We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Motor Club, Annual Anglia Road Run 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mundesley
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standard Motor Club, Annual Anglia Road Run 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We chose and booked the Manor Hotel, as this was one of the few Hotels left along the North Norfolk Coast who were able to accommodate a group of our size. Terry and his staff were more than accommodating everything from a safety pin to a tumble dryer, when one of our party fell in the sea. I have read that the Hotel is dated? What do you expect from a period hotel? The decor is maintained in a period theme, the windows are beautiful original stained glass, with secondary glazing internally. The Hotel, from first impressions, gives a homely and character charm, you can sit in any room and feel at home almost at once. All of our group complimented us on an excellent find, and the price was well within our budget. We were given a separate function room for all our evening frivolities, at no extra cost.
We will definitely be looking to use this venue again in the future, as we travel around the Anglia region on an annual basis we change venues annually, and will struggle to find a more suitable venue in this region. So we hope that in a few years time this Hotel will still be available to us. For our group it definitely ticked all the right boxes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart_Lucas_785JKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryb34, Owner at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
thanks very much guys, it was a pleasure having your group,hope to see you again , good luck
terry & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    70
    29
    22
    23
See reviews for
61
106
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were greeted by a really nice receptionist on arrival and unfortunately we didn't see her again. We were running late for a dinner so I didn't enter our room until after 11pm otherwise I would have complained that night. It was a bit grim. They hadn't put enough curtain hooks on the curtains by a long way and they looked so scruffy. The bathroom was really dated, I could have coped with dated but there was no shower and a small corner bath with a hand held shower on a short cord - not good for my tall husband. There were also hairs in the plug hole that I had to remove with a tissue.

I would have felt better if we had paid a budget price but we hadn't. We asked to change rooms but the hotel was full as there was a large group booking. The lady on reception really didn't care or even ask us why why wanted to change rooms?

Food was what we expected for the price.

One thing I can't stand is being cold and in the evening I was always cold, I don't expect this in a hotel.

We weren't asked if we enjoyed our stay, a very blunt checkout with no niceties.

The stay just creeps into the OK bracket. My advice is ask for a nice room, there must be better ones than ours. It is in a good location- very pretty.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlytraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryb34, Owner at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
this couple stayed with a group of 34 people from the standard motor club, everyone of whom had a wonderful time, i personally spoke to everybody that stayed, but everytime i asked this couple if all was o.k they just nodded.There was never a mention of being cold from them or anybody else in the hotel. yes there was no shower in the room only a bath, with a hair wash attachment, when they booked the hotel they should have asked for a shower,it just annoys me that people can write what they wish when they have left and there is nothing we can do about it as its too late.
regards Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I enjoyed the carvery today when we visited in the exceptionally warm sunshine. With lovely views out onto the sea in an area formerly closed off, my girlfriend and I had a very pleasant lunch and she was pleased to revisit somewhere she had been to frequently when visiting family in the area.

Nice choice of meat and an excellent choice of vegetables with pretty smooth service left no room for complaint.

Two niggles.

The absence of tablecloths is, I assume, a cost-cutting measure - but it did make the room feel rather bare.

The other concern was the extent to which the gravy might have contained flavour enhancer - a common practice, I know. I was not affected in any way, but there were indications for my girlfriend of a possible reaction. This is by no means a certainty - but worth mentioning.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryb55, Owner at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
hi guys thanks for your review, yes we have taken off the tablecloths and cotton napkins as the cost per tableis circa £5.00 in theses days of austerity is just too much.
as for the gravy i wished you had asked at the time its all pure meat stock from all the meats we cook and a few bones etc we stew up hope that satisfies your curiosity many thanks terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My sister and I went to Norfolk for the weekend to revisit our childhood holiday haunts as part of my 40th birthday celebrations. My sister booked us into The Manor Hotel, and it was smashing! It was very quiet in the village that weekend, and the hotel itself was quiet, but that did nothing to spoil the warm and friendly welcome we got. Our room (no5) was lovely, a single and double bed, with a walk in wardrobe and big shower, very clean, nicely decorated and very comfy beds. The breakfast was good, we only had cereal and toast but a cooked was available, and juices, yogurt etc. We had our evening meal there on the Saturday and that was not only very good, but very reasonably priced, too. My sister had the cheesy chips, I had the beer battered cod.
We had a quick look around the lounge area on our last morning, and it was lovely- in summer it must be heaving, and I expect it has a lot of functions on, too (there was a nice area outside with tables, but it was too cold for us to contemplate!!). One little thing we liked was the old guest book in the entrance- it dates from the early 60's to around 1971, and it was fascinating to have a flick through it, especially when we found a couple from our home town who'd stayed in the same room as us, in 1971!
I would recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again. Thanks to all the staff for making us feel so welcome and our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTerrier73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryb55, Owner at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
hi ladies so glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again many thanks for review from terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I would like to recommend the Carvery on a Sunday at The Manor Hotel, I visited there for lunch last Sunday (Mother's Day) - the food was excellent, great selection of meats and vegetables.

The Staff were very welcoming and helpful even though they were busy

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica_A66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed one night while on business in October 2012. I got a single room on the 2nd floor. It was clean, nice sized and I'd be happy to stay again.

Breakfast was fine, but I didn't use the restaurant or bar so can't comment on them. I did however go to the Ship Inn just down the road which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TightwadJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

From the moment we stepped into this hotel we felt totally at ease. This is a victorian hotel with all the usual victorian quirks - please do not compare it with a travelodge type hotel. Our room (Room 8) was at the rear corner of the hotel and had two great windows; one was stained glass and the other had the most wonderful view of the sea - I didn't want to leave! The food was excellent, we had evening meals two of the three nights we stayed. Breakfast was all fresh and cooked to order and a considerable list of items. The bedroom was furnished well and comfortable, all the home comforts. The decor throughout was fresh and clean, without losing the victorian ambience. All the staff were friendly and really enjoyed what they were doing, nothing was any trouble and all served with a smile. I am sorry to say that we did not memorise the owners names, they were so helpful, welcoming and friendly - thank you both. If you are looking for somewhere quiet with a fantastic seaview and walks this has got to be your destination.

Room Tip: You cannot beat a sea-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundesley
6.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wayford Bridge Inn
Wayford Bridge Inn
#1 of 2 in Stalham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Property: The Manor Hotel
Address: Beach Road | Mundesley-On-Sea, Mundesley NR11 8BG , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Mundesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mundesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Manor Hotel, is a good example of a Victorian hotel from which you can enjoy the delights of beautiful sandy beaches and the stunning North Norfolk countryside The hotel is located close to Cromer and The Broads, the striking white sands and mar ram dunes of the coastline, the natural beauty of the salt marshes and a clutch of historic towns. The atmosphere inside The Manor is one of glowing warmth, from the welcoming reception through to the friendly comfortable bar /terrace and dining in our classic restaurant.Our individual en-suite rooms combine classic and stylish décor reflecting their elegant history, with the height of modern comfort features, and a refined and peaceful atmosphere.Our in-room amenities, include mostly king-size beds with 100% cotton sheets, duvets and pillows (others on request), flat screen HD TV with freesat and radio, telephone and wi-fi, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable seating area, desk and Room service Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Mundesley
The Manor Hotel Mundesley, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing