We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in the rustic town of Kokstad.”
Review of Nolangeni Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kokstad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nolangeni Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kokstad
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed a couple of nights in the Nolangeni Hotel during a recent business trip to Kokstad. I was quite impressed with this hotel, much better than expected, and thought it to be very good value for money. It is an older hotel but appears to have been renovated fairly recently. The location is great, right on one of the main streets with plenty of shops around within easy walking distance. There is also a Peak Physique gym just 100m down the road where they accept casual walk-ins for 60 Rand, so no excuse to miss your morning workout.

The rooms are comfortable but fairly basic and very clean. There is a small TV with a limited number of channels, a small desk, and a basic kitchenette with coffee/tea making facilities. The hotel has free Wifi at reasonable speed, just pick up your vouchers at reception. The buffet breakfast was quite good with a reasonable selection of fresh fruits and juices, cereals, as well as hot items. All hotel staff were quite friendly and helpful.

Overall I had a great stay here and would definitely recommend it to other travelers in the area. I will likely stay here again on any future trips to Kokstad.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Nolangeni Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

The wife and I wanted an easy run from the Eastern Cape to Durban so we decided to do one night in Kokstad. Most of the advertised and recommended accommodation are B&Bs "just outside town." The thought of searching for B&Bs just outside of town did not seem to be the way to have a convenient overnight in the metropolis of Kokstad. Then appeared the Nolangeni Hotel, touted to be in the CBD. Yes! We booked our one night in Kodstad, chilled at the Nolangeni Hotel, and enjoyed the visit. The old facility has been properly renovated and restored and dressed up to be a downtown hotel. I use the word "downtown" loosely. We ended our evening in the hotel pub where a crowd of locals entertained us with noise and laughter. If in the Kokstad area and longing for the buzz of the CBD then don't be afraid to book in at the Nolangeni Hotel. Great breakfast on the way out as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingWriter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

On our trip down the Garden route, we stayed over in Kokstad at this lovely hotel. We were met by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in. All the staff were very friendly and nice.

Thanks to Miles and the staff for making our stay over so pleasant.

The rooms are cozy and the food was delicious.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank John Boyer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivehoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kokstad hotels
15.5 mi away
Anew Hotel Ingeli Forest & Spa
0.4 mi away
Majestic Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
The Old Orchard
The Old Orchard
#1 of 3 in Kokstad
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mooidraai Guest House
Mooidraai Guest House
#3 of 23 in Kokstad
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rest Assured Guest house
Rest Assured Guest house
#10 of 23 in Kokstad
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Herbertdale Guesthouse
Herbertdale Guesthouse
#7 of 23 in Kokstad
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nolangeni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nolangeni Hotel

Address: 55 Hope Street | 4700, Kokstad 4700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kokstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kokstad
Price Range: £47 - £642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket Hotel, Restaurant, Conference facility and Bar in Kokstad CBD ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing