We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, excellent staff and service of the highest quality”
Review of Hotel Villa Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sonia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

A superb hotel run by a warm and welcoming family who are genuinely concerned for their guests' wellbeing. This friendly, yet, efficient service is complemented by very competent and friendly staff, who, without exception, were extremely efficient, courteous, and welcoming at all times.

My wife celebrated her birthday here, which co-incidentally was the same day as the owner's birthday. Despite his obviously busy day, he took the time to bake a special cake for her - a gesture which was much appreciated. Furthermore, as a further kind gesture, he upgraded our room to a suite for the last 2 nights. Service levels far beyond that which would be received in much larger hotels.

We dined in the restaurant for 3 of our 10 nights, and on each occasion the food was of the highest quality, superbly cooked, and presented with a friendly and efficient service.

Likewise, breakfast buffet included all the usual fare, but again, all of the highest and freshest quality and taste.

We used the hotel's courtesy minibus to and from Taormina on several occasions - this was always prompt with the same welcome and friendliness of all the drivers at all times.

We hope to return again next year and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillasonia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you kindly for your comments.

We always appreciate when our guests take the time in letting us know that we are offering a positive quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay with any special requests.

Thank you and see you again next time...

Giuseppe Damico

Hotel Villa Sonia - Charme&relax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

The most fabulous of accomodations in terms of authenticity, location (not in the noise of Taormina - but very close by), quality of food, service, amazing views and beautiful rooms.
I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublintourist73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillasonia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you kindly for your comments.

We always appreciate when our guests take the time in letting us know that we are offering a positive quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay with any special requests.

Thank you and see you again next year...

Giuseppe

Hotel Villa Sonia - Charme&relax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

You really are just a quick walk up to the centre of Castelmola where there are restaurants and shops and fantastic views. And you really can walk down to Taormina in about 20 minutes. A stunning walk, with incredible views. One of the reasons we selected Villa Sonia was for the location, so that we could access everything and would not feel stuck in one place. That said, out of the ten nights we were in Sicily we had dinner in the hotel for seven nights! They do amazing risottos! And Maria is a superb wine expert.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRichOSheas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillasonia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you kindly for your comments.

We always appreciate when our guests take the time in letting us know that we are offering a positive quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay with any special requests.

Thank you and see you again next year...

Giuseppe

Hotel Villa Sonia - Charme&relax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Long drive up from Taormina, but don't be put off. Hotel is splendid, views are amazing and the lovely village is only a very short walk away and well worth the effort to walk up to.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owenandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillasonia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you kindly for your comments.

We always appreciate when our guests take the time in letting us know that we are offering a positive quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay with any special requests.

Thank you and see you again next year...

Giuseppe

Hotel Villa Sonia - Charme&relax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The hotel is located some kilometers above Taormina (25 mins by foot) in Castelmola. For us a good location, since Castelmola has some nice bars and you can escape the crowds in Taormina.
The staff of the hotel is very friendly and reacted very quickly if needed.
If you plan to go there, make sure to get one of the rooms with Etna view and if you prefer a balcony where you can comfortably enjoy the afternoons or evenings let the hotel know, because some rooms have very small balconies.
The food was very good as well and in 14 days we've had a big variety to choose from and enjoyed dinner with a bottle of good wine from the big selection of wines.

The only "negative" things are the small fitness room, which barely consists of 3 machines, one of them not working and the Sat TV. We could choose between 11 Italian programs and 1 German program. Since we've had a lot of good books, this diddn't bother us too much.

All in all, we've had a very good stay there, with really friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillasonia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you kindly for your comments.

We always appreciate when our guests take the time in letting us know that we are offering a positive quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay with any special requests.

Thank you and see you again next year...

Giuseppe

Hotel Villa Sonia - Charme&relax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed at Hotel Villa Sonia for a week, and were impressed. The hotel is in Castelmola, which is a small town that seems perched on the edge of a mountain, hence the awesome views towards Mount Etna across sweeping valleys. The centre of Castlemola is about a 5 minute walk and is a lovely little place with some good bars, shops and restaurants. We visited nearby Taormina, and think that Castlemola is a nicer place to stay as it's more relaxed and not as expensive.

Hotel Villa Sonia is a lovely hotel with lots of charm. The hotel staff are very nice people, extremely professional, and very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in an amazing location, with fantastic views - on our first day I found myself getting a little dizzy at the scale of the mountain views, completely breathtaking. The hotel is like an old-fashioned house (in a good way), with lots of really interesting pieces of furniture and lovely decor. We spent the first night in a suite (room 503). The suite is lovely (as the person below states), although we didn't experience any problems with noise (and I am particuarly noise sensitive!). We stayed in a newly built apartment further down in the hills. We didn't have a problem with the barking dogs - on the contrary we rather liked the fact that our neighbours for the week comprised a couple of dogs, three moutain goats and a few chickens, rather than people. And anyway they only bark now and again - for us it was just part of the lovely surroudings. Our apartment was a perfect hideaway (think it was exclusive to our tour operator, Long Travel) and we couldn't have wished for a nicer place to stay in Castelmola. We felt completely hidden away from the rest of the world, yet with anything we wanted on our doorstep, which for us was perfect.

The hotel staff are very professional and helpful, but the service is as you want it, not at all intrusive. Hotel Villa Sonia is set in amazing grounds, and very well-maintained. The restaurant is nice, we ate there twice, and the Sicilian buffet is worth a visit. A great opportunity to sample delicious food, and good entertainment from two singers (really corny but great fun). Our only slight criticism of the hotel restaurant is that it would have been good to have more of a selection in the evenings, for example, being able to have the choice of just a pizza and beer - the hotel restaurant is quite formal which is fine, but we may have ate there more often if there was a wider variety - for example a more casual dining option. Villa Sonia restaurant probably has the best views of any restaurant in Castelmola.

We would highly recommend this hotel, and it's in a great place to explore the area. The hotel does a free shuttle service to nearby Taormina, and the local buses are really reliable, frequent and a good option for travelling around. What we liked about Hotel Villa Sonia was it provided a nice escape from the crowds and busy-ness of Taormina.

Finally, Taormina and Castlemola are picture-perfect places - at times we felt like we were on a film set as the surroundings are so lovely. Bellisimo!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingfrogs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillasonia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you kindly for your comments.

We always appreciate when our guests take the time in letting us know that we are offering a positive quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time!

Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay with any special requests.

Thank you and see you again next year...

Giuseppe

Hotel Villa Sonia - Charme&relax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel from 19/8/2010-26/8/2010, on arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception staff,the lady who attended us was called Maria, we believe, apologies if this is incorrect. She gave us a pleasant surprise by upgrading our room from Superior to Suite! Our room was on the fith floor,number 503. On entering it was obvious why it was called a Suite! It had twin bathrooms,twin balconiesand a huge settee. The room stretched the whole width of the hotel, because it was at the very end of the building.The bed was on the wall that faced the road to the right was a small balcony that was directly where the bus terminus stood and the communale car park was located. To the rear was a small balcony offering spectacular views of Etna and the valley-very pretty when lit up at night. To the right the view was less than average there was a huge mobile phone mast jutting out from the hillside overlooking the pool area and below that in the valley a smallholding that housed noisy barking dogs. What quickly becomes apparent is noise travels especially in this tranquil setting, we found this out to our cost when we were woken in the early hours of Friday/Saturday morning by a noisy party cming from the car park. To the credit of the hotel the row stopped after speaking to the reception.If you are light sleepers avoid this Suite and the front rooms at all cost. On speaking to Maria she was very apologetic and agreed to move us to room 309 which was a Deluxe Room with a spacious patiowhich had the same spectacular views as before.Unfortunately for us this room was not without its faults,the shower was hanging off the wall and the toilet seat was loose. To its credit the hotel duly fixed these mishaps. Overall the hotel was very good,the staff were courteous and very helpful at all times, although it has to be said that the evening meal was not up to four star standards. Also be aware that there is a service charge of 4Euros at the poolside bar & grille. Castelmola is an enchanting place to visit especially at night when it comes alive,we would not recommend visiting this area, particularly Taormina in July or August ,it is very crowded with tourist and extremely hot at this time of year. Nethertheless Sicily is a lovely island and we would not hesitate to visit again. For the independent traveller arriving at Catania Airport there is a bus toTaormina Terminus costing 7 to 8 Euros. It takes roughly 1hr 30 mins you can then catch the bus to Castelmola roughly 20 mins, costing 1.70 Euros.Taxis vary from 80 Euros to 60Euros negotiate! Mr G.N.B&T.V.B. Coventry

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank modeller2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillasonia, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

Dear Guests,

Thank you kindly for your comments.

We always appreciate when our guests take the time in letting us know that we are offering a positive quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time!

Greetings from Maria

Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next stay with any special requests.

Thank you and see you again next year...

Giuseppe

Hotel Villa Sonia - Charme&relax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelmola
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,074 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
Diamond Naxos-Taormina
#8 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sonia

Address: Via Porta Mola 9, 98030 Castelmola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castelmola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Price Range: £75 - £785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sonia 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Sonia is a historic rural home situated in Castelmola in the district of Taormina where a real corner of “Paradise” awaits you. A charming residence surrounded by green vegetation and having as much tranquility as one would desire, ideal for romantic escapes or family holidays. Ensuring your relaxation are its position, structure and the professionalism of its qualified staff, which provide the facilities that enable you to spend all the time you want to, reliving ancient times and rediscovering unique flavours that only a land as rich and generous as “Sicily” can give you. Tradition, love and hospitality for every single characteristic and detail distinguish our rooms and accompany our guests in the best periods of the year. The hotel is set in a unique and silent natural environment, yet just a few kilometers from Taormina and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Sonia Sicily/Castelmola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing