We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing New Years Eve Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stables Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Lamesley B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing New Years Eve Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had high expectations of this hotel after reading previous reviews and was not dissapointed. Me and my wife stayed in the garden room. We received a bottle of prossecco on arrival and were shown to our room by Janet. The room was spotless and cosy. Very comfy bed. Spotless and well equipped bathroom. Highlight is definitley the hot tub which is private with this room. It makes the trip that extra bit special. We had a slight problem with the shower in the room but this was no trouble for the owner who swiftly took us to another room to use the facilities there. We had a beautiful cooked breakfast on the morning of New Years Day and there was no pressure to leave in the morning which let us enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and facilities a little longer. Pictures do not do this place justice and cannot put into words how amazing it was! Overall a beautiful hidden gem run by very attentive owners who make you feel right at home. We've already booked to go back in April. Thank you Janet and Gary!!

Room Tip: Garden room has the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
92
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

stayed here in the summer,wonderfull place with super gardens and views.Nothing too much trouble for the owners and made very welcome.Rooms clean,breakfast excellent,hot tub nice extra touch,would deffo recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a lovely weekend away. We stayed in the smaller of the two self catered units. Fabulous bathroom, well equiped kitchen, huge sofa and TV. Really easy location to find. Lovely welcoming couple run the B&B. Fabulous cooked breakfast. Easy to get to loads of interesting English Heritage sites, shopping at the Metrocentre and Newcastle Quayside for an evening out. Would highly recommend. We will be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I regularly stay at Stables Lodge while visiting family locally and I wouldn't stay anywhere else, it beats all the local hotels hands down! The welcome is always friendly and nothing is too much trouble for Janet and Gary. The rooms are beautifully decorated and every little luxury catered for, it's all the little extras that make it a notch above the rest. All rooms have en suites with lovely Molten Brown toiletries. There is always a fridge in the room and complimentary tea, coffee and water The breakfast is hot and cooked to order and well worth the 640 mile round trip alone according to my husband!
I would not hesitate to recommend it to even the fussiest of friends and family and simply cannot fault it. I am only sorry that I am always rushing around to see family and I never really get the time to just be there and enjoy it for itself alone!

Room Tip: Would recommend all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Myself and my man had a fantastic one night stay in the middle lodge for a reasonable £89 per night including a delicious full cooked breakfast the next morning. The lodge was cosy, romantic and had everything we needed, as we booked over the phone we were greeted with a bottle of wine. The lare flat screen tv with all the sky channels , towelling robes and the soft bedding really was the best for total relaxation. The room although small had plenty mirrors to get ready and a walk in wet room. Janet and Gary are an attentive couple with top star hospitality, they brought us Takeaway menus, plates and iron and another bottle of wine when asked, straight to the lodge. Free fast wifi too! Could not fault the place and cannot wait to get back to try the Garden Room with Jacuzzi! Thanks, love Lucy & Lee

Room Tip: The Garden room although a little more expensive has an outside hot tub which looked fantastic we ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripadvisr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Having moved to Newcastle for my new work venture in March I chose to stay at the stables lodge for the first week. Having had the choice of the finest hotels and B & B’s I definitely hit the jackpot with the stables lodge and 15 weeks later 4 nights a week I could not ask for more. The choice of rooms and lodges are first class and the breakfast is second to none.

The stables lodge is definitely worth 5 stars and both Janet and Gary make the whole stay a pleasure (not forgetting domino the cat). I would recommend the stables lodge to anyone looking for a great romantic location at weekends or business travellers who welcome a home from home experience with all the usual luxuries expected when away on business.

The location is semi rural with country pubs and great restaurants within minutes and Newcastle is only a short car or taxi ride away.

Plenty of good golf courses within five minutes

Thank you Janet and Gary for such a nice and pleasant stay and good North East hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-G-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Stables Lodge is a very nice relaxful B&B. Janet and Gary were very helpful and made our stay wonderful and relaxing.

We stayed in the Red room, the bed was very comfy and it was lovely having a settee area, and a small table near the window.

The welcome was friendly especially the bottle of rose which was included with the room. However we was asked several times within a few minutes of arriving if we wanted breakfast in our room. In which we did agree to and it was nice having that option and we could text our breakfast request and had a reply when she got the message. The breakfast was very nice, even though it took a little while to come to the room but it was freshly cooked. very much worth the wait.

The bathroom was well equipped especially the shower, sauna and spa bath was brilliant.

In regards to the temperature of the room it was hot, and you could hear noises of other guests.
We also thought it was odd having a tv and video recording equipment in the closet but they have to put cctv equipment somewhere.

Other than a few niggles it was a very nice friendly b&b and we would stay again if we was in the area and we would recommend the B&B.

There is a nice pub which is a short country lane walk away for food and drink .

Room Tip: The red room is a very lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopyandgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamesley
1.6 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
11.2 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables Lodge

Property: The Stables Lodge
Address: South Farm, Lamesley NE11 0ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Lamesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lamesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Stables Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stables Hotel Lamesley
The Stables Lodge Lamesley, Tyne And Wear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing