We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Spendor - An Oasis”
Review of Coral Reef Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral Reef Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

What more can you say - this place is amazing. The rooms are gorgeous, the location & service (particularly at the beach) amazing. Half board included, in the semi-open air restaurant with spectacular sea views. Much if the hotel interior flooring is actually made from coral. Water sports are also included. The people, as generally in Barbados, were gracious and smiling. I'd go back every year if the world wasn't so big!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a lovely atmosphere!! The staff are many and all smiles and efficiency.
The choice of cocktails is varied and not all are alcoholic but all are completely delicious!!
We will definitely come back for afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Don't sit at a table right by the sea edge - you'll get soaked by the odd high wave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I recently visited the spa at this hotel and the experience was truly amazing. From the helpful doorman, to the friendly receptionist, to the warm welcome and fantastic ambience. Each changing room was equipped with it's own private shower. We were invited to chill out in the relaxation area with a welcome drink. We had a couples massage in the Pavilion, which was a secluded, private massage garden and the massages were so good, that we fell asleep. Afterwards we went back to the relaxation area with more complimentary drinks. Such beautiful setting, decor and peacefulness. It is certainly not the cheapest spa in Barbados, but it was certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kadiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

As repeatedly noted this is a comfortable and well run hotel. The rooms are good , the gardens and pool wonderful though the beach has steadily been eroded over the years. Th Owning family runs a tight ship and guests appreciate their attentiveness. However their eyes miss nothing and one of the brothers has been known to twitch his lack of appreciation if he feels a guest is not quite what they want.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arc504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is lovely hotel, its comfortable and relaxing but not over the top. The rooms are large and minimal.
The only drawback is some of the staff in the restaurant can be unfriendly but that should not put you off coming.
The beach is fabulous and a week here does charge up ones batteries.

Room Tip: I think the best rooms are near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry5461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I visited the Coral Reef Club for the first time last year....we returned. (see my prior review at http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g946443-d150698-r153281590-Coral_Reef_Club-Holetown_Saint_James_Parish_Barbados.html
Since then, everything remains great but I would like to add new information. The TV that you would borrow for playing DVD's is now a 26" Sony flat screen with an HDMI input. The safe's are small...about 10 inches wide. I was able to stream video on wi-fi...didn't work last year. Don't bother exchange dining at Sandpiper or Cobbler's Cove...the Coral Reef food selection and quality are much better. The outlet for a hairdryer and razor in the bathroom is strange (see picture). Please contact me if you know how something can plug into it. People aren't running down to the beach or pool to put towels on their chairs at 7:00am as they did last year.This year we stayed in Pagoda. Smoking is only a problem on your balcony and is from others smoking nearby. Most guests are still Britts and don't smoke. If you want a map of the grounds, contact me and I'll email it to you. I have nothing bad to say about the Coral Reef Club. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. My wife needed medical attention and got us to see Dr. Crichlow in less than an hour and he was very close.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank h2omelon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed at the Coral reef club last November for 2 weeks, had a fab holiday. hotel amazing,great service, great food, lovely suite, the staff made us feel very special. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, the owners are very welcoming. The BBQ on Thursday nights is a must. Can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill Stead S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
304 reviews
2.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
0.4 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: £355 - £1,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Reef Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Coral Reef Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing