We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and friendly”
Review of Van der Valk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gladbeck
Reviewed 7 August 2014

For visited the Moviepark we stayed 2 nights in this hotel.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They also search by phone for us for an environmental badge. The hotel restaurant is nice and neat. Breakfast reasonable! Decor nice, neat and orderly.

The hotel is nice, clean, good and greenery in the area. Our room tidy but the sofa bed was not comfortable to sleep. No air conditioning in the room.

Good for the price!!

Room Tip: Go to the mall Oberhausen / Germany!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiJoAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in a few different VdVs,this one was a real disappointment. There is no soundproofing at all- could hear all the noise from lobby and hallway. There was no a/c in the room and bathroom did not have a proper door, only some side sliding variety that didn't do a thing... Will find another hotel next time...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank caledonian_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great.
Just off motorway.
Lots and lots or parking.
€12 for buffet breakfast.
Staff very friendly especially barman.
Room was clean and had a balcony with wifi.
Resurant a la cart or bar menu.
Drinks served in bar, restaurant and lobby.
Very close to alpine centre for sking, indoor sky diving and food.
Bad bits.... there was no tea and coffee in the room.
A bit out of the way which could be good or bad.
Thankyou.
Dave.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank MetalGangsta_Dave-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in February 2014. Had a nice room with plenty of space. Clean and tidy. Beds are reasonable. The breakfast buffet offers enough choice. Lots do do and see in the area. Would stay here again and would also recommend to family and friends. Value for money hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank TheYuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I was in this hotel for 3 nights as other travellers have submitted that the rooms do not have a air conditioning during summer the option is to keep the windows open but thats not safe even in germany

The breakfast is very good and the spread is also good

But if you see an asian delegation and a bus outside make sure you have your breakfast early because you wont find a table and you may have to eat what is left.
Leftist countries phew.

The bar is operational on and off but loud music is a detterant

A big negative part of this hotel is its location no where near any
Shopping complex . The good point is youu can have astrool to the water castle with a restaurant 5 minutes from the hotel
Nice forest around

Free Wifi is only available at the reception

Hope they improve


Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank venky_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

No WIFI, No Aircon, No Spa, No Bar,

This has to be the worst hotel i've stayed in,

The bar is closed as apparently it's too Hot? it's raining as i write this and i just asked reception why it has not been open for the past three days,
Put aircon or fans in the bar then?
Oh wait there's no aircon or fans in any of the rooms either no matter what room you pay for!!
you can open a door though and hope your stuff does'nt get stolen,


The rooms look like they are from a 1970s adult movie.

all the hallways smell like a dog has died in them.

Please take plenty of anti diarrohea tablets with you, as you will need them.

No tea or coffee making facilites in the rooms, only one bottle of Soda water!
No fridges in the rooms and only two dirty dog smelling towels in the bathroom.

Won't be staying at a Van der valk in my life ever again!

I'd rather stay at a YMCA for the homeless.

Room Tip: Sleep on the streets instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merhabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights in July 2013 for a friend's wedding.

The room:
Stuffy and hot. It didn't have air conditioning, somewhat problematic when Europe is experiencing one of the hottest Summers for decades. Not only that the bathroom emitted odd waves of stench. Also Wifi is only available in the reception. I have no idea what century they live in but if you are a 3 star hotel, these are the basics. Please get them right.

The breakfast:
Extensive spread but the quality was mixed. What really annoyed me was that when I asked for soft-boiled eggs, the waitress told me that it would cost extra! I asked why 2 eggs soft boiled would be charged when 2 eggs hard boiled wouldn't. She couldn't answer the question and I get them for free. But this is a conversation that I shouldn't have had to have.
The water jug for the buffet was chipped. What amazes me is that it reappeared on the second day!!! How can no one notice this??
Dirty glasses also quite a frequent occurrence.

Other facilities
The hotel used to have a spa, this is now shut. No idea why or when it will open again. The website just has certain services crossed out. Which is rather special. When I booked, many months ago it was still functioning. Who has time to check that facilities are still there?

All in all a ridiculous stay. Avoid if possible!

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gourmet Adventu... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladbeck
2.8 mi away
Arcadia Hotel Bottrop
Arcadia Hotel Bottrop
#1 of 4 in Bottrop
97 reviews
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
#1 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brauereihotel Alte Post
Brauereihotel Alte Post
#2 of 3 in Gladbeck
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Parkhotel Oberhausen
Parkhotel Oberhausen
#4 of 13 in Oberhausen
241 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Brauhaus
Hotel Brauhaus
#4 of 4 in Bottrop
18 reviews
7.4 mi away
NH Oberhausen
NH Oberhausen
#1 of 13 in Oberhausen
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel

Address: Bohmertstr. 333, 45964 Gladbeck, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gladbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gladbeck
Price Range: £53 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van der Valk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing