We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service a little slow!”

Spago Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #18 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: One of 3 locations in St James, this restaurant is located in the heart of historic Holetown; 2nd Street comes to life at night especially at weekends.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, service a little slow!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

There are 2 Spago restaurants; 1 in 2nd Street, and the other located by the beautiful beach at the rear of the Settlers Bay Hotel. We first visited the one in 2nd Street, where we were so impressed by the quality of the food, we decided to try the other Spago by the beach while it was a stunning location with gorgeous food, the service was very slow in Settlers. But we were in no rush as it was our last night of our hols!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    228
    107
    53
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great setting...terrible service”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Despite its beautiful setting, we should have probably realised there was a reason why we were the only ones there. We were told that they didn't offer children's portion, so we ordered spaghetti carbonara for our two children...it was absolutely tasteless. When we asked if we could change for something else, a big fuss was made and it was pointed out that we would need to speak to the manager..then nothing for ten minutes until a pizza arrived. When the bill arrived they had included the cost of the pizza and the pasta and added ten percent service on top of everything. Not an issue I thought as I come on holiday to relax and not make a fuss, they then delivered 6 dollars (2 pound sterling too much in change) ...after ten minutes another big fuss stating that I owed them money, when I explained they had overcharged on the service. To which I received a response of "you clearly don't understand" at which point having been made to feel embarrassed and condescended I asked to speak to the manager. I then had no responder so after ten minutes I went to the till to enquire and was told the manager was too busy to see me!! So in a place with incredible choices where to eat I would suggest you try cin cin, the cliff, lonestar, tides, fish pot, ju jus, sitar, sandy lane to name but a few

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went to Spago in Holetown one night after another couple in hotel said how good it was. The atmosphere in the resturant was lovely and they had a couple of singers which was really nice, the food was Italian and was nice but not the best Italian I have ever had.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaM772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great find - The best restaurant in Barbados”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This fantastic Italian restaurant is by far the very best we experienced during our recent 2 week stay. It's under-rated, and doesn't market itself well enough. There are 2 Spago restaurants; 1 in 2nd Street, and the other located by the beautiful beach at the rear of the Settlers Bay Hotel. We first visited the one in 2nd Street, where we were so impressed by the quality of the food, we decided to try the other Spago by the beach, and wow, what a fantastic experience...stunning location, gorgeous food, great service, and one of the most romantic experiences we've ever had. We loved it so much, we then went back to the one by the beach for a 3rd time, to spend our last night on the Island. Can't think of a better way to finish off our holiday.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oakesy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you want lovely Italian food served with a smile then go to Spago! They have live music some nights which is great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spago Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Spago Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing