We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B”
Review of Overcliff Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Overcliff Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Mundesley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just visited Mundesley for a wedding and booked into Overcliff Lodge. It is a great place to stay, comfortable beds and the most amazing breakfast on offer. Incredibly clean and modern looking. My in laws stayed in a local hotel and it was certainly not as good a quality as Overcliff. I would highly recommend a stay here and if ever travel that way again I would book in. We booked a double and a twin room for our two children. We were opposite each other and felt completely comfortable there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DormorFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overclifflodge, Owner at Overcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for the great review, good to hear the room layouts worked for you and your children.
Kind Regards Dave and Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely little b and b where you are really cared for. Homemade blueberry scones and tea when checking in and a very clean room. The room was quite small but plenty for one night and only had a shower but that's because I booked last minute. Delightful breakfast with amazing croissants. As a veggie I got my own platter of quorn "meat". I have never had such a thoughtful breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overclifflodge, Owner at Overcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you Caroline, very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us . Kind Regards Dave and Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Easily the nicest place I have ever stayed at (be it hotel or bed and breakfast). The staff were lovely and very accommodating. I rang the day before to check if there was any possibility of me arriving early so I could get changed for the wedding I was attending. No one was in my room the night before so I was told that I could arrive whenever I wanted to as it would be ready for me. On arrival I was met at the door and shown to my room which was excellent. Only a single room but it was a nice size with a good size ensuite shower room. Everything I could have wanted was available in the room or on request including a little information pack with details about the breakfast and surrounding area. They also have free wifi and the password is in the information pack. The bed was comfy and as well as a room key you also get a front door key so you can come and go as you please. The breakfast the next morning was impressive in quality and range. There is a big dining table full of continental options (bread, meat, cheese, fruit, cereal, juice, crossiants, etc) as well as the option of a cooked breakfast and a pot of tea or cafetiere of coffee. It is only about a 5-10 minute walk down to the beach at Mundesley and there is a tesco express just across the road. You pay on departure by cash or card and they ask that you are out of your room by 10am that morning. I wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy more breakfasts! I will definitely recommend Overcliffe lodge to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yatomi1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overclifflodge, Owner at Overcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for the excellent informative review. We really appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience.Kind Regards Dave and Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Excellent all round. Welcomed with blueberry scones and tea! Room comfortable if slightly small. Lots of hot water, comfortable beds. Breakfast was everything anyone could want - fruit, including raspberries, cheeses, smoked salmon. Better breakfast than most 5* hotels in the UK.

Room Tip: We were at the front and heard nothing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destinycalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overclifflodge, Owner at Overcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in room 3. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Dave and Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent little B & B, immaculately clean throughout, very warm welcome on arrival and ideally located for visiting attractions along Norfolk Coast. Breakfast is amazing, not only for choice, but the full English is outstanding. The room we stayed in, Puffin, was well equipped and spotlessly clean, the jacuzzi bath is a must. Less than 10 minute walk away is The Ship Inn which is recommended for evening meal or even lunch, food was great and very friendly service.
We will definitely be coming back to both very very soon. Thank you Dave and Lena for a wonderful stay, see you soon xx

Room Tip: We have only tried the Puffin room, has a jacuzzi bath,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overclifflodge, Owner at Overcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you Doug for giving us such a good review, very much appreciated. Best Wishes Dave and Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for only 1 night but very pleased with accomodation. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds and modern bathroom. There is free WiFi available, you politely asked to donate to the Mundsley lifeboat. The breakfast is excellent, choice of normal cereals or fresh fruit and the cooked breafast is made to order. I would fully recommend staying to anybody and will certainly go back. 5 Stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overclifflodge, Owner at Overcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hello Marjorie, thank you for the great review.We try and raise money for the Mundesley Lifeboat selling greetings cards and wi-fi contributions.Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Dave and Lena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our second visit to Mundesley and we went to the Overcliff Lodge because of the reviews on here. What a welcome, a home baked apple sponge with lashings of cream!! Our room was very comfortable but on the small side. The breakfast was the best we have ever had. A huge table laden with fresh fruit, smoothies, croissants, fresh bread, boiled eggs with prawns, smoked salmon, cheese and of course the usual cereals followed by a full English. Unbelievable choices.
Comfy lounge with tv too. I would highly recommend Overcliff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overclifflodge, Owner at Overcliff Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for the great review. Lena was trying out the apple sponge on you instead of the usual scones.Best wishes from both us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mundesley hotels
0.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Durdans B & B
The Durdans B & B
#2 of 5 in Mundesley
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overcliff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overcliff Lodge

Address: 46 Cromer Road, Mundesley NR11 8DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Mundesley
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mundesley
Price Range: £73 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overcliff Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overcliff Lodge is a large detached house situated on the coast road in Mundesley, only a few minutes away from a blue flag beach.There are 8 en-suite rooms with a guest sitting room and breakfast room downstairs. Overcliff Lodge is available for Bed and Breakfast all year round, or is also available as a holiday let for up to 14 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Overcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overcliff Lodge Mundesley, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing