We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation and wedding planning”
Review of The Lemon Tree

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lemon Tree
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We first stayed at the Lemon Tree in 2013 and have recently returned from a week’s stay, prior to our wedding, with our friends and family. We’re thrilled that we chose to stay at the Lemon Tree a second time and that we had Karen and Diego help us plan our wedding - they are a fantastic team and nothing is ever too much trouble!

When we planned the wedding Karen spent a couple of days taking us to the many beautiful venues around Taormina and then helped us easily navigate the challenges of having a wedding overseas. Karen really took the time to understand what was (and was not) important to us and managed all the suppliers seamlessly. Everything was perfectly organised and as a result we had a relaxed and fantastic wedding day.

The apartments are a brilliant place to stay as they’re comfortable, well equipped and have absolutely stunning views. If you’re in a group we would definitely recommend having Karen and Diego prepare you a delicious bbq on the terrace.

Karen and Diego, thank you for providing us with the perfect wedding day and cementing our love of Taormina.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fleur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just back from a 12 day stay with Karen and Diego.Such a lovely warm and friendly welcome.We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.The apartment was clean and had everything we needed.The views were spectacular and the whole trip has been a great success!!Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westridingbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Karen and Diego are fantastic hosts, despite his tendency to launch the volleyball straight at you.
The Lemon Tree is a lovely group of apartments, it never seemed crowded and was great for the kids to roam around. Location would be better with a car (this was the family part of our trip so we decided to opt from our usual town centre stop to something english family friendly") however we did walk to Castelmola, Taormina and Giardini although I don't recommend this in the heat of the day. Karen and Diego have some fantastic recommendations and also acted as taxi service - I found new places etc that I hadn't found on previous visits to Taormina. There were minor problems with internet and water while we were there but nothing major and fixed quite quickly considering Sicilian time ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullocd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lemon tree for the 2nd week of our Euro vacation. We wanted a home base while we made day trips along the eastern side of Sicily. The lemon tree suited this purpose perfectly. While it is no where within walking distance to anything, it is also no where close to the prices other establishments are charging. If you have a car,for a third of the price, you can have an average but very comfortable place to stay outside of Taormina with probably the nicest hosts in all of Sicily. Karen and Diego were always available to help. While there were a few issues while we stayed (pool, water, Internet), I believe they were all outside of the owners control. And in the end Diego comped our delicious homemade birthday dinner for the inconveniences. One room suggestion-- ask for a room in the main building. We did not have one, but from what I could tell i believe the sea views are better and the Wifi seemed to work there consistently.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissK_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Karen and Diego are wonderful hosts they know the area and can arrange whatever you need to make your holiday enjoyable.
The Lemon Tree is high above Giardini Naxos along a windy road so although you could manage using taxis really a car is preferrable and will give you the opportunity to explore Taormina, Castlemola and Mt Etna. The apartments at the Lemon Tree are clean and spacious we met lovely people whilst there and had lots of fun in the pool. The patio area is perfect for eating out enjoying the view of the coast. We had a wonderful holiday and throughly recommend The Lemon Tree as a base for a super holiday in Sicily.

A big thanks to Karen and Diego.

Room Tip: If you arrive in the evening I would recommend stopping at a supermarket just outside the airport to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHols012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Lemon Tree and look back at the time spent with Karen and Diego, who are English and have a very hands on approach to looking after their guests, made us feel most welcome.The setting is great and a dip in the pool at the end of the day was most welcome. We would love to go back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

They made our wedding and the entire week a wonderful time for the whole family.

When it's time to plan your wedding you're feeling a bit nervous about the right location, the perfect venue for your Big Day, how to deal with the paperwork, fitting the whole family in one place, etc.
We wanted to have a wedding outside of Ireland and decided to go for Sicily but there's so much choice when you start looking on the internet, so many wedding planners and how can you be certain the one you gona pick is trustworthy?
All the good reviews you can read about Karen and Diego are true. It's been 3 months since we were there and we still have wonderful memories.
From the first email we sent to Karen we knew she would be an amazing coordinator for our wedding. No matter how busy she was she always replied quickly to our emails , offering to ring us to organize everything to suit our needs and budget.
They both speak italian and english fluently, they know many people and places you can trust.
Whatever you want, whatever you need, whatever your budget, they have something for you.
We flew from Dublin to Catania for one side of the family and from Barcelona to Catania for the other side.
We were able to accommodate the 2 families (25 people) in the 8 apartments for a whole week.
The drive from the airport is a bit tricky, don't rely on your satnav, check on the link below:
http://goo.gl/maps/PyJh
I've also added a couple of useful pictures with an access plan to The Lemon Tree.
If you're unsure do not hesitate to ask Karen to pick you up somewhere (ex. at the train station), they told us many stories about guests getting lost attempting to find their way up to The Lemon Tree. My parents and my friends got lost following the indications on their satnav. The in-laws arranged a pick up at the airport through Karen recommendations (Enrico was really nice, they asked for him all week).
Arriving at The Lemon Tree, the views leave you speechless, they are really stunning. The apartments are all very nice (I know because we rented them all), we were in the Etnea which is detached from the main building, the Ulivo is also a nice one as it has a large balcony on the front and another one on the side (overlooking Mt Etna). Simeto has 2 large double rooms, a big kitchen and a large living / dining area, very good for families but honestly they are all very nice, very clean and comfy with all the modern cons.
You definitely need a car to travel around or a motor bike but Karen can probably give you a lift or arrange a ride with Enrico (his fares are very reasonable).
As I said earlier, do not hesitate to ask them whatever you want; quad biking on Mt Etna, having a delicious pizza in Taormina or a little gem of a restaurant just a little bit off the beaten track (I'm thinking of Forza D'Agro), scuba diving, paragliding, it's just a phone call away for Diego and it's booked!
We were made to feel so welcome, we couldn't ask for more, they were amazing, they made our wedding week very special.
We already told them but I'll take this opportunity on Tripadvisor to tell them again:
Karen, Diego, everybody had a fantastic time at The Lemon Tree thanks to you, you are wonderful hosts, what you have done for us was beyond expectations, thank you so much from all of us.

Lionel and Stephanie

Ps: if you expect Diego to speak english with a strong italian accent you gona be disappointed ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelmola
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Sonia
Hotel Villa Sonia
#1 of 3 in Castelmola
481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama Di Sicilia
Hotel Panorama Di Sicilia
#3 of 3 in Castelmola
149 reviews
8.3 mi away
Borgo San Rocco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
676 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lemon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lemon Tree

Address: C.da Mastrissa, 98030 Castelmola, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castelmola
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castelmola
Price Range: £48 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lemon Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lemon Tree Sicily/Castelmola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing