We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montieri
Stockholm
1 review
“A wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

I stayed at Prategiano for 8 lovely days with my husband and our kids, who are 3 and 5. All of us had a great time - it was a bit too cold to swim in the big pool, but the kids had a lot of fun simply by running round it and playing with the water. The hot tub was wonderful - we never let a day go by without soaking in it.

We really appreciated the warmth of the Prategiano team and we feel that this is a great place to stay if you have young children. My husband and the kids always found ways of entertaining themselves when I went out horseback riding, which I did for 4 of our 8 days at Prategiano.

I loved riding through the beautiful Tuscan countryside and I'm really glad there are groups for experienced riders - that's not the case everywhere. I'm also really glad the rest of my family could join me for the picnic lunches - that was a lot of fun!

All in all, I really recommend Prategiano for equestrians and for families with young kids alike. Such a lovely place!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    102
    29
    22
    15
See reviews for
78
157
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

All round prefect Tuscany experience .Views from hotel of Tuscan hills and countryside so beautiful. Hotel stone buildings and garden and swimming pool great for relaxing after horse-riding or touring. Location is great as can drive for day trips to Siena ,Pisa, Florence etc. Family run hospitality makes you feel welcome and homestyle food is delicious. Horse riding is very well run. The riding teachers are kind and competent and they help you gain the skills you need to enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here four nights in early June. The main aim of this part of our holiday was to do some riding and to see a bit more of Tuscany. We had already spent a week a week in the Chianti region of Tuscany. Prategiano is a family run hotel and has been around since 1971. The rooms are very comfortable. We were very lucky to be upgraded to a two room apartment which was the size of a house. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, huge living area and a dining room. Decor is OK, the rooms are very cosy and in keeping with the three star standard. The only criticism I would have is that although we had a stove there were no cooking implements to be able to make use of the kitchen. We had some fantastic meals in the restaurant, there is an 18 euro three course meal served up each night. We dined there on three occasions and the food is really good. Pool area is nice and clean, pool is large. Whirlpool is great after a day of riding. I managed to do three days of riding while my husband, who was riding for the first time, did two days. The horses are well cared for and in excellent condition. The rides take you through beautiful countryside and cater for all levels of riders. The staff at the hotel are fantastic. It was lovely to meet the family that own the hotel. Andrea, the grandson, takes many of the trail rides and we met Roberto, Andrea's Dad as well. There are a lot of international staff working at the hotel as part of a working holiday in Tuscany. This means that many nationalities are catered for and the service provided is of a higher standard. A special thank you to staff member, Emma, who did a great job with the horses and generally answering any questions we had about the hotel. Staff on reception were also great. Brando gave us great directions on how to get to Sorrento. My only regret is that we are not still there. We definitely recommend this hotel. Particularly for families and couples.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

This little getaway in the Tuscan mountains was perfect for our gathering of six good friends who had decided to do something a little more daring than just sight-seeing and shopping. Very friendly staff, great food and wine (this is Italy, after all!), lovely surroundings, and stable and affable horses. The riding trips were enough adventurous also for the more experienced, and the three course lunches including wine delivered by the riverside, in splendid isolation with our horses, were just grand. Comfortable beds, a nice lounge with big fireplace and a lovely garden with a pool and jacuzzi adds up to a great weekend. Drinking spumante at sunset in the outdoor jacuzzi after a day in the saddle really makes you appreciate life.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cillchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, MI USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

My first trip to Italy. I spent my first week on a group tour with the tour group Contiki. Saw the major highlights, Rome, Florence, and Venice. My last 4 days were spent at Prategiano, in Montieri. I wanted to go horseback riding. I am an experienced rider and wanted to do some serious riding. Not the kind where your horse follows the one in front of it. I was pleasantly surprised by Prategiano, they met my expectations.
The staff there is very helpful and attentive. My riding guide, Kathy, was great. I enjoyed talking with her about all her riding experience, and all her travels. She was very knowledgeable and friendly. The horses were very dependable. The terrain was very rocky and hilly. The horses were very sure footed and in good shape. I trusted their footing. The saddles and tack were a little worn and pieced together, but functional. Not the most comfortable saddles. I had a blast on the rides and seeing the country side. My favorite part was the gallops! I was able to gallop at parts in the tail and the horses go full out, which I thought was a blast!!! Not for the novice or beginner, but it was the best part! I rode two different horses, and liked them both. Because I was traveling by myself, Katy and another female staff member my age took me to town for pizza. That was fun, and very nice of them. I was impressed with Kathy, she spoke 3 langue’s and really knew horses. I also went hiking in the area and that was great. I would recommend this hotel for horse trail riding.
This place will accomadate the novice or beginner rider too, dont think they wont. They have a nice outdoor pool too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leap191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

My partner, my two teenage daughters and I had a fabulous week at Prategiano - the girls adored the riding which they did every day and the walking for the adults was terrific. Trails are challenging in parts (too much for us to mountain bike) but always beautiful - remember to take food and water with you in case you get lost as we did often! We chose to eat in the hotel for all our meals and it was always delicious - and eating outside looking over the hills was never a problem. Brando and his team are really charming and the whole feeling is of one big family. Our family room was huge and airy (two bedrooms, two showers) with comfortable beds. Somewhat on the faded side and some maintenance needed on the shower floor and one sofa. Overall brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WevaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We picked this hotel because of the associated activities they provide (horse riding/biking/walking). The horse riding facilities are very good. Beautiful horses! Due to the terrain the trekking involved a lot of walking and limited trotting / cantering but all in all a very enjoyable experience.

The hotel is located a short uphill walk from the village of Montieri (under an hour from Siena) with stunning views out over the Tuscan hills. The rooms are perfectly adequate, however they could do with some new linen and bed clothes. (the bed clothes had some non-funky retro print on them and the towels could have done with a bit of softener)

The place had a very homely feel - a large sitting room with an open fire a small dining room.

There is a pool area with pool and hot tub. The pool was closed because we were there late in the season.

There is a limited evening meal (€18 pp for a 3 course meal) available. For the price, the food is adequate. Noting noteworthy though ...so if you're not too tired after your day of activities its worth making the stroll into the village (Theres two really good places in the village to eat).

Overall, a very nice place to get away from it all for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montieri
23.4 mi away
L'Andana
L'Andana
#3 of 23 in Castiglione Della Pescaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
13.7 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
24.8 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
6.0 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
15.9 mi away
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
#5 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana

Property: Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana
Address: Localita Prategiano 45, 58026, Montieri, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Montieri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montieri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable 3-star country hotel, is 1 km away from the medieval village of Montieri and offers a wonderful view over the surrounding hills and valleys of Maremma Tuscany. Here you can plan either cultural trips (for ex. Siena 50 km, Massa Marittima 22 km) or sports activities (horse riding, mountain biking, cycling or quad biking), or just relax on the terrace of the swimming pool, enjoy a hydromassage in the hot tube or have a day at the beach.The hotel has 20 rooms, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, terrace, heated minipool. More than 30 years of experience in the organization of horse trips make this hotel one of the favourite destinations for riding lovers. Hiking and mountain bike lovers find various paths, well signaled, and corresponding maps. At lunch time, hikers, riders and bikers meet for a picnic in the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prategiano - Maremma Toscana Italy/Tuscany - Montieri
Prategiano Maremma Toscana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing