We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loyal customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We booked a last minute deal with Virgin. The flight was on time but we had to wait about an hour for our room. First impressions of the grounds and pool were a little disappointing and the resort seemed smaller than in the brochures, but that said, we were more than pleased with our room and soon warmed to the hotel. We had booked a superior room as we had read about the noise and were very glad that we did, although the noise was only on Sunday night. Our room was large with a kingsize bed, a safe and plenty of hanging space. It was modern and seemed to have been redecorated. Air con (noisey) and a fan, but no fridge. Everything worked well in the bathroom and was cleaned to a high standard, but the bathroom decor was a little bit tired. We had a large terrace that lead directly into the main pool with room for 4 sunloungers, very handy for everything and very private. Only one restaurant, but the food was of a very good quality with a nicely balanced menu and different dishes each day. The staff were really good and very friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Loads of guests seemed to come back year after year and everyone was very sociable. Mostly older guests or young families. The beach is very narrow and shelves quickly but the sea was great! There is a small beach to the side of the hotel but this does get affected by the creek which overflows when it rains. Good walks along the sea front and around Holetown, which is very chilled and has lots of shops, restaurants and a cinema. You could easily go self catering in Holetown. The hotel does not offer Virgin 'chill in check out' so you will need to go online (hotel helps) or check in at airport.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra. 105 has direct access to the pool and is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Mango Bay is a boutique hotel (small number of rooms, small resort) and my husband and I stayed here for two weeks for our honeymoon. We couldn't have had a better time.
The staff on reception, the cleaning staff, the restaurant staff, everyone, is wonderful and very friendly. The food is exceptional and the restaurant cater wonderfully for food allergies - the menu for lunch and tea is available when you go down for breakfast and you order what you want at breakfast. So if you have allergies, or even don't want whatever is on the menu, they will cook something separate.
There is free wifi in the hotel and the all inclusive includes all drinks and a free boat trip. We had an executive room which was lovely, very comfortable. We saw a standard room and this was lovely too.
I would definitely recommend this hotel highly and certainly can't say enough about it. We will most definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but don't go for the basic room as this is in a separate building on the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A friend and I had a lovely time and met some wonderful people, both staff and hotel guests. The hotel is quaint and intimate with a number of great things on offer but is perhaps not for everyone. It is especially not suited to those looking for a younger scene or anyone looking for space and variety - there is only one restaurant which seems to cater heavily for British visitors.

PROs
1. Friendly and bubbly staff

2. Water sports and catamaran trips are included in the cost

3. Location:
- Very safe to walk around
- Close to great restaurants ( The Cliff / Tides / House / Cin Cin)
- Bars and clubs are within earshot (see Cons also)
- Mall directly opposite the hotel. Great for designer junkies looking for a deal
- Walking distance to Sandy Lane Beach
- Restaurant has ocean views

CONs
The travel agents and hotel need to ensure that guests are fully aware in advance of booking (there is a 100% cancellation fee) that:
1. Beaches along the west coast have suffered from erosion. Technically Mango Bay is still a beach front hotel but there is very little beach left. It's unlikely that you could get a sun-lounger down on the sand without it being swept out to sea. Carlisle Bay and The Crane were described as idyllic beaches by the other hotel guests who decided to venture out during the day

2. Standard rooms are subjected to very loud, thumping music until the early hours every Sunday night. This is due to the hotel's close proximity to the karaoke bar on the adjacent street. Moving us to another room took almost two days due to there being a bank holiday - everything seems to come to a standstill on a bank holiday. That said we were upgraded to a superior room for the remainder of our stay at no additional cost

OVERALL
The staff at Mango Bay are charismatic and certainly added a great deal to our stay. Overall we had a fantastic holiday. The turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea are stunning. It's difficult not to have fun when the sun is out.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are subjected to very loud, thumping music until the early hours every Sunday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sun_Sea_Sandher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This was our second visit to Mango Bay and we were pleased to see that being a returning guest really means something here as we were allocated a nice room which contained a chilled bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us along with a welcome back card which was a nice touch.
We had travelled up from a larger Hotel on the South Coast which had a different feel and a much larger beach .
The beach at Mango Bay has been eroded from our last visit and this wasnt helped by rough sea conditions on our first two days..
We spent some time comparing the two Hotels and concluded they had very different strengths.
The food, service and staff at Mango Bay are fantastic , we had the need to call reception for assistance on three occasions , the last one late at night to remove a Geko which although harmless terrified my wife.
On each occasion they responded within 5 minutes , even sending up a nice chap with a sweeping brush whom my wife named the official Geko catcher !
The Hotel is very compact and can be too compact if you want time on your own as there seem to be many couples who enjoy telling others their life history whether you want to hear it or not ! but generally the people here are very pleasant and many return year after year.
The area around the Hotel seems improved with the Lime Grove Centre containing some lovely shops at not too lovely prices but its very safe to walk out , the Holetown Church is insipiring, its great to see the community dressed up and welcoming all to their Sunday service.
We would certainly go back again , the staff in Reception , restaurant and in the background are all superb and we were delighted to see Mango Bay thriving four years on.

Room Tip: Go for Superior room to avoid noise from bars at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffordshire Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have left reviews about this Hotel before and at risk of repeating myself I am leaving yet another very positive review.
Again we did not want to return home. All the staff at Mango Bay go out of the way to ensure a perfect holiday. How good is it that the General Manager Shireene pops in to see you when she should be on holiday herself.
Whilst the Menu looks fairly standard he food is delicious and far better than it reads, should you not like anything on offer, given a little notice the kitchen will prepare you something else.
The Bar has no limit to the many & diverse cocktails and branded drinks on offer, even waiter service around the pool.. Lovely cooked breakfasts, with eggs cooked to your liking. Afternoon tea, sandwiches & cake at 4.00pm then more food in the evening - Thank goodness they only weigh the cases when you go home.
The standards of cleanliness & housekeeping are excellent, the beds are comfy - it is the only Hotel that I do not bring my own pillow to. Everything is catered for, from a clothes horse to an iron & ironing board.
Shampoo, conditioner, bath gel & body lotion are provided as are bath robes.
If you have a problem it is sorted immediately, the only comment being "Why did you not ask sooner".
There are plenty of sunbeds & umbrellas, the beach is clean and you can walk along it in either direction and a walk way has been built to take you along the sea front towards Almond Beach Club.
Complimentary trips & water sports are available, , we particularly enjoyed the Hobie Cat.
There was even a invitation to join Peter Odle (the Hotel Owner) in his box at Kensington Oval Horse Races which all participants hugely enjoyed.
Entertainment could be improved - I can never understand why a DJ will keep playing the same tracks to an empty floor and a non participating audience, however one night we were treated to a group of 3 ladies who certainly could sing and went down a storm.
Just outside the Hotel there is Lexi's Piano Bar, various good restaurants and Ragamuffins where on a Sunday Night there is a Drag Show - Manikins in Motion, featuring Diva Alexander & 2 friends - this is very popular and not to be missed. Book it early on line
Also in Holetown there are shops within walking distance, a Supermarket, Duty Free etc.. The Hotel has a small shop which stocks sun cream, gifts, stamps etc.
A lovely small Hotel with delightful staff on a mission to make your holiday enjoyable.
I nearly forgot the Spa, where you get the best manicure ever.

Lots of repeat guests - that says it all!

Will we be back? We certainly will!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Just returned from 7 days at Mango Bay, having visited previously at Christmas. Once again the service was faultless, all the staff are great, special mention to Candice, thank you so much for everything. Room was great, food was good with plenty of choice, feel thoroughly relaxed, we will no doubt be back again in the near future. A great hotel with a personal , family friendly feel to it.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MiddleAgedFromMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at mango bay for 14 nights and from the moment we arrived we felt more than welcome. You are greeted by the receptionists with a rum or fruit punch and are given a tour of the hotel before being shown to your room. We stayed in a standard room which was nice and clean. Some nights you could hear the music and noise from the bars over the road - as it does state on the website but this didn't bother us - If you prefer a quiet room then go for a deluxe room with pool/sea view. The restaurant was very good with a wide choice of food available - most nights were a la carte however a couple of days a week there would be a buffet. Wednesday and Friday nights are casual night where you can wear jeans, shorts etc. Friday nights are also BBQ night again with a great select of food to suit everyone's needs. If there is nothing that takes your fancy on the menu, then the staff will try their best to make you anything else that you would like! This was the same with drinks too - bar staff will make you any cocktail you like. Each evening there is live singers which made a great atmosphere. Opposite the hotel you will find lots of designer shops such as Louis Vuitton, Cartier, Chanel, diamonds international and more! Further down the road there are more shops and a supermarket. Included in the all inclusive package there are water sports such as water skiing, kayaking, hobie crafts, peadlos, glass bottom boat and catamaran trip where you can swim with turtles. The beach and pool area are nice with lots of sun beds available - there was always enough for everyone and if you can't find anywhere to sit/sunbathe (this didn't happen!) then the water sports staff will find you somewhere. Work is being done to improve the beach area so it will be even better.
Overall had an amazing time, lovely friendly staff. Didn't want to leave - Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Allaroundtheworld9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,121 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,884 reviews
8.2 mi away
The SoCo Hotel-Adults Only All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,657 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: £239 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, West Indies, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing