We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOTEL FROM HELL ? NO WAY>”
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mundesley
newmarket
1 review
“HOTEL FROM HELL ? NO WAY>”
Reviewed 13 August 2008

My family have been going to the Manor for over 20 years as have many friends, we have booked for next year as have our friends.Since the Hotel was sold 2 years ago things have not been as they should have been,but "Hotel from Hell" no way.Plenty of room for improvement which we hope the new owners will do. Looking forward to next year.

  • Liked — friendy staff,can take our dog, food.
  • Disliked — outside appearance ,swimming pool not working properly.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JasonNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    72
    30
    22
    23
See reviews for
63
110
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

I have always looked at reviews and taken them with a pinch of salt, believing that people who have had an ejoyable experience rarely write....How wrong I was this time! All the reviews I read said how bad this hotel was..they weren't wrong. I booked the hotel and asked for a ground or first floor room as I was with my mum who doesn't do stairs well. On checking in we were told we were in the annex...we had to go outside, accross the car park, past a hairdressers and pub and down an alleyway. The receptionist unlocked door which was covered in cobwebs and left us to the room! The windows were frosted glass so we couldn't see out and the pace was dark. The carpet was filthy with stains, the beds were clean and so was the bathroom. But walking across the room I walked into more cobwebs! We went back to the reception and asked for another room, this was no problem and we were given a room on the first floor. This was clean even though a bit dated. Breakfast the first morning was something else! We both ordered a full English breakfast, egg (ok) bacon (ok) tomato mushrooms and fried bread, the last three items I think must have been fried in the same pan with the same rancid oil. . Why do we British put up with things!!!!The only good thing I can say about the hotel is that the staff were always freindly!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Too many to mention
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenBSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grumpy50, new owner at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2008
hi everybody
yes the reviews are pretty grim, my wife and i have just purchased the manor hotel on the 8/8/08 the hotel needs some major work and we will be refurbishing it over the next few years.
what you cant take away from it is the beautiful character of this wonderful old victorian manor house perched upon the clifftop of the beautiful unspoilt village of mundesley with uninterupted views of the north sea.
the staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble for them.
with the 2 chefs john and michaela you will find the food is excellent and very well priced.
so please dont be put off by the bad reviews come and see the hotel for yourselves and i am sure you will pleasantly surprised
terry and nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

DO NOT STAY HERE! Worst hotel we have ever stayed in.

Having read reviews on other sites unfortunately we thought no hotel could be that bad. How wrong we were!

Though the hotel was derelict when we drove up. Everything shabby, torn and tatty.

Advertises a swimming pool but water was covered in green gunge and changing shed hadn't been used for years.

Balcony rails had fallen down, electric wring seemed to be pre 1940.

We had the misfortune to book in on the hottest day of the year, only to find the central heating had to be kept on to give hot water. We had to sit in the garden until 9.30pm before it was bearable to go into our bedroom.

Evening dinner grossly overpriced and breakfast was swimming in grease and hardly edible.

We had planned to stay 4 days but could only manage 19 hours before we made a quick escape. If we hadn't had to pay a £50 deposit before we arrived we probably would have keep driving and avoided it altogether.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything, it was dreadful
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willbelievereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

After a noisy celebration last New Year, we decided to go to the other extreme and go somewhere quieter. So I searched on Laterooms for hotels in Norfolk, preferably on the coast. The Manor Hotel was available and for a bargain price of £45 for a Double Executive Room with Sea View - room only, for New Year's Eve. Breakfast would have been an extra £8 each, but we decided to go into Cromer and find breakfast later.

The hotel is in a great location on top of the cliffs in the village of Mundesley. It is an old manor house, as the name suggests. At one time it must have been a lovely old building but is now somewhat run-down. The beach is beautiful - sandy and bracing. Apparently packed in summer.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and we were made very welcome.

Our room was extremely clean and was on the top floor south-east corner of the building, meaning we had a spectacular sea view from both the bathroom and from the room itself. Room was fairly spacious with both a single and double bed, both with fairly firm mattresses. Tea and coffee making facilities, a TV (BBC1, 2, ITV and Ch4 only), wardrobe and dressing table, two armchairs which we turned to face out the window so we could admire the view. A corner bath and newly fitted sink/toilet in the en-suite (strong smell of bleach on arrival and spotless). Fresh (although a little old) towels and loads of hot water. Hairdryer in room.

The public areas - strong smell of some pot-pourri or other. Old carpeting and peeling walls/ceiling which I guess is one of the reasons this place only gets 2 stars as its rating. No real ale in the bar (pump clip turned round). Fabulous Victoriana bar adjacent (part of the hotel) was not open - it ought to have been for the New Year.

Hotel has a swimming pool and off-street parking.

We enjoyed our stay which was great value and we slept well - it was better than some 3* hotels I've stayed in and had decent facilities - but this place could be a gold mine with a bit of money spent and a few marketing strategies - without spoiling it. We were limited to a choice of about two pubs within walking distance but we did have a great evening - returned to the hotel just before midnight, collected the champagne I'd bought earlier and stood on the cliffs watching the fireworks in the distance (any noise obscured by the sound of the sea) and drinking in the New Year. Lovely!

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — a bit run-down
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundesley
6.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Keswick
The Keswick
#1 of 1 in Bacton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
22.1 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Property: The Manor Hotel
Address: Beach Road | Mundesley-On-Sea, Mundesley NR11 8BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Mundesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mundesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Manor Hotel, is a good example of a Victorian hotel from which you can enjoy the delights of beautiful sandy beaches and the stunning North Norfolk countryside The hotel is located close to Cromer and The Broads, the striking white sands and mar ram dunes of the coastline, the natural beauty of the salt marshes and a clutch of historic towns. The atmosphere inside The Manor is one of glowing warmth, from the welcoming reception through to the friendly comfortable bar /terrace and dining in our classic restaurant.Our individual en-suite rooms combine classic and stylish décor reflecting their elegant history, with the height of modern comfort features, and a refined and peaceful atmosphere.Our in-room amenities, include mostly king-size beds with 100% cotton sheets, duvets and pillows (others on request), flat screen HD TV with freesat and radio, telephone and wi-fi, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable seating area, desk and Room service Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Mundesley
The Manor Hotel Mundesley, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing