We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kongsfjord Gjestehus
Nearby Hotels
Kirkenes Hotel(Kirkenes)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
105
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightsking crabtwo nightsguest house isout of this worldnext morningnorthern norwaycouple of nightsdining roomwonderful stayguesthousepeninsulanaturekirkenesatmospherearctichostess
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Absolutely beautiful place, rooms and cottages tastful decorated respecting the nature and the old houses. As normally in Norway, fish was tasty. Nice hiking possibilities and bikers are welcome
Not my last visit here!

Room Tip: The Månedsarbu is absolutely fab, 20 m from the sea. Own cottage with cooking facilities and 2 bedrooms upstairs
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikergirlIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We spent almost a week in the restored fisherman's cottage that's right on the shore of the Berent Sea, the red cottage if you look at google street view, using it as a base for birding northern Finnmark. It was a fairyland experience, very comfortable yet somehow felt adventurous to people from sunny California.

Dinners at the main house were terrific, and we had conversations with other guests that went to nearly midnight...you lose track of time when it never gets dark.

Our hostess was charming and helpful, particularly when we had a tire puncture.

We'd return in a heartbeat, wouldn't consider anyplace else in that part of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Actually, we had a very small room. Moving the luggage around so we could get to the bathroom at night and out the door during the day was a hassle. However, the setting is amazing and the people are, if possible, even more amazing. It is hard to imagine a more pleasant place to stay. The activities in the area are varied, which, for a depressed area (a lot of empty fishery buildings nearby) is hard to achieve. We went in the winter and would like to go back in the summer when even more possibilities are available.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A wonderful winter wonderland, like many others staying longer due to being snowed in and no ferries stopping to pick us up.
Hosts were beyond kind and the food fabulous. Organic where possible and local..crab from the waters outside.
We were stuck in a gale but found ti so warm and cosy we didn't want to leave..fab furnishings and atmosphere and cosy beds....who wouldn't want to stay longer..and the hosts did everything they could to help us
We will be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

With the help of "Discover the World" (whom I would also recommend) we spent 2 nights at this wonderful, comfortable, homely, friendly & relaxing guesthouse. We arrived via Hurtegruten and spent 2 nights on route to Kirkenes - a stop off sadly not promoted, publicised or seemingly known about by the Hurtegruten staff. A shame, and we hope that we and some fellow travelling companions have put this right for the future?

The guesthouse is made up of a series of timber-framed 'homes' - the central and main house being the restaurant and bar, with a short snow walk to our room - a fully modernised and very warm and yet unspoilt/traditional converted barn. Twin comfortable beds, plenty of space and our own table/seating area + a very warm en-suite shower room - perfect for relaxing and warming up after a snow-shoe walk, or a trip (very well organised) to Batsfjord for king crab fishing!

Yes, we went on a guided snow shoe walk with a local guide, Arne - do it, it was a fantastic way to get around, see the scenery and even wild reindeer as we were lucky enough to do! We also took a trip to Batsfjord to go King Crab fishing, with a little warm help from the Kingsfjord family who gave is a lift to the bus stop, and even got us onto the right local bus to rendezvous with our fisherman! The guesthouse people also cooked the king crabs we were lucky enough to catch for our supper, which we were able to share with fellow guests and it was simply wonderful - a real Nordic treat shared with friends rather than professionals or fellow passengers, fabulous! A real memory for life!

The only critical comment I could make is that there was no kettle for tea or coffee making in our amply sized room. Yes the family were very happy to make a cuppa on request, but it would have been nice to have the facilities within our own room. I recognise that this doesn't seem to be the "norm" in Norway (none of the hotels or the Hurtegruten made this provision either), but with so much outdoor and snow activity it really would be nice to be able to have a hot drink, or even a regular hot drink, in the comfort of your own room. So, my advice would be take your own travel kettle and some tea/coffee.....

...Otherwise perfect and a terrific place to stay for people of all ages, children too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ogwell_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews