We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointing in Kokstad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imbali Guest House

Imbali Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kokstad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Imbali Guest House
Ranked #10 of 23 Kokstad B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing in Kokstad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this lodge because the wedding party was going to stay there. We bioked three months in advance. Requested a "family room with single extra single bed for a four year old". I double checked last month and was told on email" your booking is confirmed as you requested", well no extra bed!
We had to settle for a mattress on the floor which was OK but disappointing on arrival. Then the rooms were not ready at 1pm. This is not a lodge at a cassino complex in Vagas. Then no towles or soap in the room. Then there was no hot water for our shower. Then the power went down and surprise they had no emergency generator. Could anything else go wrong?
Yes. No coffee or creamer in the rooms!
No we will not be back.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riaan123, Owner at Imbali Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We were ready for this group - or so we thought - until EVERYTHING went wrong! I had just purchased a new Generator, which was supposed to be connected by the Friday. However, due to heavy rains, the electricians could not work on the high voltage cables. Hence, when the power went out - at exactly the wrong time - when the guests arrived and wanted to shower/bath to get ready for the wedding, there was NO backup power to supply water, whether hot or cold, to ALL the rooms. This was not planned, we are very sorry this happened, but joy of joys, the Generator was connected on the Monday. So this should not happen again. YES - we disappointed the WHOLE group!! But it was NOT PLANNED!! We understand that Weddings are special and everyone was very emotional - a volatile situation - and the loss of electricity was the ignition which set the whole thing ablaze!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kokstad hotels
15.9 mi away
Ingeli Forest Resort
Ingeli Forest Resort
#1 of 2 in Kokstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.1 mi away
Majestic Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Old Orchard
The Old Orchard
#1 of 3 in Kokstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mooidraai Guest House
Mooidraai Guest House
#4 of 23 in Kokstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Planes Guesthouse
#14 of 23 in Kokstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbali Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbali Guest House

Property: Imbali Guest House
Address: 137 Hope Street, Kokstad 4700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kokstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Kokstad
Hotel Class:4 star — Imbali Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing