We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel with the mostest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Hotel with the mostest”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed with friends at the Mango Bay Hotel in March 2013 after a weeks cruise it is a excellent choice of hotel congratulations to the management team they know the recipe for fantastic service and made a great effort to convey this. The staff at every level are 1st class and can not do enough to help you. The Bar staffs cocktails are the best ever. The Waiting staff are very attentive and gave great service. The food is 1st class plenty of choice for everybody at all meals well done the Chefs they work very hard. The cleaning ladies keep the rooms and hotel immaculate. The reception staff very knowledgeable and helpful (Hermione we loved you ) The pool area is beautiful and clean and no trouble getting sunbeds pool man always happy to help you find somewhere
Unfortunately the sea was very rough whilst we were there and we could not use the hotels catamaran but Sheereen was marvellous and organized a trip into Bridgetown for us to snorkel over a wreck the seas were a lot calmer there and it was all free of charge, however on our last day the seas calmed down and we were able to go out on the hotels catamaran and swim with the Turtles it was awesome
Don't hesitate to book this hotel its one of the best we have ever stayed in Sheereen you have got it right well done

Room Tip: superior rooms are quieter away from road noise sea view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarry46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    406
    129
    48
    29
See reviews for
301
928
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights and checked in at 11pm. We stayed in a 1 bed apartment which has 2 rooms with a king size bed in one and twin beds in the other. There was loud music from the bar up the road which went on until half past midnight on three nights out of the 8 that we stayed. We did request a room change after the first night but were told we would have to pay an extra USD 50 per night and it would only be available on night 3 of our stay so we didn't bother. The staff at the hotel are a real asset - they are helpful and friendly. The food is of a good standard and a mixture of buffet and table service. The bar is great and there is entertainment most nights, however this is mostly people singing covers from the 80s - we would have loved some Calypso. The hotel looks a little tired in places and there are improvements that could be made. We would definitely go back to Barbados but would try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJoFabandMarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel is mainly waiter service, which makes a change. The food is good quality but not many pastries for breakfast. BUT, the area on the terrace near the bar could do with little tidy up by staff and some areas, including our patio could do with a clean. It actually made our feet black! Not much beach here, but the main pool was a good size. Gardens not very bid to walk round

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at the Mango Bay for 1 week of our 3 weeks Honeymoon. We were greeted by some very friendly reception staff & offered cocktails & a cold towel before been shown to our room. Our room was spacious and clean with plenty of room. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was great for keeping the room cool - 35oC outside! The bathroom was small & we were glad we brought our own bathroom products as the products supplied were in open pottery jugs that were refilled. The balcony looked out onto the hotel driveway & to the front door was onto a street (with bars & restaurants).

This was our first time to stay anywhere all inclusive but we needn't have worried about the food. Overall the food was very good. The portions were small but that was ok when lunch and dinner were 3 courses each and breakfast was a buffet. The theme or type of food changed every lunch & evening and we always found something we liked. We tried some local Caribbean food and fish. which were all very nice. Their ice-cream was delicious.

Every evening there was entertainment - we preferred the entertainment with a Caribbean flavour. The majority of guests were retired couples so the entertainment seemed to be aimed towards them.

The pool and loungers by the sea were perfect to spend the hot sunny days. We always found sun-loungers without any issues and every evening we sat in a circular sun lounger for two and watched the sun set over the sea. The staff circled the complex mid afternoon providing the most beautiful peach sorbet & taking drink orders - I would highly recommend their Fruit Punch (smoothie) or Rum Punch (which packs a punch).

We booked two free trips through the hotel - snorkelling over a small reef and swimming with turtles. Swimming with turtles was a highlight.

Reading above you may wonder why I rated this only average - & it is based on the location of our room. The room door was out to an open corridor/ walkway that then looked out onto a street with bars & restaurants. It was loud most evenings/nights, but on our last night we literally didn't sleep a wink - the music from one of the local pubs was so loud it felt like were in the pub & it went on till after 4.30am when we were leaving to get our flight. We had spent the week in Mango Bay relaxing and catching up on sleep after our wedding but ended up leaving Barbados looking & feeling tired. Those rooms need to be sound proofed. Also we think we were only offered certain tables in the restaurant based on the fact that were had booked standard rooms.

Room Tip: Our noisy room was room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PrincessFi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I checked into the proprerty one Friday after 3.00pm just in time for afternoon tea, the staff were friendly and everyone treated you as if you were family. The hotel is located in a side street and within 2 minutes you can be in the hive of activity. You are near a bank,the police station and some churches. Less than 5 minutes you can cross the street and you are into the upscale Limegrove centre. The rooms sre good mine was a beachfront one,from my room I could enjoy the Friday and Saturday night shows without leaving. The food was good, breakfast needs a bit more variety but there is enough to sustain you, the bar staff was excellent and drinks were plenty. I had a good time in the sea but did not go out in the boat for the trip. My stay was an enjoyable one and highly recommend this hotel to visitors and locals as well.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms allow to share in the activity and can be therapy for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We loved Mango Bay. We travelled with our 8 year old and 5 year old and my husbands parents.

We arrived at the hotel on Easter Sunday and the children were immediately whisked off to look at the rabbits and chicks that had been brought in for the morning. This left us free to get checked in without getting hassled by bored children. Our son was feeling travel sick, so although our room wasn't ready, the staff organised another room for us to use so that he could have a lie down (this was done without us asking which made it even nicer).

We stayed in one of the condominiums at the side of the main hotel. These are privately owned but are let out to Mango Bay. Ours was very spacious and had an extra bedroom which was fabulous. The general decor was slightly tired but still very nice. The bathroom was in need of an update but was immaculately clean.

The pool area was lovely. It had lovely wooden sun beds with squishy 'mattresses' on them. Although the pool is not very big, it was never crowded. Around the pool are lots of lovely plants which made the area look very tropical and we even had hummingbirds visiting the flowers which was wonderful.

The restaurant was very good. We always found something on the menu that we liked. There is a separate children's menu which is quite extensive. We had no problems with birds. We thought we'd write this comment as some other holiday makers had complained about them. The black birds will eat food from the table if it is unattended but are quite shy and won't swoop down and steal food whilst you are eating.

The real bonus was the kids club. Movie night was a fairly regular event. This was excellent as the children were fed by Dawn and then they watched a movie. The adults could then have a nice meal together and a bit of a relax. Other activities were also organised for the children including Easter Bonnet making, Kite making and flying, craft activities and even a trip to the nature reserve (my husband and I also went on the trip but we didn't have to - I would recommend the nature reserve though as the tortoises are fantastic).

The free trips on the catamaran are brilliant. My in-laws took the children on this and the staff took the children snorkelling from the boat. My daughter got to touch a sea turtle which she thought was wonderful and both children loved the fish. My husband and I were booked on a different day but we got the time wrong so we missed it which we were very disappointed about.

If we were very picky, we could find a few things to complain about but we have been to a few 5 star hotels recently and we have had much more to complain about at those.

Overall, we felt that this was an old fashioned 5 star hotel where service and comfort is paramount. The staff were all fantastic!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

hotel was very good. The a la carte was lovely. Yes the breakfast was a bit boring but apart from that we had a very good holiday with good food. The main problem we had was after paying for a pool side room on the ground floor we were given a third floor sea view which my husband found difficult to walk to ( heart by pass and new hip, this was the reason for our pool side request) I eventually got moved to a ground floor room opposite the bar! No view. We made the best of this and all in all the holiday went well. Because it is a small hotel the service is personal and apart from not much beach we enjoyed our stay at Mango BEACH.

Room Tip: Bear in mind as we were told what you ask for is only a request and does not mean you will get the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,719 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing