We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out - there's a theif about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Watch out - there's a theif about”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I've thought long and hard about what rating to give Mango Bay. On the one hand I could say this was a terrible experience as we ended up having stuff stolen whilst at the hotel but that's not a true reflection of the hotel itself, so I base this review on the hotel and not influenced by what happened to us there.
As with another recent reviewer, we too spent a long time researching hotels in Barbados, specially those who offered all inclusive and a great range of activities. All the search results kept coming back to Mango Bay.
Our initial thoughts were that the hotel is pretty average. rooms are basic (despite the fact we upgraded to a superior room), the towels, bath robes, bedding etc aren't of great quality and overall the complex looks like it needs a bit of a refresh.
Mango Bay is billed as a 4-star resort but I think a fairer reflection should be a 3-star. For comparison we recently stayed at a 4-star in Antigua which was streets ahead of Mango Bay in all respects. However, Mango Bay was significantly cheaper and it's priced at the 3-star level so we can't complain in relation to what we paid.
The restaurant is pleasant. right on the front with lovely views and the sound of the sea. The food was on the whole quite good - a choice of two different meats and a fish every night. The desserts where a bit disappointing though, mainly just defrosted gateaux or chemical based mousses and the like. On the plus side all the serving staff at the bar and restaurant were really fantastic, smiles on faces, nothing too much trouble for them to help you. A real asset to Mango Bay.
We knew about the beach works beforehand and whilst we were there the actual works didn't bother us. a couple of diggers moving rocks etc, nothing too intrusive. People should be aware however that the beach works are being done for a reason - there is no beach at Mango Bay! We looked on Google earth before we booked and thought the beach looked small but ok. That image is very out-of-date. The "beach" outside Mango Bay is about 2-3 meters deep, the waves will stretch underneath your sun lounger if your up against the back wall!! Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel. This is due to natural erosion, which the government in Barbados are trying to correct with the beach works and once it's done I have no doubt the beach will be amazing outside Mango Bay.
The beach works did however have a disappointing knock-on effect on our holiday. One of the main reasons to pick Mango Bay for us were the all inclusive water sports but there were none! This was the most annoying/frustrating part of the week. When we checked in, reception spent time explaining all the water sports included and said to book them with the water sports people beside the hotel. On the first day I asked if we could take out the hobbie cat but was told the sea was too rough. Ok, fair enough. The next day I asked again but was then told that the mangrove swamp next to the hotel was discharging into the sea right outside Mango Bay (another thing the government are trying to correct) and therefore the water wasn't suitable to let guests in. Ok, slightly annoying but ok. The next day I asked yet again to be told that there are too many rocks in the way and it's not safe. At this point we were really annoyed and spoke to reception, who seemed to have no idea about the water sports. Basically it transpired that all water sports were cancelled due to the beach works. At no point were we told this! Why had reception not told us?
The boat used for water skiing was also broken during our week there. Again, we had to keep asking each day and were never notified by reception of this.
On the plus side, the couple of included trips we took on the boats were the highlights of the week. Really great fun and snorkelling with the turtles was amazing.
Also, the hotel ran shuttle buses to a great beach further down the coast. That was a real highlight. the staff there,


Now, I have to mention the unfortunate incident that befell us. Whilst relaxing on the decking on the beach front we left our beach bag with camera and e-reader inside when we went to the bar. we got drinks then collecting our bag and went back to our room when we notice that the camera and e-reader had been taken. We notified reception right away who said they would call the police. They didn't until the following morning and although the police officer came it was far too late for anything to be done. Did the hotel make checks with the staff to see if anyone saw anything? I don't think so. Did they seem concerned this had happened on their premises? I didn't feel like it. Did the manager come and speak to us to let us know what action the hotel had taken? No. The first the manager knew about it was when I emailed him after we got home to enquire if the police had produced the report yet (oh, by the way, the police in Barbados are truly awful! it took them a week to write the report for our insurance company, by which time we'd left the island and were back home).
It was an unfortunate incident, which did overshadow our holiday but overall our experience of Mango Bay was not made any worse by it.
In summary, Mango Bay is a 3-star hotel with poor reception staff who don't seem to know what's happening within their own hotel. The restaurant food is ok but the staff there are fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nottles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    401
    129
    48
    28
See reviews for
296
921
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed here for 10 days and it was perfect. The location, staff, food & drinks and rooms were amazing. The hotel is quite small so has a feel of exclusivity about it and the service added to this as well. Would go back in a second

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Mango Bay for two weeks in September, and 10 days after getting back the memories and the great feeling are still fresh in my mind!

Anthony and his incredible staff have an amazing hotel which they should truly be proud of! We couldn't fault anything! The hotel is just the right size, the food is to die for - I won't say how much weight we put on, the staff are second to none. Thank you Peter, Rochelle, Maureen, Andre and everyone else for making our stay so great!

So, down to details. The rooms are a great size - we upgraded and it was worth it for our poolside rooms. The open air dining room has gorgeous views over the beach and the local wildlife (mongoose and birds) add to the overall island atmosphere! Great food - not one repetitive meal in a two week stay, and if you don't want what's on the menu, they will accommodate you.

Great bar service; one of the few all inclusives we've been to where there is sometimes too much alcohol in the drinks, not too little! Starting the day with strawberry daiquiris is a great way to go! Peter by the pool couldn't have been nicer and more helpful if he tried! A steady service of drinks, cold towels and sorbets ensured an amazing poolside experience. The only disappointment was that we couldn't take Peter home with us!

The beach works at the hotel will be well worth it when they are finished, and yes, we were aware of the works before we went on holiday. If you weren't, then I suggest you change your travel company. The minimal disruption caused by the works was offset by the management and staffs determination to make the alternative arrangements as great as possible. Trips on the catamaran to Brandon's beach, with full bar and food, sun loungers and entertainment more than made up for the beach works.

So all in all, thank you Anthony and staff for an amazing hotel, and a fantastic holiday! We will be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wildechilde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just had a wonderful week at Mango Bay. This is easily the best all inclusive we have ever stayed at. The staff are so lovely, accommodating and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean and look out to the sea. Cocktails are delicious with an extensive range. The food is really tasty-with lunches and dinners served a la carte which Is a bonus for an all inclusive. The fish was cooked beautifully. Ice cream milkshakes are delicious. Loved the open air sheltered restaurant which also looks out onto the sea. At night they light candles which creates a romantic ambience. There are beach works going on at mango bay but the staff were wonderful in ensuring as little inconvenience as possible was caused - they put on a free shuttle bus on the Friday, Monday, Wednesday and Thursday that we were there to another quiet beach. This was totally worth it, they take you to the beautiful huge Brandon's Beach on the west coast, with gorgeous clear turquoise water. There Mango Bay staff look after you exceptionally well. Big thanks goes out to Jamar and Andre. We had so much fun on the beach, relaxing on sun loungers, snorkeling (we saw a turtle, and a ray), and a hot lunch is served. Drinks were brought to us on the beach, you couldn't beat lying on the beach sipping on a rum punch! We also played cricket on the beach which was good fun. There is so much included in the very reasonable price for mango bay, such as a glass bottom boat trip and a snorkeling with turtles trip. It was so nice chilling in the sun on the boat listening to reggae and again, sipping on a rum punch. Was lovely chilling on the hotel decking watching the west coast sunset. Holetown itself is a lovely area, full of high-end shops and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel, it is excellent value for money, and an all-round winner. Service is second to none, huge well done to Anthony and the team.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side and on Sunday night we heard the karaoke from the bar across the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonTraveldelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Can't say anything bad about this hotel, yes there's a lot of work going on not only on the beach but also a lot of the rooms as we'll painting cleaning etc .A lot of people say how nice the staff is this is true but I don't want to name individuals as they are all superb.The gardens and pool area are well maintained by the rasta man he really is got them looking well.The people you meet here at the hotel are all willing to have a chat with you but are not in your face if you want privacy like some other all inclusive.This location is superb you don't need to eat out but if you fancy a change of scenery there's a restaurant five minutes walk away called Tides this is top notch will cost you about £130 for a 2 course meal with a really good bottle of wine.
If you have booked Mango Bay there's no need to worry the sun shines the foods good and the beers ice cold,so just do what the bajans do chill and relax.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea view unless you like a 360 excavator firing up at 8am outside your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pony2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have been back for one week now and I can honestly say that the staff at Mango Bay really made our holiday, Anthony and his brilliant team really do go out of their way to ensure that your holiday is as you would expect.

We were notified via email about the works on the beach but decided to stick with our choice due to the great reviews on tripadvisor. I am glad we did as everything about the hotel is just amazing. The location is very good for access to Holetown and Speightown, there are plenty of shops around outside for anything you need. The all inclusive activities, watersports, meals and drinks was a great bonus and a must if you want a relaxing carefree holiday.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to Brandons beach (Weisers) on a Mon, Wed and Fri to make up for the distruption caused on their own beach. Weisers is a really nice beach and I am sure you will love it too. Thursday 26th was our last day and after speaking to Anthony, he kindly arranged a free shuttle for that day too as the water on their own beach was not up to standards. Now that is what you call a great service. Free drinks and food are also provided at the other beach.

Breakfast was good, there is bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, omlettes, boiled eggs, poached eggs, fried eggs, baked beans, fruit and a few cold cuts everyday. A small rotation of hash browns, french toast, mushrooms, pancakes too. Also the usual fruit, breads, teas coffees, juices etc.

Lunch was varied and also very good. Dinner is usually a 3 course a la carte menu. Overall the food was very good and varied enough to keep everyday different.

It would be a little repetitive to write any more as all of the 5 star reviews have already said what is true.........MANGO BAY deserves to be number one. This is truly down to the staff and the service you receive.

My partner and I do not get much time together as we have a very hectic working life and we would like to thank everyone at Mango Bay for making our holiday a very relaxing and memorable one. Also a big hello to everyone we met there.

Mr and Mrs Lee

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyB_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We returned from our second stay at the mango bay 10 days ago. We knew about the beach works but felt that they wouldn't really bother us. They are out of the control of the hotel, but will benefit the whole area in time. The hotel go out of their way to make up for this. Transport is put on to another beautiful beach. The water ski boat is available there, along with canoes. Lovely barb q lunch and lots of ice cold drinks and snacks bought to you on the beach. The staff work extremely hard in very difficult circumstances, but although it is a bit different works well. There was an issue with sunbeds at the hotel beach one morning. However a quick visit to the reception and within 10 minutes we were given 4 beds and other people that wanted them were also accomodated. The pool and beach staff worked endlessly to try and make guests happy.
Anthony was around to talk over any issues you had and dealt with them accordingly.
We felt that all the staff were working in difficult conditions, especially when the beach was closed, yet they all pulled together, offering alternatives eg using a catamaran to take you along to the other beach rather than just the.minibus.
Rochelle still hasn't stopped smiling, what a lovely lady. The housekeeping staff were all very friendly.
Would I go back? Yes, without a doubt, and will look forward to the larger beach, the good food and drink and the excellent staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janee18e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing