We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art Deco style dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach House Restaurant & Bar

The Beach House Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$60
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the ‘Platinum Coast’ of Barbados, we are a unique beach front venue with much to offer. Whether it is a big celebration or an intimate affair, the Beach House can be hired exclusively, semi-privately or in conjunction with other reservations.Our lunch and dinner choices include canapés, a la carte and buffet menus with a wide selection of wines and cocktails to choose from.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Art Deco style dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this restaurant. Food was delicious. Service and welcome made us feel very relaxed. Great location and not as pricey as Tides but still wonderful for a special birthday dinner. Would definitely recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    482
    163
    71
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfriesshire Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Give this place try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

It is always disappointing when a place does not live up to folks' expectations but recent reviews by others have been totally at odds with my very recent experiences at this restaurant. My wife and I noticed it when we were taking a daytime walk along the beach, went in and asked for a table for that night. We got one with no fuss and whilst we were asked where we were staying, this was not unexpected as we got the same question when we booked for Cin Cin and Lone Star.

We enjoyed the ambiance, service and food so much that when we were leaving we booked again for 3 nights later. Our second visit did not disappoint either and if we ever go back to the West Coast we will certainly be eating at the Beach House. It was not the same experience as dining at the other two restaurants mentioned but it was none the worse for that. It was very good and significantly cheaper for what we had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

we turned up here on a Thursday evening without a reservation and had no problems getting a table as we were there quite early. Weirdly, we were asked where we were staying though, maybe they've had people not pay?
Beautiful location, delicious food and great service.

Would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BorisBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Went there for a romantic dinner and after hearing so many great things about this place. Unfortunately we were not pleased at all by this restaurant. Although the ambience is nice, romantic, close to the beach etc. the food is is not that great. A lot of menu options were replaced (we were orally informed about that) with much simpler ones, which was a bit disappointment especially when you are left with options such as chicken wrapped with bacon.. The food was extremely average: starters were something you could order at a take away in Europe, the fish on the main was so dry that it was difficult to eat.

Maybe this was a bad night for the restaurant, but we would not come back and would recommend to avoid this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gkullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We chose to go to the beach house as we were a little under dressed for tides after a day on the beach and boy did we regret it. When we asked for a table we were subjected to an interrogation by the hostess as we didn't have a reservation. She wanted to know where we were staying, the phone number, etc. We went to the bar. The cocktails were awful. We went to our table - nice location by the water. We asked for a high chair for our daughter's baby - it arrived half an hour later. We were the only people at a table at this point. We opted for a bottle of still water. The waiter brought two in an ice bucket and proceeded to start pouring from the second one as soon as the first was empty even though we hadn't asked for it.
All of this could have been forgiven if the food had been even halfway decent but my crab spring rolls were disgusting - they tasted like they had been microwaved and were hard and chewy. They were sat on what was meant to be butternut squash but looked like overcooked baked beans and the accompanying sauce was rank. Mains were equally poor - $148 for a porterhouse steak that was mainly bone and fat with six chips to go with it. The rest of our party had catch of the day which was red snapper - tiny portions of frozen fish for $70 each.
For some stupid reason we decided to try dessert to see if the meal could be redeemed - it wasn't - the trio of crème brulee was horrible. The bill was a little over six hundred dollars for four of us - very very expensive for the standard of the food and one of the worst restaurant meals I have ever eaten

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank newworldman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach House Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Beach House Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing