We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel, Mundesley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
Ranked #3 of 5 Mundesley B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly welcome on arrival. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment but that is not causing any problems. The bedroom had been refurbished and was clean, bright and comfortable. Good firm mattress, free wi-fi, good sized tv on the wall, nice bathroom. Had an evening meal in the Coffee Bar which was excellent - ham, eggs & chips and ended up giving some of the left over really nice ham to the dogs sitting near the next table as there was just so much of it. Breakfast was the usual hot buffet so was reasonable but not brilliant - I do wish hotels would go back to fresh cooking - even if you do have to wait for it. Minor criticisms which stop it getting 5 stars - water pressure was so low it took ages to fill a bath, and the shower was not practical. The workspace was useful but needs a desk lamp. Also there wasn't a hotel information booklet. However, the staff were lovely and I would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    86
    66
    22
    20
See reviews for
53
145
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We never stayed at the Royal so I cannot comment on the rooms but last week we had two very enjoyable meals at the hotel. On Sunday evening we had a meal in the bar we shared a whitebait starter which was not only very well cooked but substantial as well it was delicious.
My wife had Haddock, Chips and Mushy Mint Peas which she thoroughly enjoyed and I had a Chicken dish with Bacon and Cheese which was very delicious.
We returned on Wednesday evening for the Carvery where we had another delicious meal the choices were very good and everything was very well cooked. On both visits we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend the Royal to any one for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We liked this hotel. Yes it is old and in need of redecorating in many places, but this was being done in certain areas so it is in a transition period. It is your old style basic type of hotel and has a certain character but modern (apart from the bedroom) it is not. For a reasonable price you get a hotel only a couple of hundred yards from the sea front, a warm welcome and our room at least was very clean and of a reasonable size. We didn't use the bar or the restaurant although breakfast was very good. Staff were always friendly and helpful.
The big plus for us was that it is a dog friendly hotel as well.
We will use the hotel again at some point, it makes a good base for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Just had Sunday lunch with my family and parents lovely food and atmosphere at very reasonable price. They were extremely busy but managed to fit in our party of 5 so booking probably a good idea on a Sunday. Just booked for my parents to go for 3 courses for Boxing Day at £16.95 a head.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Having booked an executive room that felt like a prison, the shower does not work its either scalding hot or cold and this is an apparently refurbished room REALLY!!!! The food well it made me sick swimming in grease and when we spoke to the chef/ manager he actually man handled me outside as he could not take the fact that my 14 year old is a better cook disgusting his attitude was Appalling and obviously could not take a female standing up to him.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melody7653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mundesley hotels

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The Royal Hotel was easy to find with ample car parking. In terms of the room, it was large and clean with a huge bed and modern decor and looked as you'd expect for the price. The bathroom was disappointing though as it was very small with a tiny sink in the corner with old fashioned taps which seemed a little incongruous after seeing the bedroom. The mirror was also not located above the sink but just off to the right which was a bit annoying and it was all very claustrophobic with a glass shelf above and an intrusive towel rail right next to the sink. I had to watch my head with a low ceiling edge in the shower and the shower head could just about get to a height for me to get under - anyone much over 6ft might struggle. The walls seem to be be very thin as I could hear people in neighbouring rooms snoring and using the bathroom (not at the same time). Food wise, on an evening you can eat in the restaurant or the small bar area. We ate in the bar as it was a nice atmosphere and quite cosy. The menu is pretty standard fare for an English hotel but the service was excellent and the food was nice and portions generous. It was therefore very disappointing to discover that breakfast the next
day was nowhere near the standard we were expecting. The restaurant where breakfast is based has very dated decor and the tables were all very close to each other meaning there wasn't much room for manoeuvring with food/drinks. The hot food was buffet style and did not look appetising at all - I usually have
'the works' but the only things I went for were hash browns (greasy), toast (old and stale) and a fried egg (old and rubbery) - these descriptions only realised after I started eating. Didn't try bacon as it was swimming in grease, beans were crusty under hot lights and the sausages looked really cheap and unappetising. The next day, we decided to have a lie-in and just had the tea and biscuits in our room. Overall, the staff were very welcoming and service was good, bedrooms were nice but bathrooms poky. A good breakfast should be a given for a hotel aiming for the status it seems to be striving (and charging) for - this at least needs to be sorted to represent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here recently for 2 nights,very friendly family run hotel, clean and comfortable. The food was good and the portions are huge. There is a very cosy well stocked bar area. The refurb which has been mentioned in other reviews is going well and the finished area's are of a high standard. The bedrooms are in the new part of the hotel and are large and comfortable with lovely bathrooms. overall we found it a very nice place to stay and a good base for exploring the norfolk coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne-marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundesley
0.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
4.9 mi away
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
#2 of 2 in North Walsham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel, Mundesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel, Mundesley

Property: The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
Address: The Royal Hotel Paston Road | Norwich, Mundesley NR11 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Mundesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mundesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel, Mundesley 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Royal Hotel, Mundesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel, Mundesley Hotel Mundesley
The Royal Hotel, Mundesley Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing