We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly and tatty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
Ranked #3 of 5 Mundesley B&B and Inns
Knowle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“smelly and tatty”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited Norfolfk for the first time to attend a friends Birthday and stayed at the Royal for two nights. The first impressions on arriving at the Hotel were not good, the architecture is confused, they have mixed a Victorian Hotel with red brick extensions, there are masses of pink signs all over the place, the place looks shabby. On entering the hotel, there is a lounge with dated furniture a resounding smell of cooking oil. the reception is grubby and dated, the staff are perfectly pleasant and our room was pleasantly clean and tidy. we were bitterly disappointed with our stay. the breakfast on Sunday was shocking,self service with loads of grease. We would not recommend the Royal to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    90
    71
    29
    25
See reviews for
63
163
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Have just come back from a lovely weekend break at The Royal Hotel. We stayed in Executive room 252 which was fantastic enormous four poster bed room was spotlessly clean, large fluffy towels in shower room.Service was excellent & the staff were very helpful & friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings food was great & huge portions so if your hungry after all that walking along the beach this is the place to eat. Breakfast was buffet style with loads of choice from full English to cereals, fat free yogurts, fresh fruit etc spoilt for choice food was Hot & replenished at regular intervals.Refurb work that is ongoing at the hotel in my mind does not interfere with staying guests.Will definitely be going back to this hotel.Would just like to say hotel room could do with coasters to stop hot cups marking bedside cabinets & fluffier pillows would be lovely.

Room Tip: Room 252 very spacious with an enormous four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my brothers booked this hotel for one night. Rooms were excellent, service was fantastic and the staff were really helpful and friendly.
We had a few drinks in the bar before we went out to dinner and found they had a fine selection of everything. After dinner we came back to the bar for 'just one more' and found a really great bunch of people dancing and singing. So we ended up still in there three hours later!
The next morning a little worse for wear we went down to breakfast and what a feast!
Overall a great stay and if I'm back up that way anytime soon I will certainly be booking again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Total misrepresentation, rooms supposed to be superior taps broken and shower didn't regulate with no power , hotel not finished and according to other guests has been in this state for over 18 months. Breakfast cold and I couldn't eat , I complained to the manager and gave my e mail address for some compensation but as of today no word!!
The carpets looked as if they hadn't been cleaned at all and the whole place looked shoddy.
I think one of the worst places I have stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 365Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mundesley hotels

Lowestoft, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay very friendly staff lovely atmosphere food was gorgeous...although still under refurbishment very clean and well maintained...visiting again in may so looking forward to it ... proper place can't wait...dogs welcome too so maybe another stay through out the year with my pooch

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lellyloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

On arrival all though a very small reception area we were welcomed by a very friendly member of staff quickly booked in and taken to our room. The hotel is undergoing extensive refurbishment but this did not inconvenience us. The room was spacious with a good ensuite and an exceptionally comfy bed. Breakfasts were excellent. We ate in the hotel on the first night the food and service was very good Overall a very good stay and we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently for a weekend. Clean and tidy room. Ate in hotel in the evening and had a good meal. Hotel only a short walk from the coast and centre of Mundesley. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Have a room at the back of hotel, no noise from road or hotel bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineAlanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundesley
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
275 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
515 reviews
6.8 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
350 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel, Mundesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel, Mundesley

Property: The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
Address: The Royal Hotel Paston Road | Norwich, Mundesley NR11 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Mundesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mundesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel, Mundesley 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Hotel, Mundesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel, Mundesley Hotel Mundesley
The Royal Hotel, Mundesley Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing