We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”
Review of Hotel Villa Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sonia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

So this is a 4 star hotel with a 5 star view a 3 star room a 1 star bathroom but with a 5 star service. Receptionists and staff at Hotel Villa Sonia are very polite and helpful. Room is on the small side and some of the furniture needs upgrading ( OK it's antique furniture but still doesn't make it acceptable for it to be chipped). The view is amazing, especially on a clear day. I still can't understand why anyone would choose a pink bathroom with a pink shower for a Hotel:).It also had cracked tiles and chipped light fixtures. Breakfast was good. Would stay here again though.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 3 have a big terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinnieMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    155
    54
    17
    7
See reviews for
79
297
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of April and enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was good and the view from our room over the valleys and onto Etna was great. Each little room came with a little balcony which we used to catch some sun in the afternoon. Unfortunately the weather wasn't very good so we have not tried the pool or other outside facilities. But by what we have seen I would certainly recommend it.
Location is good near the town of Castelmola, little town with great views. Aimed at tourists I would say, so quite a few restaurants owners tried to convince us to go to their restaurant, which we found a little annoying. Taormina is a 5-10 minute drive away and offers you all you need, shops, food, supermarkets, architecture and views.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerJohnson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We visited Castelmola, a stones throw from Taormina Sicily in September 2013. This was our second stay at the Villa Sonia, having stayed 3 years ago. The Villa Sonia is a lovely, low stress hotel in a quiet town above Taormina. We chose this hotel because it is close to Taormina and the action, yet providing a retreat and avoiding the crowds of Taormina. The changing views of Etna from our room as the sun rose and set were amazing. A very nice breakfast, including Sicilian delicacies, was included in the room fee. When we dined at the hotel, we found the food varied, tasty and fairly reasonably priced.

The staff was very helpful, pool lovely, rooms pleasant and views breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Situated at the end of a switchback road on the top of a mountain, this hotel makes a great stay for anyone. The views are amazing and you are, literally, at cloud level, sometimes above it. Brilliant views of Etna and the surrounding countryside.

Our room had plenty of space, big bed, and a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom - I think we got an upgrade actually. We had access to a shared balcony with sit-out seats and table with the view to Etna. Room was very clean and tidy, nothing broken or tired or worn.

Breakfast was served until 10am, a perfectly reasonable time, with a good selection of food. Service was always good and the atmosphere relaxed. We also ate dinner one evening and the menu had a range of choice, and what we had was very nicely cooked and presented.

There is a swimming pool but it's outside and whilst it was warm, it wasn't that warm! There's a small gym but we didn't investigate that either

Castelmola is a picturesque, well kept village with a good selection of restaurants. There's a fairly regular bus service down to Taormina Euro1.8 per person one way; Hotel also runs a shuttle down and back up three times a day. We can recommend the bus: you're high up and get a good view down the sheer edges!!

All-in-all we had a very nice stay and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't know if all rooms have a view of Etna, but make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyJ_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

You must have a good head for heights for a stay here, from the drive up the hill to the situation of the hotel. Terrific views though , average rooms and very variable food quality ,ranging from the very good to the diabolical.

The village has other good restaurants and a bar owned by the Hotel.

Staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a mini bus service to Taormina twice a day.

Room Tip: All front rooms overlook Mount Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebert_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We are just back from a trip to Sicily we spent the first two nights in villa Sonia, we were getting married in Castelmola, just the two of us. I found the staff to be extremely helpful, as we booked only the night before we were not too happy with our room, manager upgraded us immediately. Nothing was a problem for the staff which put our mind at ease. Getting clothes ironed, changing sterling queries about how to get to our next hotel, which restaurants are open , where to park. The hotel It is perfectly located, has nice views, enjoyed the breakfast, did not eat in the restaurant swim or go to the gym so cannot comment . But would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Castelmola, thanks to Giesuppe and the night porter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunandmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights for our honeymoon at the end Sept/ start Oct.

Located in Castlemola, it was quiet & away from the tourist bustle, but close
enough (30min walk down some very steep steps or drive down a very windy road!) to Taormina.
There is a local bus every 2 hrs, or the hotel has a shuttle service several times a day.

Our room was small, but clean & comfortable. We stayed on a B & B basis - breakfast was continental ( - a good range of bread, cheese, meat, eggs and sweet cakes) and great strong coffee - just what was needed to set you up for the day with a beautiful view of Etna.

The pool & surrounding area were clean & a pleasant way to relax for an afternoon.

Adriana is the heroine of front of house staff - always smiling & ready with a warm welcome, she booked us tours & restaurants & made recommendations.

Maria was also fantastic & took us to the Hotel's vineyard to harvest the grapes & sample last years harvest alongside a local meal - this was organised by the hotel & was a great day out & a good way of meeting people - unfortunately just before we were due to fly home.

There are half a dozen restaurants a short walk away from the hotel too.

A lovely hotel & well deserves to be number one in the area !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiderandFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelmola
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#24 of 87 in Taormina
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 87 in Taormina
999 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sonia

Property: Hotel Villa Sonia
Address: Via Porta Mola 9, 98030 Castelmola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castelmola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sonia 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Sonia is a historic rural home situated in Castelmola in the district of Taormina where a real corner of “Paradise” awaits you. A charming residence surrounded by green vegetation and having as much tranquility as one would desire, ideal for romantic escapes or family holidays. Ensuring your relaxation are its position, structure and the professionalism of its qualified staff, which provide the facilities that enable you to spend all the time you want to, reliving ancient times and rediscovering unique flavours that only a land as rich and generous as “Sicily” can give you. Tradition, love and hospitality for every single characteristic and detail distinguish our rooms and accompany our guests in the best periods of the year. The hotel is set in a unique and silent natural environment, yet just a few kilometers from Taormina and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Sonia Sicily/Castelmola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing