We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent vacation rental”
other travellers have booked this property
Private grounds..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private grounds..
Villa,grounds further view Sandalwood guest room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Private grounds..
Villa,grounds further view
Sandalwood guest room
Sandalwood guest room.
Outside dining Terrace. Steps to pool.
Master bathroom to Mahogany suite
Master bathroom with walk in shower, Mahogany.
Guest room four, Frangipani. Two windows,mosquito netted. A/C unit
Guestroom four, Frangipani
Guest room four,Frangipani
Partial view of fully equipped kitchen
Outside terrace seating and partial view of Bar,with refrigerator and sink.
Roof terrace, sunbathing,shaded seating area and kitchenette
Alegria...Happiness in any language!
Private pool set in 2.5 acres of grounds
Kitchen, double oven, microwave,five ring glass hob
Secluded private pool.
Rear of property.
Partial view of large kitchen
Living room...featuring full wall length sliding glass doors to outside Terrace.
Courtyard area, perfect for morning coffee
' Mahogany ' dressing area.
' Mahogany ' master suite, dressing area and large bathroom.
Rear of villa...French doors opening from the master suite
Outside Terrace and bar. Completely private and tranquil
Sunset view from the private terrace
Enjoy the sunset
Poolside hammock time!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
superspai...
NJ, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation rental”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have stayed at several villas in St James, Barbados. The one thing that stood out was the quietness of the location especially at night unlike a lot of other Sandy Lane villas. Being at the end of a cul de sac, traffic noise was virtually non existent.
Very comfortable accommodation especially the master bedroom. Wonderful ocean views from master, back patio and living room area. The pool is especially very enjoyable and quite warm because the sun is shining on it practically all day long. One can comfortably stay in the pool for long periods, unlike a lot of other villas. Need that sunshine. Staff very pleasant and owner very attentive to our needs.
Overall a most pleasant stay at Alegria.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back as friends rather than guests next year! Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaPar...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Villa, great location and lovely staff - highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday in Barbados. We spent 12 of those nights at Alegria and we loved it. This is our 8th holiday on the island and we have stayed at numerous villas on the west coast. Alegria is definitely up there as one of our favourites. The standard is very good. It is spacious and well equipped. The master bedroom is particularly impressive with wonderful views over the pool, gardens and to to sea beyond. The second bedroom is a twin and very spacious too with a large bathroom. We did have a bit of a smelly drain problem in this bathroom but the housekeeping staff were very quick to arrange maintenance for the next day. The remaining 2 bedrooms are smaller but more than adequate and the bathrooms have been refurbished.

The living area is fantastic. The kitchen opens onto the living room which has fully retractable glass doors opening out to the outside dining area and bar which then leads you to the lovely pool area. At the rear of the living room arched doors open out onto an internal open courtyard seating area which gives the feeling of luxury and space.

The roof terrace is wonderful and we used the jacuzzi on many occasions as well as the barbecue and sun loungers which offer a quiet retreat should you need one.

The grounds are well maintained by Junior (what a lovely man!) and inside you are well taken care of by the housekeeper. Again what a lovely lady who did a fantastic job of keeping everything clean and tidy for us. I wanted to take her home with me!

The option to use the Sandy Lane Owners beach club was a real perk too. It’s a beautiful beach and the sun beds were plentiful as long as you weren’t too late arriving. We spent many happy days there.

The location is excellent although you will need a car. You need a car anyway in my opinion to travel up and down the west coast and really experience the island. The villa is very convenient for Holetown though.

The green monkeys visited us every day and the humming birds fed from the tropical flowers around the pool area. I would not hesitate to recommend this villa as long as no one tries to book it for next year when we hope to stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Dear Angela, thank you so much for your kind words which are much appreciated. I will pass on your kind comments to the Staff also, they have been with us many years and are part of the family! We are pleased to be able to share our home with our guests and do our best to ensure all is tip top. Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola S
1 review
“Lovely villa”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at Alegria for 12 nights over Christmas and new year, the villa is very spacious and we were all able to have quiet time away from the group.
The bedrooms were all lovely with en suite and the kitchen was well equipped for all our cooking, we used the fish markets and local veg stalls for most of out meals. If you want to eat out there are plenty of restaurants at various prices in holetown. We hired a car and I would recommend, you can walk from the villa but it’s a good 15 mim walk.
The outside areas are great we spent a lot of time by the pool and on the roof terrace.
The staff at Alegria are lovely, the villa was kept clean and beds changed regularly and we even had our washing done which was very nice.
Another bonus of staying at Alegria is the sandy lane members beach access, you are provided with beds free of charge and there is a members bar which we used
The villa is set in lovely grounds surrounded by jungle, so much wild life to watch, mosquitoe spray needed.
We would definitely rent this villa again it was great.
We have been coming to Barbados for many years and this villa was up there.

Nicky Spencer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Dear Nicola, thank you so much for your kind comments about our home and our Staff, it means a great deal to us to know that guests have loved our home as much as we do. Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing