We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Just had a lovely holiday here, despite construction noise and restricted access to beach . Staff are lovely and helpful doing their best to cope with difficult conditions ie no notice from authorities etc . We were moved as soon as mentioned noise from lorries. Food was good and you could order something different if you didn't fancy anything on the menu. The 1bedroom apartment was roomy and clean and close to facilities. All in all very nice small hotel in lovely spot and would recommend but go when all the work is done.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    402
    129
    48
    28
See reviews for
296
923
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Have just returned from three weeks at Mango Bay. As it was our 50th wedding anniversary, we were hoping to have a very special time together and we certainly did thanks to the Manageress Shireen and her team including the lovely Marcia and Erica. We had booked an oceanfront room which was nicely decorated, clean and well presented, the bathroom was a decent size, clean with a good selection of toiletries and towels. On our anniversary night we had a special table laid with flowers, balloons, champagne and a card, nothing it seemed was too much trouble. We were later told we would have to leave our room as we were being moved to the penthouse suite for the remainder of our stay, it was wonderful. The beach is a little small but the sea is perfect. Food was very good but if the menu was not to your taste,they were always happy to make something for you that you would enjoy. The menu was placed every morning by the restaurant door, so if it did not suit,you had plenty of time to arrange an alternative dish with the chefs. We have stayed in some of the finest 5* hotels around the world but none have gone to so much trouble to make it a holiday that we will always remember for the best reasons. Well done Mango Bay and thanks to everyone and yes, God willing, we will return for our 51st.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Val g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

First of all, I'm surprised reading someone else's comments saying that food served in the restaurant of this hotel is great. This is definitely not my opinion. It's not well cooked and not much else interesting. Really disappointed with that minuscule gym too. Only 3 aerobic machines, a few free weights and too much hot inside. Yes, there's an aircon there, but it didn't work properly. The beach is not that bad, but the most annoying thing about this hotel happened there. The guy who works there is always in a hurry to store the sunshades before 5PM. He was rude to me once putting my clothes in a rock - they were in the beach chair when I was swimming around 5PM. This thing never happened to me before in any other beach destination. I have no plans to return to this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnEsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just return from our third visit in five years, the service and staff are fantastic, but there seems to have been a reduction in their numbers!!
The manager Shareen is the best! Very friendly and on top of her job, pity she does not seem to get the back-up she deserves. She will be a sad loss to the hotel when she leaves.
We have got no problems with children, but this hotel is small and no facilities for them apart from the pool. Our first week was nice and quiet, but sadly that all changed for the second week!
It did not help that the long awaited beach reclamation works have finally started, whilst interesting to watch it was very noisy and will get worse before it is complete. Pity no one advised us before we got there.
Generally the hotel is looking very tired and need of an upgrade with regards to decoration, external furniture, sun bed covers and umbrellas. Does not seem to be anyone supervising the pool and beach areas and at times it shows! Shareen cannot be all the places all the time, but when she is there she gets things done !
The entertainment quality has dropped and nowhere as good as it use to be.
Many thanks Shareen and her staff when my wife and I celebrated our birthdays and wedding anniversary, much appreciated.
Shareen you will be sadly missed when you leave this week and that may be one of the reasons that we may not be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior or sea view even beter !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandkchelmsforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had a short 7 days stay with mango bay. The start of our trip was spent in room 409 which is located near to the main entrance of the hotel and near to the road side. We was not happy with the room and requested a changed. This was done very efficiently without any issues thanks to alison in reservations. The delux room we changed to was very clean with everything inside that was needed for our stay. Everything was regularly maintained within the room throughout the day.

The staff at mango bay are what make the hotel. They are very friendly and helpful with any requests and questions. We stayed all inclusive and were very happy with the wide range of food available. Staff even say if you are not happy with the food they can make whatever you want

The only point of note is that the sun beds did not seem to be regularly cleaned and we did not have a tour of the hotel on our arrival. This was very minor though.

Overall we are very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSsamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel was incredible from the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome.I cannot remember the lady who checked me in but I think it began with C , she was beyond helpful and kind. My friend and I were stay-cationing, and having said that we did not anticipate a great room but we were so pleased that we got an oceanview room on the second floor! Great :-D. The food was amazing, they even give you sorbet on Saturday mornings as you come off of the beach. The drinks flowed nonstop! and the bartenders are so wiling to make anything you like, or anything 'pretty' as I asked for :-) I ate and drank until I was stuffed! The watersports were great too, everything available right there on the beach. I learnt to water ski! Amazing value for money, would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the beach, fall asleep to the waves crashing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A bit disappointed with check in. As previous reviews have stated we did receive a cold towel but it was absolutely dripping and we couldn't do much with it. The fruit punch however was very refreshing. We also felt check in was a bit rushed but appreciated the 'tour' of the hotel. Our 'superior' room was a little bit basic and outdated and were woken up at 6am by the staff preparing breakfast. The restaurant was very accommodating if you wanted something not on the menu although would have appreciated less British food. Generally the service was excellent however deteriorated on our last couple of days. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary while at the Mango Bay and although other couples celebrating were made a fuss of, nothing was done for us at all (this may be the fault of Virgin holidays who assured us they would notify the hotel). One problem we did find was this is a hotel with many returning guests who were very much a clique and did appear to get slightly better service than the first time guests, this definitely applied to the allocation of rooms. The entertainment was limited and again geared to frequent guests and their age group. daily supply of towels was good although the towels have seen better days. The catamaran trip was thoroughly enjoyable. Overall we had a relaxing holiday but would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samtul, Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear mikemark,

Thank you for your review of your holiday with us at Mango Bay.

Just wanted to say how sorry we are that we did not have information about your 3oth Wedding Anniversary. Many Congratulations to you and your wife on your special year! Thank you for choosing Mango Bay as the holiday destination that should have been a part of your celebration....we really wish we had had the opportunity to recognise your anniversary, as we do with most of our guests who come to us to celebrate.

We are sorry that you did not leave us feeling ultra-special, and that you thought our repeat guests were given more than their fair share of special treatment. We promise you that repeat guests are not singled out for better service in the restaurant, or given better rooms. Our entertainment package is not built around requests of repeat guests either. It is our mission to convert every first-time guest to Mango Bay into a repeat guest, and we are truly grateful for the loyalty and support of all who continue to return to this resort...whether they have been doing so for years, or only recently.

Room numbers/locations may be requested when reservations are made, but at no time do we guarantee that these will be available on arrival. We will do our best to meet our guests' requests, and of course the earlier these requests are made, the better chance of delivery. We do not upgrade any of our guests on a complimentary basis from one category to another without a consensus from management that there is just cause for doing so.

With what I hope is a bit of clarification regarding your areas of concern, perhaps we still have a chance to have you back for that Mango Bay holiday that you were looking forward to? :) If yes, please do get in touch with us when you are coming back our way, and we will more than make up for your lost 30th Wedding Anniversary celebration this holiday gone!

Kind regards,

Shireene Mathlin-Tulloch
Hotel Manager

c/o reservations@mangobaybarbados.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing