We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal”

Fish & Fry Mundesley
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Mundesley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
grantham lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Owner very busy on a bank holiday Friday night. They were supposed to close but couldn't as people flooded in. Everyone got served.
Food good, a bit greasy for me but the family liked there's.
We would return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a chippy”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Read some of the reviews here in amazement. Get over yourselves! It is a Chip Shop! Portions are great, fish is fresh, welcome is friendly. Does what it says on the tin and does it well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent plaice. ;)”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just had a long weekend in Mundesley staying in a holiday cottage and called in to the local chippy and would just like to say, it was one of the best chip shops I have visited this year. Despite being busy, I was greeted with a friendly welcome, the fish & chips and pie & chips were to a very good standard and would definitely revisit, should we be in Mundesley again. Brilliant atmosphere, talkative staff and even had the football on the telly! Quality!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“"First prize"”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Having traveled all over the country i can honestly say this chip shop wins "FIRST PRIZE" for the worst food we have ever eaten. The fish must have been caught by "captain noah in the good ship ark" The chips were just as bad and the mushy peas just a green glowing lump that struggled to slide out of he pot. The 4 meals we purchased were totally uneatable. The price was so expensive to at close to £30.00. The person behind the counter got part of the order wrong which is hard to do when we said fish chips and peas x4 please. The whole place was dirty and dated. I would rather starve than visit again. With the right people and a lick of paint this could be a credit to the good people of mundsley.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really shouldn't be trading”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Fish & Fry, 5 Station Rd, Mundesley, Norfolk NR11 8JH

We have been staying in Mundsley and thought we would try the local fish & Fry, how wrong were we even to thinkl about it !!

The woman who was suppposed to be serving was rude from the onset. We were shocked at the prices, but as we were feeling tired we decided to pay the prices and hoped the food would be good.

How wrong were we to thinlk that !!

The fish was soggy, full of bones and not the best taste. The chips were soggy and even an amatuer cook could have seen that the frying oil needed changing.

One of us was talked into having a curry sauce,it was expensive and gloupy- disgusting.

£31.09 for 4 people was expensive for the worse meals we have ever had the misfortune to order.

Surely the people of Mundsley cant frequent this greasy and dirty hostelry, maybe its holiday makers like us who are daft enough to expect a certain good standard for the money paid.

Sorry Mundsley we thought your village was really nice, but this just took the edge of our stay./

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Derekf110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish & Fry Mundesley also viewed

 
 

Been to Fish & Fry Mundesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing