We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below par”
Review of Van der Valk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gladbeck
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I was in this hotel for 3 nights as other travellers have submitted that the rooms do not have a air conditioning during summer the option is to keep the windows open but thats not safe even in germany

The breakfast is very good and the spread is also good

But if you see an asian delegation and a bus outside make sure you have your breakfast early because you wont find a table and you may have to eat what is left.
Leftist countries phew.

The bar is operational on and off but loud music is a detterant

A big negative part of this hotel is its location no where near any
Shopping complex . The good point is youu can have astrool to the water castle with a restaurant 5 minutes from the hotel
Nice forest around

Free Wifi is only available at the reception

Hope they improve


Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank venky_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

No WIFI, No Aircon, No Spa, No Bar,

This has to be the worst hotel i've stayed in,

The bar is closed as apparently it's too Hot? it's raining as i write this and i just asked reception why it has not been open for the past three days,
Put aircon or fans in the bar then?
Oh wait there's no aircon or fans in any of the rooms either no matter what room you pay for!!
you can open a door though and hope your stuff does'nt get stolen,


The rooms look like they are from a 1970s adult movie.

all the hallways smell like a dog has died in them.

Please take plenty of anti diarrohea tablets with you, as you will need them.

No tea or coffee making facilites in the rooms, only one bottle of Soda water!
No fridges in the rooms and only two dirty dog smelling towels in the bathroom.

Won't be staying at a Van der valk in my life ever again!

I'd rather stay at a YMCA for the homeless.

Room Tip: Sleep on the streets instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merhabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights in July 2013 for a friend's wedding.

The room:
Stuffy and hot. It didn't have air conditioning, somewhat problematic when Europe is experiencing one of the hottest Summers for decades. Not only that the bathroom emitted odd waves of stench. Also Wifi is only available in the reception. I have no idea what century they live in but if you are a 3 star hotel, these are the basics. Please get them right.

The breakfast:
Extensive spread but the quality was mixed. What really annoyed me was that when I asked for soft-boiled eggs, the waitress told me that it would cost extra! I asked why 2 eggs soft boiled would be charged when 2 eggs hard boiled wouldn't. She couldn't answer the question and I get them for free. But this is a conversation that I shouldn't have had to have.
The water jug for the buffet was chipped. What amazes me is that it reappeared on the second day!!! How can no one notice this??
Dirty glasses also quite a frequent occurrence.

Other facilities
The hotel used to have a spa, this is now shut. No idea why or when it will open again. The website just has certain services crossed out. Which is rather special. When I booked, many months ago it was still functioning. Who has time to check that facilities are still there?

All in all a ridiculous stay. Avoid if possible!

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gourmet Adventu... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I was here for my brother in law's graduation. I ordered apple juice and the taste was very bad, I thought the juice was expired. The food was absolutely tasteless: "Schnitzel" solid as a rock, fish which tasted like it was three days old and reheated and overcooked vegetables. It was terrible ( and I am not overly picky) Especially considering this should have been a special occasion and the price being paid, it just sucked. The unprofessional service rounded off the experience. The waiters were not even able to carry a plate on one hand. Sorry, but can't recommend this rundown hotel to anyone. Just can wonder about how bad the rooms are considering the bad facilities and service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadetha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Yes, this might have been once (probably long time ago) a fancy, sophisticated resort-like hotel, with large conference/event infrastructure, but now it's only a severely worn-off wanna be 4* hotel (don't ask me how they got them!).

At least other places try to impress with something (cleanliness / service / extras / SOMETHING !!), but at VdV Gladbeck I felt like nobody cares too much if you want to come back (ever).
Me, definitely not! I still can't take out of my mind the chewing-gum sticked to bathroom floor probably since ages, the bar door locked without comment for the three days I was unfortunate to spend there and last - but not least - the answer leaving no place for further comments I received when asking for fitness room access: "It's closed (n.b. it was about 9:00 pm) and will not open before 9:30 am".
Oh. And make sure you don't forget your ear plugs to keep you away from the sweet sound of the heavy trains passing by 24x7 on the tracks just across the street from the hotel.

All in one, a sad story which I am not looking forward to repeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TransEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for 4 days (3 nights) breakfast included for 2 persons. The price was under €100.00 which is a very good price! (Special offer).

A nice hotel next to the high-way but in our room you could not hear any noise from that at all!
Room was specious and the quality of the bed was ok, bathroom nice with shower and a bath. Shower was a little to small but not a big deal, on the wall it was a little bit dirty. Also with TV (channels from NL-EN-DU-US). The only thing what I have missed is a minibar.

All staff at frontoffice were really/friendly/helpfull with us but the people from breakfast need a smiling-cours ;). You can choose between pleanty of things at breakfast.

The location is very good to go to Moviepark for example. We did not went, but we went to the indoor-skiing at Bottrop which is really nice to go. Go also to CentO to do some shopping! It is really nice shoppingmall.

Further about the neighboorhood, it was on a industry district so no restaurants. We went everywhere with car and it was ok for us. Nice restaurants for not a lot of money (around €35 for 2 people).

If I want to go skien again, I defenately take this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wereldreiziger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We decided to have a visit to Warner Bros with the Grandchildren and so we Reserved the Ban der Valk Hotel, for two night,it is a top class building with excellent very clean rooms and good food but it was spoiled by very bad service in the unsupervised restaurant, the second morning for breakfast we sat down and asked the waitress for a Pot of coffee, she advised us to go to the counter to get it, I went to the conter to be told to sit down it would be brought to the table, faulty towers at it best !!!

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janbarnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladbeck
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
#1 of 15 in Gelsenkirchen
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brauereihotel Alte Post
Brauereihotel Alte Post
#2 of 3 in Gladbeck
17 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arcadia Hotel Bottrop
Arcadia Hotel Bottrop
#1 of 4 in Bottrop
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Brauhaus
Hotel Brauhaus
#4 of 4 in Bottrop
18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#2 of 15 in Gelsenkirchen
459 reviews
7.4 mi away
NH Oberhausen
NH Oberhausen
#2 of 13 in Oberhausen
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel

Address: Bohmertstr. 333, 45964 Gladbeck, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gladbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gladbeck
Price Range: £53 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van der Valk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing