We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great nights sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Orchard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Orchard
Wagga
Level Contributor
145 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great nights sleep”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The old orchard guest house is a little out of town and took is a little effort in finding but it was well worth the effort.
The rooms were not huge but very warm and welcoming after a long cold day on a motorbike. The log cabin style rooms were comfortable and the beds were very comfortable.
The staff were helpful and the food delicious we ate dinner and breakfast there and the meals were huge, just what a hungry biker needs.
The setting was excellent

Room Tip: Make sure you get up eat Y and get some photos of the dam and surrounding hills at sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

What an AMAZING place to stay! We visited The Old Orchard for our Honeymoon, yes, a honeymoon in Kokstad of all places! When I saw this little gem on the net it was love at first sight and I was not disappointed, not for one second of our stay! The hospitality from the owners was something rarely found, they made us feel like part of the family. The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and oh so cosy even though it was freezing outside. The giant Kingfishers and birds woke us up every morning through their singing on our veranda, its a real piece of heaven on earth... We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the dam are to die for. Watch the duck fishing bottoms up as you sip on your coffee fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarryn_Wensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean room, comfy bed, huge new towels and a good shower. Everything one needs in a stopover. Our single night there was during a long weekend and the staff were off. We got a call to warn us that we would have to eat dinner and breakfast elsewhere which was appreciated but it would have been even better if they had simply offered to put out some bread and a toaster for us in the morning. Had the place been full, the lovely balcony overhanging the dam would not have had a scrap of privacy and some screens would be a good addition.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous in all aspects. Such calm serene scenery and pleasant hospitality. Detail to finishing touches is superb. Comfort at its best. A definite 5 ***** from us. Lovely outdoor area for our 5 and 3 year olds to run and play

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This quirky establishment was recommended to us by the owner of another guesthouse in the area which had closed since our last visit. The Old Orchard provides unusual and beautifully crafted accommodation, a unique swimming pool, delicious breakfast and lovely, warm and attentive hosts. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiddity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If it's peace and quiet you're looking for then this is the place to be! Lovely sized room overlooking the dam with a nice balcony to while away the hours. Nice size bathroom with bath and separate shower - loads of hot water. Nice place for a stopover. My daughter and I had lunch at the onsite restaurant, we both had fish (1 x trout and 1 x dorado) and both found our fish overcooked. Service was friendly and courteous.

On the downside, the cupboard space in the room was almost non-existent but if you are only doing an overnight stop, then there is really no need to unpack. Also the receptionist failed to inform us that the office only opened at 7.30 am on Saturdays even though we told her that we would not be having breakfast as we needed to leave by 6.30 am. Luckily the owner saw us hovering around the office wondering what on earth to do about payment and she quickly opened up and tended to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7274988, General Manager at The Old Orchard, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We, the management and staff, are very distressed that you did not enjoy the quality of service that we endeavour to offer our guests! Sadly, the disappointing meal was not brought to our attention as we would have struck it off the bill immediately. We will however process a refund for same and trust that this will help compensate in a small way? Please do grant us a second chance, somewhere in the future, to redeem our reputation with yourselves. Once again our sincere apologies ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed there on our way from HluHluwe to Addo and we really enjoyed it! We upgraded our room to one overlooking the lagoon: it was very nice, spacious, clean, with a very nice balcony where we sat to admire the sunset and to have breakfast in the morning, the view and the peaceful atmosphere were fantastic! We had dinner at the hotels restaurant and it was the most delicious meal from all our trip!We loved everything about this place!

Room Tip: By the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kokstad hotels
17.8 mi away
Ingeli Forest Resort
Ingeli Forest Resort
#1 of 2 in Kokstad
158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Majestic Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Mooidraai Guest House
Mooidraai Guest House
#4 of 23 in Kokstad
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Planes Guesthouse
#14 of 23 in Kokstad
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Orchard

Property: The Old Orchard
Address: P.O Box 467, Kokstad 4700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kokstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kokstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Orchard Bed & Breakfast / Guest house is nestled at the feet of the Mount Currie Mountains just outside the gateway town of Kokstad on the Kwazulu-Natal / Eastern Cape Border, The Old Orchard presents the perfect stopover on your travels through this beautiful part of the country. Built on the shores of a picturesque dam away from the bustle of the city, with tranquil views out over the surrounding mountains, The Old Orchard offers a variety of accommodation options within a peaceful and relaxing environment. Also on site is Cassandra's Restaurant serving scrumptious breakfasts, a la carte lunches, dinners and more..... General information:- Secure Parking. WiFi available. Golf Driving Range Fishing Rods for those who wish to fish in the dam DSTV in all the rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing