We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend”

Review of The Whim

Front of Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Property
View from Hallway Upstairs Swimming Pool - Indoor Heated
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Front of Property
View from Hallway Upstairs
Swimming Pool - Indoor Heated
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Dining Area to Seat 14
Lounge to Seat up to 14
Conservatory Area
Downstairs Double
Downstairs Twin
Upstairs Double with Ensuite
Upstairs Twin with Seaview
Upstairs Double with Seaview
Family Bathroom with Shower and Bath
Upstairs Twin
Upstairs Double
Upstairs View
Sea View
Back Garden and View
Patio and BBQ Area
The Whim
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MJohnston...
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 11 aged between 25 - 60 and spent a long weekend at The Whim. The accommodation was to a very high standard, with plenty of room to relax and socialise in. Loads of fun was had around the dinning table both eating and playing games. The heated swimming pool was a real bonus and added to the enjoyment of the weekend. Long walks along the beach followed by hearty meals were the order of the weekend. The local Fish & Chip shop was an excellent alternative when we didn't want to cook, although check out it's opening times and phoning ahead is a definite time saver. We are already discussing when to return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonwalk...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely long weekend”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here Friday to Monday in early November with 3 other families 13 of us in total. The place is huge! Really good sized bedrooms, and the main living room is a great size. We spent a lot of time in the kitchen dining area talking and playing games. Plenty of space and never felt like we were in each other's way. The kitchen is well supplied with a great big oven ( I cooked Christmas dinner for us all with no problem) 2 kettles, big tea pots. Perfect. The weather was awful, but it didn't matter as the house was really warm so it was lovely to shut the door and enjoy he place. We shopped online with Tesco & had it delivered to the house with no problem. The pool area is a good size and had plenty of use. Wifi worked well in all rooms which pleased the kids! Personally I would have liked bigger choice in films, maybe sky tv. Although the female guests disagreed. It didn't detract from a really great time. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicbapro
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome house, great pool, great fun!”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A group of mums and children we found the most amazing spot for an Autumn beach weekend at The Whim. An amazing kitchen with the biggest table ever, a beautiful and comfy lounge easily seating all 14 of us, a fun pool with added sauna bonus and a view from a picture book. All of us loved our weekend away with many a swim, a short stroll to the amazing beach with kites, buckets and spades, football in the garden and luxurious beds. I highly recommend The Whim for groups like ours, family get togethers or groups of friends. Delightful in all ways. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious accommodation and fun pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifford...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“golden wedding celebration”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My family have just spent a long weekend at this property with my in laws (who stayed the whole week) to celebrate their golden wedding anniversary. There were 11 of us altogether and we had a great time in this wonderful house. The house was HUGE with very well proportioned rooms and never felt crowded. It was very clean and well equipped for larger parties of guests. The swimming pool was clean and fairly warm and the garden had great views over the sea. The only minor negatives were the pillows on the beds which were wafer thin and the pool cover needs replacing as it kept leaving small plastic discs in the water, which were coming off the underside of the cover. Overall a great location and accommodation for large groups to spend time together in comfort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbieCan...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hen Weekend”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely, large house, in a lovely cliff top location. The house was spacious and spotless. The first thing that I noticed was that the house was well maintained and well heated. There's nothing worse than being cold! In addition, the beds were all comfortable, which is something that some rentals fall down on. All the other furniture in the house was good quality and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped too. The house is well situated, within half a mile or so of a Tesco express and in a village with a good range of places to eat and drink. The owners made themselves very accessible for any problems we might have and responded promptly when we contacted them. I would certainly go back to this property and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
271Mandyd
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a week at The Whim with our children and four grandchildren (aged from 8 to 3 months) and this property was a perfect venue. The house is large and spacious with everything you need for a large family. The garden is perfect for children (and adults) to play with an absolutely stunning view of the sea. The indoor heated pool completes the package with a large table and barbecue area outside. We were able to walk into Mundesley which took about 20 minutes and a Tesco Express is 5 minutes walk. There are also plenty of places to visit within an easy drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house with fantastic views.
Liked least: Lack of bathrooms and toilets
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at the Whim in May this year with a family group ranging from my 2 week old grandson, to my mum and dad who are both in their late 70's. The house is set on a cliff overlooking the sea at the end of a long garden (where you could find my dad enjoying the views every morning). The children loved the indoor pool and it was difficult to get them to come out to go into Mundesley, a lovely little village, with a few shops and pubs, a park, amusements and crazy golf; which was a short walk away, or a drive into Cromer for catching crabs on the pier. All of the rooms are large and even though we were a big group, with dogs, there was plenty of room for everyone. I had to contact Clair the owner on a couple of occasions to sort out changes I had made, and she couldn't have been more accommodating. A lovely place to get away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was lovely
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing