We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sonia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Certificate of Excellence
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Villa Sonia is located just 15 minutes from Taormina. Very nice little town everything in easy walking distance. Free shuttle to Taormina. Excellent view of Etna on the beautiful terrace. Great pool. Superb staff and facility. Excellent breakfast. Reasonable parking fee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    147
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
78
281
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a great hotel for views of Mt Etna, but is a little out of the way as regards facilities around you. It is quite an uphill walk up to Castlemola and only suitable for fairly fit people, not anyone with walking problems.
The hotel has fantastic staff, who are more than just helpfull, they really put themselves out to make your stay comfortable, however on arrival three of the lights in our upgraded deluxe room did not work and these should have been checked before our arrival. We arrived on a Saturday so they were not fixed until Monday morning.
The food was good, but not brilliant and the breakfast was enough, but mainly made up of breads, cereals and fruit. If you wanted eggs you either had to cook them yourself or hope that the scrambled egg dish had some in.
We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Heaven in Sicily.
I came to Castelmola after a very rainy ride.
I got out of the car to look at the stunning views of Kstomlh. Amazing amazing amazing.
Like a painting. I decided I had to stay in this town at least for this night, I went to the hotel and asked if there was a room available. Representative Reception (By the way, excellent staff) answered yes. I came into the room - a quiet, magical - just as I had imagined. Dinner and breakfast - excellent. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomer2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed recently and what was pitched as a 15 minute walk from Taormina was actually a 15 minute bus journey.
Location is nice if you've been before and you just want to relax, if you want to be closer to amenities then this is not the best place to stay.

On arrival we were given the last room which didn't have the facilities billed (eg room safe) and the room was dark and dingy.
The outside space was a dark walled area that was disgraceful and I don't believe anybody would have sat outside.
The bedroom was attached to a large bathroom which we soon realised had its own door to the corridor, this had a disabled sign on the outside so we could only assume this doubled up as a disabled toilet for guest use!
We sought alternative rooms and was offered a room marginally better but on the main road (at street level) or an upgrade to a suite which cost an extra €300.
There wasn't much choice.

The food, whilst reasonable, was overpriced for what it was and given we weren't as close to town as we thought, there were some times that we felt compelled to eat there.
The menus require updating as there were items that were out of season, so couldn't be ordered.
The service was fine from a couple of the staff, however there some sullen and almost rude staff that reduced the service levels overall.

On many occasions I ordered wine that was never available even though the hotel boasts having a large wine cellar.
When ordering wine that wasn't local, staff tended to handover to the closest thing they had to a sommelier.
Whilst this person was helpful I got the distinct impression that the knowledge of wines outside of Sicily was a bit of an unknown.
This was apparent when I asked for a white wine from the Amalfi region and was informed that they don't stock Northern Italian wines! Which could only mean that their knowledge wasn't great and begged the question why they did indeed have Northern Italian wines on the list from Trentino.

In the main this is ok as a getaway destination, with great views of Etna and the coast.
If you want to be closer to town and if you want to eat good food, then maybe book somewhere a little closer to Taormina.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location, a 5 minutes walk (uphill) from the lovely village of Castelmola, with its superb views, nice restaurants and cafés and friendly inhabitants. We had a superior room with a big balcony and Etna view. The view is great but be aware that the view depends on weather conditions, somedays the volcano was hidden behind clouds and fog. The room was spacious, bathroom was with shower (altough not for big people) bath with jacuzzi, toilet and bidet. Take your shampoo and bathfoam, the amenities are basic. There's a hairdryer but it is not for people with long hair. The bed is of good quality (hard) there's a free safe, you just have to ask for the lock at the reception. The Tv is the size of an ipad with very limited channels. Wifi is free and if you have signal it is quick enough for streaming videos, there were some spots in the room where we did not have a signal. I was not happy with the maid service, they barely cleaned the room, for sure the floor was not wiped wet, after three days I threw the empty shampoo bags in the shower myself, tissues were not replaced for 2 days (and I tipped them the first morning!!) definitely no 4 star.
I appreciated very much to enjoy breakfast and dinner on the restaurant patio, very nice view, lovely atmosphere, definitely one of the strong points of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was ok, not breathtaking, altough it is worth mentioning the homemade cakes and pies, very tasty.
As for the dinner service me and my wife were very satisfied. The quality of the food was good, with 3 to 4 choices for every course, usually an amuse-bouche, a starter, a pasta dish, a meat or fish dish and dessert. They could do a little effort on the desserts side and propose more sicilian choices. They have a good, reasonably priced wine menu with lots of local choices. We did not regret opting for half board, altough on the last evening we decided to eat in Taormina (billions of restaurants) as the hotel decided to serve dinner inside the restaurant and we wanted to spend our last evening outside as the weather was ok. Service at the restaurant was friendly and efficient. If you want a drink before or after your meal go for it in Castelmola as the hotel bar is deserted.
The pool area is smaller than it appears on the pictures, altough with a nice view, free sunbeds, free towels and free cushions. The pool is not big enough for a proper swim workout. We did not try the pool restaurant. I can recommend the hotel beach service which you have to book in advance, you get a towel, transfer to a nice beach in Mazzeo and return to the hotel for a very nice price.
The walk down to Taormina takes about 40 minutes, is very nice but very steep, be aware that untrained persons will have aching legs for 2 days after the descend. The walk back up to the hotel is only for the very brave. The bus service is very punctual and can be recommended, be sure to wait exactely at the bus stop. It usually runs once an hour with some exceptions, be sure to check the schedule. Taxi from Taormina to the hotel costs 20 €.
Some reviews mention barking dogs: yes there are dogs barking at night but it aint that bad and if you close the window you won't hear it. As for the wasps at the breakfast outside: yes on some mornings this can be annoying but we did survive it! The swimming pool is closed at 18h30, this did not bother us as we still could sit on our balcony.
In a nutshell I would say that we did enjoy our stay, it is a nice location with nice people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

High atop Taormina, amazing drive, amazing views, amazing location! Staff friendly & attentive, breakfast on the patio facing Etna - priceless! Rooms simple, but clean - loved the fresh fruit in our room on checkin as well as the ice cold proseco in the minibar!! There are antiques everywhere throughout hotel, so stroll & enjoy. Castelmola short walking distance from hotel where there is a variety of restaurants as well as shuttle to Taormina. We were lucky to enjoy an outdoor theatre performance of Beauty & the Beast one night in Castelmola while sitting on a patio sipping Amaro! The Castel though is under renovation so it is closed. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Request view of Etna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Castelmola is a small village, perched high above the busy tourist destination Taormina, which is itself high above the beach. The hotel is at the entrance to the village, and has great views of Mt. Etna. The hotel is lovely, furnished with all sorts of antique bits and pieces as you can see from their website. Our rooms were a good size and comfortable, with a small balcony (though we were too late to book one with an Etna view -but who spends time in their room?).

The hotel has a nice pool, with loungers and sun shades, offering views of Etna (which is a must go visit). The location, high above the coast, was far more comfortable than Taormina itself or the beach.

The lunches served by the pool were very good. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evenings - we usually walked into Castelmola - so I cannot comment on larger meals; there was a good variety for breakfast.

The hotel were charming and could not have been more welcoming or friendly. I'm really surprised by those reviews that found otherwise - maybe there have been personnel changes.

A balanced review should comment on any niggles as well, though these were minor. It would be nice if the pool had stayed open later, the rooms would benefit from a chest of drawers, and the hotel never answered any email (though they provided what I requested).

Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelmola
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 88 in Taormina
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sonia

Property: Hotel Villa Sonia
Address: Via Porta Mola 9, 98030 Castelmola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castelmola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sonia 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Sonia is a historic rural home situated in Castelmola in the district of Taormina where a real corner of “Paradise” awaits you. A charming residence surrounded by green vegetation and having as much tranquility as one would desire, ideal for romantic escapes or family holidays. Ensuring your relaxation are its position, structure and the professionalism of its qualified staff, which provide the facilities that enable you to spend all the time you want to, reliving ancient times and rediscovering unique flavours that only a land as rich and generous as “Sicily” can give you. Tradition, love and hospitality for every single characteristic and detail distinguish our rooms and accompany our guests in the best periods of the year. The hotel is set in a unique and silent natural environment, yet just a few kilometers from Taormina and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Sonia Sicily/Castelmola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing