We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, family away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, family away from home”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had a short 7 days stay with mango bay. The start of our trip was spent in room 409 which is located near to the main entrance of the hotel and near to the road side. We was not happy with the room and requested a changed. This was done very efficiently without any issues thanks to alison in reservations. The delux room we changed to was very clean with everything inside that was needed for our stay. Everything was regularly maintained within the room throughout the day.

The staff at mango bay are what make the hotel. They are very friendly and helpful with any requests and questions. We stayed all inclusive and were very happy with the wide range of food available. Staff even say if you are not happy with the food they can make whatever you want

The only point of note is that the sun beds did not seem to be regularly cleaned and we did not have a tour of the hotel on our arrival. This was very minor though.

Overall we are very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSsamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    411
    132
    49
    29
See reviews for
311
939
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel was incredible from the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome.I cannot remember the lady who checked me in but I think it began with C , she was beyond helpful and kind. My friend and I were stay-cationing, and having said that we did not anticipate a great room but we were so pleased that we got an oceanview room on the second floor! Great :-D. The food was amazing, they even give you sorbet on Saturday mornings as you come off of the beach. The drinks flowed nonstop! and the bartenders are so wiling to make anything you like, or anything 'pretty' as I asked for :-) I ate and drank until I was stuffed! The watersports were great too, everything available right there on the beach. I learnt to water ski! Amazing value for money, would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the beach, fall asleep to the waves crashing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A bit disappointed with check in. As previous reviews have stated we did receive a cold towel but it was absolutely dripping and we couldn't do much with it. The fruit punch however was very refreshing. We also felt check in was a bit rushed but appreciated the 'tour' of the hotel. Our 'superior' room was a little bit basic and outdated and were woken up at 6am by the staff preparing breakfast. The restaurant was very accommodating if you wanted something not on the menu although would have appreciated less British food. Generally the service was excellent however deteriorated on our last couple of days. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary while at the Mango Bay and although other couples celebrating were made a fuss of, nothing was done for us at all (this may be the fault of Virgin holidays who assured us they would notify the hotel). One problem we did find was this is a hotel with many returning guests who were very much a clique and did appear to get slightly better service than the first time guests, this definitely applied to the allocation of rooms. The entertainment was limited and again geared to frequent guests and their age group. daily supply of towels was good although the towels have seen better days. The catamaran trip was thoroughly enjoyable. Overall we had a relaxing holiday but would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samtul, Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear mikemark,

Thank you for your review of your holiday with us at Mango Bay.

Just wanted to say how sorry we are that we did not have information about your 3oth Wedding Anniversary. Many Congratulations to you and your wife on your special year! Thank you for choosing Mango Bay as the holiday destination that should have been a part of your celebration....we really wish we had had the opportunity to recognise your anniversary, as we do with most of our guests who come to us to celebrate.

We are sorry that you did not leave us feeling ultra-special, and that you thought our repeat guests were given more than their fair share of special treatment. We promise you that repeat guests are not singled out for better service in the restaurant, or given better rooms. Our entertainment package is not built around requests of repeat guests either. It is our mission to convert every first-time guest to Mango Bay into a repeat guest, and we are truly grateful for the loyalty and support of all who continue to return to this resort...whether they have been doing so for years, or only recently.

Room numbers/locations may be requested when reservations are made, but at no time do we guarantee that these will be available on arrival. We will do our best to meet our guests' requests, and of course the earlier these requests are made, the better chance of delivery. We do not upgrade any of our guests on a complimentary basis from one category to another without a consensus from management that there is just cause for doing so.

With what I hope is a bit of clarification regarding your areas of concern, perhaps we still have a chance to have you back for that Mango Bay holiday that you were looking forward to? :) If yes, please do get in touch with us when you are coming back our way, and we will more than make up for your lost 30th Wedding Anniversary celebration this holiday gone!

Kind regards,

Shireene Mathlin-Tulloch
Hotel Manager

c/o reservations@mangobaybarbados.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Having been to the island some 25 times, this was my wife and myselfs first stay at Mango Bay we always stay on the west coast but never at this hotel, it was supurb in every way ,food was bordering on fine dining ,staff are first class , with such a hands on manager ShIreene ,not a false welcome just good info given at a poolside chat to all new guests, also a daily walkabout to see if all was ok .we only booked a standard room which was fine ,maybe if you want a 5*gin palace its not for you ,but if you want to absorb the charm of the caribbean give Mango Bay a go. we shall certainly return and hope to see some really nice people we met on this trip who return each year . Well done to all at Mango Bay..PS its easy to be part of the( boardwalk mafia )get out of bed and enjoy a swim at 6am. Lyndsey & Carole Salter Birmingham !!!!

Room Tip: standard rooms get some noise from bars nearby ,personally it didn,t bother us .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linzobirminghamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Booked on the basis of the very good reviews. However while the resort and experience was ok , it did not quite come up to expectations and is certainly not comparable to other four stars we have visited. The trip was made worse by the noise of construction all week where they are repairing the beach. The beach area was way too noisy; the pool area suffered the noise of dumper trucks bringing rubble to construct a breakwater -so not very relaxing!
On the good side, our room was spacious and nicely decorated. Bed was excellent and we slept well. It was worth paying extra for deluxe. Tray for tea/coffee is provided in room. Bathroom was big but very worn. I am not surprised that occupants on lower floor experienced ceiling leaks, as the bathroom had very poor grouting and sealant. rooms are cleaned nicely daily but towards end of week our room was still not cleaned at 4.40pm. We started thinking that service is targeted at newcomers and slips as week goes on.
Beach is too small to sit out on. There is an area in front of the creek but there were too many flies the day we sat there and we got bitten. We spent rest of week at pool. There is a rather tatty boarded bit which was occupied all week by the same visitors - the board walk mafia. It was nauseating they bagged the loungers about 6am every day - same people, same loungers. Most days we had to organise our own beds and umbrellas. There is no pool attendant and mattresses are often wet, smelly or covered in cats hairs. Some areas of the pool smell of cat poo! Some areas there is a constant stream of passers by, mainly staff walking to and fro carrying plates of food. Staff do say hello and are very friendly but at times the constant traffic was not relaxing. One day we were on our sunbeds when workers started painting the building behind, not very great having a ladder by your sunbed and plaster dropping. hardly health and safety either!
At certain times of the day the manageress is very visible ;at other times there seems like no management. If she is there you can get a sunbed organised, if she is not you might as well organise things yourself.
Staff on greeting were friendly and helpful. Food and service at start of week were good but service was not always consistent which is a shame as the excellent staff are let down by others.
We had notified of a special birthday occasion but don't know why we did as nothing was done by way of celebration whereas others had special table set with balloons and a card. I mentioned this and they took our room number but still made no difference. On day of birthday I asked if we could have an extra packet of biscuits for room for our early morning drink - the receptionist was a bit surly and said biscuits were only available on day of arrival and then said 'go to the supermarket across the road'. I only wanted a packet of two biscuits to go with our morning tea and would even have paid for them.
Half of the meals were very good and we enjoyed two of the buffets. However towards the end of the week waiting staff were stressed. One meal was barely warm; another meal which should have been cold was warm and slimey. Breakfasts become very boring after a week. Wine with meals is ok if you like either sweet or Chardonnay. Cocktails are good but not the best we have had in the Caribean.

The best bit was the free catamaran trip. You get two hours and a chance to swim with turtles.

Overall an average experience and a little disappointing as this was a birthday present treat. agree with others that some staff are very helpful and friendly but some staff can also be less so and at times, particularly when manager is not present, this is noticeable. The pool area would have been improved if there was someone responsible for cleaning around beds and removing cat poo. The mattresses need drying and cleaning. Unfortunately beds get reserved with towels very early and despite a notice asking guests not to do this it was impossible to get a decent bed if you did not get up early. The situation on the board walk bit was annoying and reminded us of everything you hate about 'brits abroad'.
We made the best of the week but would we go back -no! Other guests were obviously repeats so maybe we are just fussy however we can only compare to other hotels we have visited and this one did not make a four star experience or deliver any wow factor.
Should add we enjoyed the Historic Houses tour. Philip was an interesting driver. Unfortunately tour was meant to be half a day but got back at 3.30. The hotel was very responsive on that day in organising us with a sandwich on return. As I said before sometimes when a manageress is there service is excellent; but this is not consistent and someone is not there to deliver this all the time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe and ask for a room as close to sea as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samtul, Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear italiafan,

We are so very sorry that your stay with us at Mango Bay was not what you expected it to be, particularly as regards our failing to do the one thing for/with you which would have meant most to you---i.e. the celebration of your birthday!

I am not certain where things went wrong as we go to great lengths to recognise special occasions, and to make them memorable for our guests. We can only apologixe for our failing in this instance.

You had a number of other experiences which also disappointed you and, again, we are sorry. We have taken note of your areas of concern and are trying to ensure that we do no have reoccurences in the future.

As far as the beach work in the bay area being done by government is concerned, we have no control over this. We will do whatever we need to do to make our guests as comfortable as possible during this period, while we look forward to the fantastic beach and coastline that we will have by year end!

We hope that your stay in Barbados overall was enjoyable, and hope you will visit our lovely island again!

Yours sincerely,

Shireene Mathlin-Tulloch
Hotel Manager

c/o reservations@mangobaybarbados.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Absolutely an amazing resort, the food and staff were brilliant. Took our daughter Lois who was welcomed by the hotel. The ala carte menu was different everyday and was fabulous. The evening entertainment was also very good.

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We booked a last minute deal with Virgin. The flight was on time but we had to wait about an hour for our room. First impressions of the grounds and pool were a little disappointing and the resort seemed smaller than in the brochures, but that said, we were more than pleased with our room and soon warmed to the hotel. We had booked a superior room as we had read about the noise and were very glad that we did, although the noise was only on Sunday night. Our room was large with a kingsize bed, a safe and plenty of hanging space. It was modern and seemed to have been redecorated. Air con (noisey) and a fan, but no fridge. Everything worked well in the bathroom and was cleaned to a high standard, but the bathroom decor was a little bit tired. We had a large terrace that lead directly into the main pool with room for 4 sunloungers, very handy for everything and very private. Only one restaurant, but the food was of a very good quality with a nicely balanced menu and different dishes each day. The staff were really good and very friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Loads of guests seemed to come back year after year and everyone was very sociable. Mostly older guests or young families. The beach is very narrow and shelves quickly but the sea was great! There is a small beach to the side of the hotel but this does get affected by the creek which overflows when it rains. Good walks along the sea front and around Holetown, which is very chilled and has lots of shops, restaurants and a cinema. You could easily go self catering in Holetown. The hotel does not offer Virgin 'chill in check out' so you will need to go online (hotel helps) or check in at airport.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra. 105 has direct access to the pool and is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,513 reviews
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,753 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,804 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sandals Barbados
Sandals Barbados
#4 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, TravelUp, West Indies, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing