We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Independant Hotel in a quiet setting”
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mundesley
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Independant Hotel in a quiet setting”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked two rooms on a short 4 night stay and found this hotel is very good and we had very relaxing night and stay. The staff were very friendly and were always there to help.

The breakfast is self service even down to the tea and toast which I have not seen before but it works well, Again the staff were there to assist if you needed it. Eggs and kippers are cooked fresh to order but there is no menu showing any other options.

The room information was lacking (in one room) and in the other it needs improving as it looks like the restraunt and food is only available on Fridays and Saturdays evenings (or is it just bar food available) yet the front sign boards on hotel state otherwise. There was no idea if room service was available and would be an easy earner from bar menu when open. Which we found the food option confussing and there was no option of an evening meal, and felt that we had to try and find other places to eat. If the hotel is doing this I feel it could provide better room information for other places to eat and what they do (eg chinese, italian, steak house, fish and chippy etc). Not sure what happens if you book full board!

There was no option of a daily paper when you check in. As offered in most hotels i am sure this would not be an issue for the hotel to provide as the village shop is opposite!


On arrival we found the overflowing rubbish bins located in the disabled parking bays making it difficult for us to park. It would clean the hotel up, if a fenced area was provided next to the kitchen door. So that the disabled bays can be properly used and proper fixed signage to highlight the disabled entrance (rather than a paper sign) and night lighting, as it is a dark corner.

There is a slope into the breakfast room and this could have done with a hand rail attached to the wall to assist people who are less mobile walk down.

On walking round the hotel you may also feel a slight touch that the pictures repeat as quite a few are of Windsor Castle it would have been nice to have soome local Norfolk view and pictures. Maybe the hotel could display a local artist and they can sell there sketches and photos to the guests if they wish to purchase.

The toilet lights have sensors on them yet it does not cover the whole room so you may be plunged into darkness if you stay to long on the loo!!! Something that needs improving too.

The house keeping does vary we found as they provided shampoo and soaps on the first and last days of our stay. Which seemed odd if they are providing it everyday they need to makesure it is done and everyroom is left to the same standard, there are signs on some of the carpets of small stains which should be easy to remove with the right product. I could not fault the cleaning as it clean and tidy throughout. Although the building does creak when you move about and there are signs of leaking roofing on 2nd floor but it is an old building so expect its just groaning with its age and theis gives a nice charm.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room towards the front of the hotel and ask for a sea view and you will not be disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    79
    32
    24
    26
See reviews for
67
122
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Clearly had a recent refit but a few things just left the hotel not quite there yet. Breakfast was self service but that included setting your own table not just choosing your meal; lift was erratic and problems with it have clearly been ongoing for some time - and when it's setting fire alarm off on Sunday morning it's no joke: restaurant service poor, need to work harder to coordinate service of 10 meals together! But lady on reception was great, very welcoming when we arrived and very helpful in finding bus times for us, thanks!! Bedrooms comfortable, clean, warm and fresh, shower not very powerful though!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view then you need to ask for it - as a group,we booked 5 rooms and only 1 had a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryb34, Owner at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
hi Guys thanks for the review, the lift is 3 years old and cost £40,000 we do have a slight problem at present, which the lift supplier is trying to sort out it is beyond our control unfortunately. the fire alarm going off is due to people putting toast through too many times.
The breakfast is self service as it is in most hotels nowadays. There is a waiter/waitress on to help you should you need it. as for sea view rooms you can book them when you book but they are a bit more expensive, occasionally someone will get a free upgrade when we are full.
Thanks for the comments on the staff they are all very friendly and will do whatever they can to enhance your stay at the manor.
I would like to re-iterate to all reviewers we are an independent hotel family run and we do our best to give all our guests a good time, we get a review perhaps once a week yet we have some 100+ people through our doors sleeping and perhaps another 500 a week eating all who must enjoy the hotel as the reviews are so few.
Unfortunately most people when enjoying themselves do not give a review .They just re-book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raunds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in August. We had 2 rooms one standard double for us & one family one for our niece, nephew & little boy. The rooms were so clean & refurbished recently & we had a sea view in bathroom. The staff are so helpful & go above & beyond.
The breakfasts are superb. They are so pleasant & always smiling. I can recommend this hotel. Above all there is Roy , every hotel should have a Roy! What a star!

Room Tip: Ask for one in original part of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryb34, Owner at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thankyou very much for the review am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've stayed in Mundesley for many years, but this was our first stay at The Manor Hotel, and it certainly won't be the last time. We thought we would be very late checking in because of traffic problems, so called ahead; we were told that it really didn't matter what time we got there - our rooms would be ready and waiting, which was very reassuring. When we did arrive, we were warmly welcomed and were able to book straight in for dinner. Our rooms were lovely, tidy and clean with fantastic sea views. We ate in the restaurant every night - the food was fresh and tasty, with a good choice. Breakfast is self -service, again with a good choice. My Father is elderly and nothing was too much trouble for the staff - a nicer, friendlier and more helpful bunch I don't think could be found! Thanks to you all for making this such a perfect break. We will definitely be staying again, and hopefully in the not too distant future. I can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryb34, Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Heather thank you very much for your review i am so glad you and the family enjoyed there stay, and we hope to see you back soon
Terry and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Short stay with 2 small children, went for the separate accommodation in converted stables.

Need to say first that the main hotel itself was lovely, food was really good and reasonably priced and the staff were just fantastic. A beautiful beach on the doorstep, ideal for kids - clean, has life guards, etc.

The separate accomodation seems to be a work in progress and I'm sure it will be fantastic when complete, but stepping round decorators, having the heating stuck on in July and the rooms almost done wasn't great. The accommodation even though 2 separate bedrooms, bathroom and lounge (breakfast not included in overall cost) did not have any fridge or any kind of kitchen to even make breakfast. Only tea and coffee facilities on a chest of drawers. The pull out couch made the living room into a bedroom which was great but only a single bed in the second bedroom meant the kids had to double up or we went to bed at 7 as well as living room had only tv!

Would have been great if the single room had bunkbeds, the main bedroom had a small tv on the wall, the shower actually work and not run from roasting hot to freezing cold - mixer tap. The back windows also in bad need of replacement as unable to close them, bathroom one cracked even though surround has been painted at some stage it still would need replacing. Odd collection of furniture mixing very modern wardrobe, chest of drawers and very old style upright chairs.(this is just our personal opinion others may find this all fine)

Overall, I think we would honestly return but not stay in the separate accommodation but stay in the main hotel when the kids are older and have have a room next door themselves as the location, staff and food made up for any draw backs.

Room Tip: Book in main hotel - sea view would be worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaP442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terryb34, Owner at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Guys, thanks for review, yes we were still finishing off the re-furb of the outbuilding but is is all finished now. the rooms are room only as there could be 3/6 people staying in the room and we charge seperate for breakfast.
the shower problem has been rectified a new electric shower put in, the old comfy chairs we kept in because they are so comfy. i do hope you come again and retry the stable block as all problems have been resolved . Terry and the Gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My stay was a result of a holiday cancellation to Ireland. At short notice the Manor Hotel was the nearest I could get to Cromer. I am really glad this hotel came up because Mundesley is a nicer place to stop. The hotel stands proud above a fantastic coastline, is spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and helpful.
I stayed in room 1. It had a widescreen TV with Freeview, a fan, comfortable bed and a superb shower amongst the things you would expect. Free WiFi access all over the hotel.
My Brother's car suffered a flat tyre whilst there and both he and I would wish to thank Terry the Owner for passing us on to Jen-Bar Garage in Mundesley for sorting the car out. Jen-Bar not only resolved the flat tyre but replaced another worn one with an ordered in tyre in less than 24 hours.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to stop in the area nor would I look elsewhere when I return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From the time we arrived to the time we left the whole experience was superb. The staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay comfortable . The food was excellent and service speedy and friendly . rooms are clean and spacious and where else would you be able see the sea while sitting in your bed or even having a bath . We will return again and maybe for a longer stay next time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mundesley
6.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
736 reviews
4.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
862 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
14.0 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
606 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Property: The Manor Hotel
Address: Beach Road | Mundesley-On-Sea, Mundesley NR11 8BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Mundesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mundesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Manor Hotel, is a good example of a Victorian hotel from which you can enjoy the delights of beautiful sandy beaches and the stunning North Norfolk countryside The hotel is located close to Cromer and The Broads, the striking white sands and mar ram dunes of the coastline, the natural beauty of the salt marshes and a clutch of historic towns. The atmosphere inside The Manor is one of glowing warmth, from the welcoming reception through to the friendly comfortable bar /terrace and dining in our classic restaurant.Our individual en-suite rooms combine classic and stylish décor reflecting their elegant history, with the height of modern comfort features, and a refined and peaceful atmosphere.Our in-room amenities, include mostly king-size beds with 100% cotton sheets, duvets and pillows (others on request), flat screen HD TV with freesat and radio, telephone and wi-fi, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable seating area, desk and Room service Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Mundesley
The Manor Hotel Mundesley, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing