We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good pizza, interesting decor, strong cocktails” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of caffe bar Turrisi

caffe bar Turrisi
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Castelmola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The bar Turrisi is a place of worship located in Castelmola. Founded in 1947 at the hands of the rider Salvatore Turrisi, was born as an inn for foreigners where they were sipping tasty almond wine made ​​with white grapes and infusion of bitter almonds. Structure after the war that has turned into a hotel, here you can enjoy over the almond wine, pizzas, pasta dishes ices and ice cream. Also extends over four elevations with views of the Duomo of Castelmola Gulf of Giardini Naxos and Mount Etna. He became famous for his sculptures representing the phallic worship and the very free social custom that made Taormina a cultural reference for many artists and not. Many magazines show us how one of the attractions of Sicily, but we like to think that convey a thought of being Sicilian and freedom of expression, in a structure difficult to manage since the 4 levels. Who does not know how to interpret these places far from wanting to be rude, and does not know or does not have the respect of all that, the place to find elsewhere.
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good pizza, interesting decor, strong cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This restaurant is well known for its unique decor, and this was the reason for our visit. In actual fact, however, we expected it to be more kitschy and were pleasantly surprised.

Service was good but not great. Sometimes it was a bit of a challenge getting the waiters' attention. I don't blame them though, as I'm sure it's difficult going up and down the stairs so many times during their shifts.

We started with cocktails upon arrival. The selection was quite small and all the cocktails were extremely strong. So in that regard you do get a good value for money.

Later on we decided to try out the pizza and we were very positively surprised because it was very tasty.

This is one of the places that you MUST visit if in Castelmola. While you're there, try out their pizza - it's very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shiftupmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    411
    206
    52
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great bar but why the phallic objects?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

There aren't many bar options in Castelmola and this is probably the best. The best things about it are the quirky layout and the views. Head up the narrow staircase to the upper levels and bag a seat on one of the balconies if possible. From there you can take in the view of the square and out to the bay. It's a perfect spot for whiling away an hour or two.

The food and drink is fairly standard bar fare. We had a caprese and a couple of beers each. The service was good and we were well attended.

For some reason, the bar is a shrine to the phallus and at the first table we sat at (all the balconies were occupied), I had to move a statue of a man with a very disproportionate appendage in order to seat myself comfortably. I'm not sure if there was a purpose to the theme, but it just seemed gimmicky and unnecessary. It would also be awkward if you had young children and we did see some in the bar.

All in all, a good place to spend an hour or so looking at the view though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gekko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love on the first sight - pure perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Everything about this restaurant is unique and perfect. If you're looking for the flaw, you can't find it here. It's particular decor is tempting you to get in and you just can't resist. Each floor is different and specific, the atmosphere is fenomenal, the food tastes like heaven and their family wine is a must try. This restaurant has everything: great location, decor, friendly staff, divine food & wine, great music and spectacular view for good prices. This was and still is our favorite restaurant and a memory on our trip to Sicily, and Castelmola village is Sicily's jewel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coolerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique decor, Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This has to be a 'must see' for visitors to Castelmola. It has great views from pretty much every level, but the roof terrace is quite special.
We visited for lunch with friends. Service was good, even though we were on the roof terrace. The food was very good and serving sizes were generous.
On your way out take the time to admire the décor of the place, it's varied and bold. The almond liqueur is delicious and makes a great souvenir.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheehy_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
522 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and Interesting Decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were spending 3 hours in Castelmola while staying in Taormina. It takes less than 1 hour to walk all the streets in the town, browse shops and admire the views which are fantastic. We chose Caffe Turrisi as it has 4 levels with great views down to the piazza adjoining the Duomo and from the 3rd and 4th levels to the sea. Be prepared for the interesting decor. If you are not broad-minded you may be offended.by some of the ornaments, decorative wall tiles and table tops. Drink prices are reasonable. We sat on the 3rd floor balcony - I had a 40cl birra Moretti and my wife a fresh orange juice. Drinks were served with bowls of tasty pretzels and potato chips and the total cost was 10 euros including the cover charge. Compared to prices elsewhere we were happy with the experience and the photo opportunities.
If this review has been helpful, please acknowledge and also feel free to send me a private message if you want to know more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed caffe bar Turrisi also viewed

Castelmola, Province of Messina
Castelmola, Province of Messina
 
Castelmola, Province of Messina
Castelmola, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Castelmola, Province of Messina
 

Been to caffe bar Turrisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing