We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding absolutely fantastic thanks to Karen & Diego”
Review of The Lemon Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lemon Tree
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Reviewed 13 July 2013

They made our wedding and the entire week a wonderful time for the whole family.

When it's time to plan your wedding you're feeling a bit nervous about the right location, the perfect venue for your Big Day, how to deal with the paperwork, fitting the whole family in one place, etc.
We wanted to have a wedding outside of Ireland and decided to go for Sicily but there's so much choice when you start looking on the internet, so many wedding planners and how can you be certain the one you gona pick is trustworthy?
All the good reviews you can read about Karen and Diego are true. It's been 3 months since we were there and we still have wonderful memories.
From the first email we sent to Karen we knew she would be an amazing coordinator for our wedding. No matter how busy she was she always replied quickly to our emails , offering to ring us to organize everything to suit our needs and budget.
They both speak italian and english fluently, they know many people and places you can trust.
Whatever you want, whatever you need, whatever your budget, they have something for you.
We flew from Dublin to Catania for one side of the family and from Barcelona to Catania for the other side.
We were able to accommodate the 2 families (25 people) in the 8 apartments for a whole week.
The drive from the airport is a bit tricky, don't rely on your satnav, check on the link below:
http://goo.gl/maps/PyJh
I've also added a couple of useful pictures with an access plan to The Lemon Tree.
If you're unsure do not hesitate to ask Karen to pick you up somewhere (ex. at the train station), they told us many stories about guests getting lost attempting to find their way up to The Lemon Tree. My parents and my friends got lost following the indications on their satnav. The in-laws arranged a pick up at the airport through Karen recommendations (Enrico was really nice, they asked for him all week).
Arriving at The Lemon Tree, the views leave you speechless, they are really stunning. The apartments are all very nice (I know because we rented them all), we were in the Etnea which is detached from the main building, the Ulivo is also a nice one as it has a large balcony on the front and another one on the side (overlooking Mt Etna). Simeto has 2 large double rooms, a big kitchen and a large living / dining area, very good for families but honestly they are all very nice, very clean and comfy with all the modern cons.
You definitely need a car to travel around or a motor bike but Karen can probably give you a lift or arrange a ride with Enrico (his fares are very reasonable).
As I said earlier, do not hesitate to ask them whatever you want; quad biking on Mt Etna, having a delicious pizza in Taormina or a little gem of a restaurant just a little bit off the beaten track (I'm thinking of Forza D'Agro), scuba diving, paragliding, it's just a phone call away for Diego and it's booked!
We were made to feel so welcome, we couldn't ask for more, they were amazing, they made our wedding week very special.
We already told them but I'll take this opportunity on Tripadvisor to tell them again:
Karen, Diego, everybody had a fantastic time at The Lemon Tree thanks to you, you are wonderful hosts, what you have done for us was beyond expectations, thank you so much from all of us.

Lionel and Stephanie

Ps: if you expect Diego to speak english with a strong italian accent you gona be disappointed ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Karen & Diego are worth the 5 star rating alone! I scraped the side of a native's car upon arrival into the town of Giardini Naxos, bursting one of my own tyres in the process. Didn't have a clue what matey was saying so called Karen, and Diego came straight down to sort it all out (police ended up giving the old boy a ticket for parking illegally). He then helped me change the tyre and that night Karen made us an amazing dinner to take our minds of the incident. Diego even went and got the tyre changed the next day! This was an insight to how helpful they would be for the rest of our stay (because they speak perfect Italian and English you don't have to worry). They told us all the good sight-seeing places to go and how to get there, made reservations for some of their favourite restaurants (which were fantastic) and even drove us around when I wanted to have a drink. The apartment itself was excellent too. We stayed in the 1-bedroom Ulivo, which I believe had the best views of Taormina, Giardini and Mount Etna (you can see it smoking some days). Everything was very clean and we had the swimming pool all to ourselves when we chose to spend time there (although we went to the lovely local beaches most of the time when we weren't climbing volcano's etc). It's half way up a mountain, so be prepared for some James Bond style chicanes on the road up there, but after the first cautious climb the drive becomes great fun. In summary, if I could give the hosts 10 out of 5 I would, the views are amazing and it's decent accommodation. Taormina is beautiful and Giardini is good for the few sandy beaches you can find nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife and I and another couple stayed hear in April 2012. The Alcantara apartment provided all we needed with a fantastic view of Castelmola and Taormina by night and day and to our right the beautiful blue ocean. The owners, Karen and Diego provide a great service. The Lemon Tree is ideally located to take day trips to Mount Etna, Taormina, Catania and wonderful towns of the Italian coast and hillsides. Sicily is a wonderful area and the food special. We will return. A bit difficult to find at first but use Karen's instructions and don't rely on your GPS.

Ed and Claudine Evelly

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eevelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We visited in July and really loved it. Karen met us in the car park of the railway station and guided us up the hill. The location is fantastic with wonderful views and a lovely pool, but the real attraction are Karen and Diego - the most hospitable hosts. It was a holiday we will never forget, we met some lovely people staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairelouisethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We booked a 2 night stay in the Limoncello apartment but wished we had stayed longer. We were blown away by the high standard of accommodation and service which Karen and Diego offer. They could not do enough to please and went out of their way to help us, whether it was ordering a taxi, recommending a restaurant or renting a scooter. The location is perfect as are the views, the apartments are equipped with everything you could want and are only a few minutes away from town. Although we did not take advantage of their wedding planning service , they were invaluable in suggesting and introducing us to florists, hairdressers and restaurant owners for our wedding - they have the right contacts everywhere! They both made our special day run so smoothly. I would highly recommend their apartments and wedding service to anyone wishing to visit or marry in Sicily. We will definitely return - for longer next time.

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveoil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Lemon Tree provided us with the perfect family stay for ten days. We stayed in both the Etna and Salso apartments - both were very clean, comfortable and well-equipped and allowed us feel very at home. Karen and Diego are wonderful hosts who truly invest themselves wholeheartedly in creating a great experience for their guests - they were extremely helpful in ensuring we had everything we needed and also went quite beyond in terms of arranging outings, putting together a great bbq, and babysitting our two children aged 4 and 7 which allowed us a night out in Taormina. After much traveling, crowds and moving around the lemon tree offered the perfect mix - being self contained on the hillside we spent much time relaxing with the kids at the pool, playing fooseball and ping pong and meeting the other guests and also went out to the beaches and exploring Taormina the surrounding areas which are very nearby. The views are also amazing. A great bonus is that our children enjoyed playing with other children they met at the lemon tree and were able and comfortable running around the grounds with out us having to see them every minute. All together it is really hard to ask for more than this and both my wife and myself are very appreciative for making our stay the collective highlight of our trip -- it truly went beyond are best expectations. Thank you again Karen and Diego for all your help - we hope to be back and see you again!

The Marchand family - Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller201215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Our family of 11 stayed at the Lemon Tree 3 nights. We rented 3 apartments, The Limoncello, The Alcantara and The Simeto. All accommodations were wonderful. Karen & Diego were the perfect hosts. We drove to The Lemon Tree from the Catania airport and got hopelessly lost for 2 hours. We called The Lemon Tree, Karen arrived on her scooter to escort us to the property. The moral here... follow Karen & Diego's directions on how to get to The Lemon Tree. One night Karen & Diego asked our group if we would like to join them for a BBQ. What a fabulous evening. The meal was wonderful, perhaps one of the best we had in Sicily!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logisticssquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelmola
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sonia
Hotel Villa Sonia
#1 of 3 in Castelmola
479 reviews
1.2 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama Di Sicilia
Hotel Panorama Di Sicilia
#3 of 3 in Castelmola
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
880 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lemon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lemon Tree

Address: C.da Mastrissa, 98030 Castelmola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castelmola
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Price Range: £52 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lemon Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lemon Tree Sicily/Castelmola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing