hotel until the DHL courier picked them up.
The hotel is very well located, close to several beaches, nightclubs, and restaurants. For the price we paid, the service we received was excellent.
The only improvement we would suggest is to heat the pool, as it is really cold, as cold as the sea.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
60
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I stayed 10 days at the Nibaru Hotel from July 4-14.
Although not luxurious, it was very clean (really!) and extremely confortable. The room was a good size, furnitures basic, but well mantained, bathroom very, very clean, plenty of open spaces, you never feel crowded, and with fantastic staff.
You do need a car to stay at Nibaru, but then you need a car no matter where you stay in Porto Cervo. Distance to the beaches nearby is about 3-10 minutes (by car) and there are 3 supermarkets, one very good, about 5 minutes drive away. A Pizza restaurant right at the doorstep, reasonable prices, and the beautiful Cali de Volpi Hotel almost across the street.
The staff spoke very good English, was very helpful with information, flights confirmations, etc...nothing was too much for them.
You could see that the place is well run and well kept. Like I said, no luxury, but you'll feel very confortable staying there.
The breakast was OK for my 10 days stay, and my request to change the room from the poolside to moutain side was done promptly. No fuss.
I enjoyed very much my stay at the hotel and if and when I go back to Sardinia (which I found it to be a very nice place to be, but rather on the expensive side), I would certainly go back to this Hotel - unless, of course , if I could afford one that is probably 10 times more expensive!
This is only my opinion, and is worth what it worth....if you ever plan to visit Sardinia, then Porto Cervo is the place to be. It is beautiful, peaceful, romantic, with good restaurants and wondeful shopping.(Very pricy!!!)
But really, don't consider staying any other far off places. For me, Sardinia is Costa Esmeralda.
Just make sure you know that it is an expensive place and that you must dig deep into your pockets for almost everything. But you will love it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LMLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed just for one night on a quick weekend trip to the island. The room was functional and everything worked, from the small tv (with cable) to the large wallmounted air-con unit. Reception staff were frienly and multi-lingual, parking was easy and very close to the room. No internet provision in the room was a small negative.
While not luxurious and rather basic it was fairly priced - though the price tag would have bought you a 5* room with all amenities in other parts of the world, but then hey, this is Sardinia's Costa Smeralda.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HavanaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Nibaru is a nice hotel at a reasonable price near some of the best beaches of Costa Smeralda. While it has a good swimming pool, you would be crazy spending your days there, not sampling the wonders of the coast.

Very quiet setting, convenient location, but you really need a car or motorbike to hop around, not limiting yourself to the wonderful, but crowded Capriccioli and Celvia beaches you could walk to. Same applies to nightlife.

A convenient pizzeria is just around the corner and a good restaurant in the next hotel. Courteous staff, average breakfast near the pool.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcogiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna Region, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Nibaru the last week of July and we had without a doubt a lovely stay. The hotel is very well set in a lovely garden with nice flowers and perfectly positioned for exploring the Costa Smeralda. There are several great restaurants in the area such as Mama Latina. The pool area is great but we preferred to go to the beaches, the breakfast is nice and offers enough variety even for an eight nights stay, the gym is brand new and large (it seemed as if we were the only ones who used it), the staff is exceptionally friendly (the cleaning ladies, the guys at the reception and the bar). The only criticism I have are the beds, for our taste they were by far too soft. Otherwise, it was a great stay, in a completely overpriced area and we never had the feeling that Hotel Nibaru was a rip off but rather had a great price/quality ratio.

  • Liked — fantastic price quality ratio in extremely expensive area, lovely setting
  • Disliked — beds were too soft
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Katinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

The resort is located well for visiting neighbouring towns, although you do need a car to get anywhere. It has a beautiful pool but it's freezing cold the whole time so it's hard getting into it. We paid quite a lot to stay here so expected a 4* resort but the room was very basic. We went out for the day and the cleaning lady left our room unlocked when she changed the sheets in the morning so our room was not secure for about 8 hours, we went to tell the man on reception and first he accused us and then when we said that it definitely wasn't us he said "oh well". That was the same responce when we informed him that the tv in our room didn't work. But the resort is lovely looking, breakfast simple but tasty and there are lots of good beaches nearby.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank girla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Like the previous reviewer said......I too booked this hotel based on the recommendation of the "What a Find" reviewer!!! Thank God his review lived up to his write up!!
I promised the Hotel Nibaru's front desk staff that I would write another positive review about this hotel to move it up on the Trip Advisor rating system as it was, in fact, a great find!!!!
It is right across the street from the VERY expensive Cala di Volpe hotel...but guess what... the Hotel Nibaru gets the same weather and offers equally beautiful views and service without the stuffiness or the pain in the pocketbook!!!
The front desk staff could not be more accommodating....we arrived in Sardinia too late to rent a car (as all the rental offices were closed) so we took a taxi from the ferry port in St Teresa di Gallara to the Costa Smeralda. When we arrived, we told the front desk that we were without a car and they quickly ordered a Rent a car for us and had it delivered to the hotel.....as the other reviewers had advised - you must have a car to see Sardinia!!
The pool was divine, the breakfast fulfilling.....the experience positive!!!
We had just come from Corisica - Calvi and Bonifacio...and we felt that Corsica offered more that Sardinia...but to each it's own...we are still glad we experienced this island....
If Sardinia is part of your travel plans......Hotel Nibaru is the place you want to stay!!

  • Liked — Location , Price and staff
  • Disliked — Sardinia is a bit dead in early June
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Familytripciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala di Volpe
5.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Petra Bianca
Hotel Petra Bianca
#10 of 21 in Porto Cervo
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cala di Volpe
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
4.4 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nibaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nibaru

Property: Nibaru
Address: Loc. Cala di Volpe, 07021 Cala di Volpe, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Cala di Volpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cala di Volpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nibaru 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday & relax, fitness & spa, rooms, private villa & apartments accommodations situated in the heart of Costa Smeralda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Nibaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nibaru Porto Cervo
Nibaru Cala Di Volpe, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing