We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic stay @ Mango Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic stay @ Mango Bay”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just had a wonderful week at Mango Bay. This is easily the best all inclusive we have ever stayed at. The staff are so lovely, accommodating and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean and look out to the sea. Cocktails are delicious with an extensive range. The food is really tasty-with lunches and dinners served a la carte which Is a bonus for an all inclusive. The fish was cooked beautifully. Ice cream milkshakes are delicious. Loved the open air sheltered restaurant which also looks out onto the sea. At night they light candles which creates a romantic ambience. There are beach works going on at mango bay but the staff were wonderful in ensuring as little inconvenience as possible was caused - they put on a free shuttle bus on the Friday, Monday, Wednesday and Thursday that we were there to another quiet beach. This was totally worth it, they take you to the beautiful huge Brandon's Beach on the west coast, with gorgeous clear turquoise water. There Mango Bay staff look after you exceptionally well. Big thanks goes out to Jamar and Andre. We had so much fun on the beach, relaxing on sun loungers, snorkeling (we saw a turtle, and a ray), and a hot lunch is served. Drinks were brought to us on the beach, you couldn't beat lying on the beach sipping on a rum punch! We also played cricket on the beach which was good fun. There is so much included in the very reasonable price for mango bay, such as a glass bottom boat trip and a snorkeling with turtles trip. It was so nice chilling in the sun on the boat listening to reggae and again, sipping on a rum punch. Was lovely chilling on the hotel decking watching the west coast sunset. Holetown itself is a lovely area, full of high-end shops and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel, it is excellent value for money, and an all-round winner. Service is second to none, huge well done to Anthony and the team.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side and on Sunday night we heard the karaoke from the bar across the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonTraveldelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    406
    129
    48
    29
See reviews for
301
927
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Can't say anything bad about this hotel, yes there's a lot of work going on not only on the beach but also a lot of the rooms as we'll painting cleaning etc .A lot of people say how nice the staff is this is true but I don't want to name individuals as they are all superb.The gardens and pool area are well maintained by the rasta man he really is got them looking well.The people you meet here at the hotel are all willing to have a chat with you but are not in your face if you want privacy like some other all inclusive.This location is superb you don't need to eat out but if you fancy a change of scenery there's a restaurant five minutes walk away called Tides this is top notch will cost you about £130 for a 2 course meal with a really good bottle of wine.
If you have booked Mango Bay there's no need to worry the sun shines the foods good and the beers ice cold,so just do what the bajans do chill and relax.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea view unless you like a 360 excavator firing up at 8am outside your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pony2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have been back for one week now and I can honestly say that the staff at Mango Bay really made our holiday, Anthony and his brilliant team really do go out of their way to ensure that your holiday is as you would expect.

We were notified via email about the works on the beach but decided to stick with our choice due to the great reviews on tripadvisor. I am glad we did as everything about the hotel is just amazing. The location is very good for access to Holetown and Speightown, there are plenty of shops around outside for anything you need. The all inclusive activities, watersports, meals and drinks was a great bonus and a must if you want a relaxing carefree holiday.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to Brandons beach (Weisers) on a Mon, Wed and Fri to make up for the distruption caused on their own beach. Weisers is a really nice beach and I am sure you will love it too. Thursday 26th was our last day and after speaking to Anthony, he kindly arranged a free shuttle for that day too as the water on their own beach was not up to standards. Now that is what you call a great service. Free drinks and food are also provided at the other beach.

Breakfast was good, there is bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, omlettes, boiled eggs, poached eggs, fried eggs, baked beans, fruit and a few cold cuts everyday. A small rotation of hash browns, french toast, mushrooms, pancakes too. Also the usual fruit, breads, teas coffees, juices etc.

Lunch was varied and also very good. Dinner is usually a 3 course a la carte menu. Overall the food was very good and varied enough to keep everyday different.

It would be a little repetitive to write any more as all of the 5 star reviews have already said what is true.........MANGO BAY deserves to be number one. This is truly down to the staff and the service you receive.

My partner and I do not get much time together as we have a very hectic working life and we would like to thank everyone at Mango Bay for making our holiday a very relaxing and memorable one. Also a big hello to everyone we met there.

Mr and Mrs Lee

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyB_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We returned from our second stay at the mango bay 10 days ago. We knew about the beach works but felt that they wouldn't really bother us. They are out of the control of the hotel, but will benefit the whole area in time. The hotel go out of their way to make up for this. Transport is put on to another beautiful beach. The water ski boat is available there, along with canoes. Lovely barb q lunch and lots of ice cold drinks and snacks bought to you on the beach. The staff work extremely hard in very difficult circumstances, but although it is a bit different works well. There was an issue with sunbeds at the hotel beach one morning. However a quick visit to the reception and within 10 minutes we were given 4 beds and other people that wanted them were also accomodated. The pool and beach staff worked endlessly to try and make guests happy.
Anthony was around to talk over any issues you had and dealt with them accordingly.
We felt that all the staff were working in difficult conditions, especially when the beach was closed, yet they all pulled together, offering alternatives eg using a catamaran to take you along to the other beach rather than just the.minibus.
Rochelle still hasn't stopped smiling, what a lovely lady. The housekeeping staff were all very friendly.
Would I go back? Yes, without a doubt, and will look forward to the larger beach, the good food and drink and the excellent staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janee18e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at Mango Bay , I can truly say its one of the best holidays I've ever had !!
It baffles me to read some of the negative reports on trip adviser, We had nothing but first class service from Anthony and his wonderful team, they go all out to make you feel welcome and happy. Because its quite a small hotel you get to know lots of people from all walks of life which was lovely. Like others have said the beach work is necessary to stop the Island eroding into the sea, you cannot make an omelette without breaking eggs ! By December they will have a lovely beach , worth a return trip surely !
The shuttle buses they run to the other beach are great fun , the time just whizzes past.
The food in the restaurant is very tasty, varied and well presented.
As for the birds , well they're wildlife , there is an inside air-conditioned room where you can dine if you wish!
Just a couple of suggestions Anthony I think where you have the raised decking overlooking the sea would be a lovely place to put a few intimate tables in the evenings and possibly a couple more group evenings as they go down so well.
My advice to anyone thinking of a trip to Barbados , give Mango Bay a try, from the sunny smiles of people like Rochelle and Andre in the dining room , to Dennis with his yummy cocktails in the bar- Its a delight . Well done everyone!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I am still staying at mango bay whilst giving this review and believe that the comments below are not fair to the hotel.

Yes there are beach works going on, but you are advised by your tour operator of this, if not, change your tour operator. The beach was closed for 4 days, something that was dropped on the hotel the day before, so they arranged a fun day at weisers beach for everyone who wanted to go.

The staff here are the most pleasant I have come across always ready with a good morning and a smile. They work their socks off to ensure you have a great stay, the manager is always walking about and if you have a problem just have a word.

For the couple who only stayed 3 days, you told everyone this was because your baby was unable to nap due to the noise on the beach - why not ask for a different room not on the beach front!

For the couple who commented on the sewerage - actually this is the mango swamp next door to the hotel, again it is mentioned in all the holidays brochures. It was dug out in order to lay pipes so that any future flooding is taken out to sea, again down to the government not the hotel.

Also you complain about the sun beds not being available, you only had to ask and they would have provided more, but perhaps this was because you went out every morning, by which time those other guests at the hotel used them.

Instead of going home and writing these derogatory comments from your home, you should have voiced them to the manager or other staff who would have gone out of their way to correct it - but it is always easy to put things on line without having to face the people you are slating.

I have to say that we have once again had a fabulous holiday in this hotel, meeting great people and thanks to all the staff at mango bay for making our 2 weeks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dee1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I am still in Barbados whilst writing this review, we spent 3 nights there before being moved to another resort.
I would like to say that our experience at this hotel was poor mainly due to the beach being closed for 4 days and the on-going building works to the beach area which spoils the natural scenery. there is nothing the hotel can do about this as it is a government run scheme to improve/ protect the beach from erosion but we was not made aware by our travel company before traveling there.
the hotel are doing everything they can to accommodate guests by running daily trips to other beaches but this is not what we paid for (and not practical with a toddler) so we moved hotel
.here's our view on the hotel.(this is our 8th visit to the Caribbean) without letting the above beach works cloud my judgement
1. we upgraded to a beach front room which was dated but had everything you needed.
2. there were not enough sun loungers around the pool area but this was possibly because everyone was around the pool as the beach was closed.
3.The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating
4. as there is only 1 restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner this could get repetitive on a long stay
5. the food was good (not excellent)
6. the location is great having the limegrove shopping center, bars and restauraunts on your doorstep
7. the resort needs refurbishment it is looking tired
8. the hotel run complimentary trips eg swimming with turtles which is good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,723 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing