We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of Mt Etna - restaurant is good”
Review of Hotel Villa Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sonia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is located above Taormina - which, for us, was good because it was out of the hustle bustle, but easy to get to Taormina. The rooms are neat (although we did have an issue with our bathroom when we checked in - the prior occupant's trash was still in there and there wasn't any toilet paper). The views from some rooms are of Etna.

The restaurant is good. Breakfast has many options. Dinner has a pretty good selection. The views from the back deck while having breakfast are gorgeous. Some of the staff were particularly helpful, like Maria who lives in Sicily and is originally from Australia (she's a delight).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

The views from this hotel were excellent. Excellent facilities including pool and hot tub. Our room was very small but clean. The hotel provides a free shuttle into Taormina. We had dinner there one night which was good but very expensive for what we got. for example soup appetizer was 12 Euros. You would be better having dinner at nearby Trattorias.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

we found a offer price for this hotel but in our haste booked the wrong date. We called the hotel and spoke to Adriana on reception, she was very helpful and changed the dates without a problem. To get there you have to drive up the side of a mountain with lots of turns with a shear drop on one side (barriers are there to stop you falling), well my wife hates height so when we got there she was by that point very distressed, Adriana took her in, sat with her and helped calm her. She couldn't have been any more helpful or caring. I checked into the room, which was wonderful. We had a lovely view. If it wasn't for the care that was shown we would have found another hotel in Taormina. She is a real asset to the hotel. All the staff we met were also very helpful and wonderful. If you don't mine heights go and stay there for a wonderful time

Room Tip: We were upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

You start from the sea at Taormina and think you will never arrive at this Hotel! It is worth the drive. Incredible situation on a rocky hilltop with a medieval town just above the hotel - 5 minutes walk up steps. We arrived int he dark and opened our curtains to see Mount Etna directly across the valley - stunning! Very helpful staff, not the greatest food we ate in Sicily but perfectly acceptable. Great restaurants just above the hotel in the village square above. No need to drive in the dark down the hairpin bends for dinner! Good pool and lovely breakfast looking at Etna from the terrace. Dreadful tiny useless shower, but still stay here - it is fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Etna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50yearoldcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Villa Sonia is located just 15 minutes from Taormina. Very nice little town everything in easy walking distance. Free shuttle to Taormina. Excellent view of Etna on the beautiful terrace. Great pool. Superb staff and facility. Excellent breakfast. Reasonable parking fee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandybaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a great hotel for views of Mt Etna, but is a little out of the way as regards facilities around you. It is quite an uphill walk up to Castlemola and only suitable for fairly fit people, not anyone with walking problems.
The hotel has fantastic staff, who are more than just helpfull, they really put themselves out to make your stay comfortable, however on arrival three of the lights in our upgraded deluxe room did not work and these should have been checked before our arrival. We arrived on a Saturday so they were not fixed until Monday morning.
The food was good, but not brilliant and the breakfast was enough, but mainly made up of breads, cereals and fruit. If you wanted eggs you either had to cook them yourself or hope that the scrambled egg dish had some in.
We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Heaven in Sicily.
I came to Castelmola after a very rainy ride.
I got out of the car to look at the stunning views of Kstomlh. Amazing amazing amazing.
Like a painting. I decided I had to stay in this town at least for this night, I went to the hotel and asked if there was a room available. Representative Reception (By the way, excellent staff) answered yes. I came into the room - a quiet, magical - just as I had imagined. Dinner and breakfast - excellent. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomer2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelmola
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
687 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,907 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sonia

Address: Via Porta Mola 9, 98030 Castelmola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castelmola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Price Range: £32 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sonia 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Sonia is a historic rural home situated in Castelmola in the district of Taormina where a real corner of “Paradise” awaits you. A charming residence surrounded by green vegetation and having as much tranquility as one would desire, ideal for romantic escapes or family holidays. Ensuring your relaxation are its position, structure and the professionalism of its qualified staff, which provide the facilities that enable you to spend all the time you want to, reliving ancient times and rediscovering unique flavours that only a land as rich and generous as “Sicily” can give you. Tradition, love and hospitality for every single characteristic and detail distinguish our rooms and accompany our guests in the best periods of the year. The hotel is set in a unique and silent natural environment, yet just a few kilometers from Taormina and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Sonia Sicily/Castelmola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing