We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit to Mango Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3rd visit to Mango Bay”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The clue is in the title; my wife and I returned to Mango Bay in March 2014 for our 3rd stay, after a break of about 6 years. It is wonderful to stay all-inclusive without those intrusive wrist bands. The staff quickly learn your face, and often your name too. Food was great as ever; Dennis, Maureen and the other bar staff ask you what drink you like and then turn it into a bespoke cocktail. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary catamaran and glass bottom boat trips, and beach & pool staff brave enough to let my wife handle the hobbycat. Never had trouble getting a lounger, which are comfortable!The owner, Peter, put in a couple of appearances and was happy to chat. We would not want to stay anywhere else in Barbados.

Room Tip: Ocean and bar view rooms avoid street noise that can continue quite late at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Phil S,

Greetings from all at Mango Bay! and thank you for your lovely review about your 3rd stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday experience and pleased that a couple names have stayed with you, Dennis and Maureen are thrilled that they were mentioned. I am truly happy you appreciated all that Mango Bay has to offer and that you "would not want to stay anywhere else in Barbados".

We look forward to welcoming you back for a 4th time for another fabulous Mango Bay experience!

Kind Regards,
Anthony Johnson,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    406
    129
    48
    29
See reviews for
301
927
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We are 4 friends who have just returned from Mango Bay,(9th-16th March). What a wonderful relaxing time we've had. this was our first time at the hotel. We have stayed in Barbados before and love it.We have eaten in some of the Islands best restaurants, Cliffs, Lone Star, Fish Pot. With Mango Bay's restaurant being right next to the beach We didn't feel like we were missing out.The hotel food is excellent, like eating out every night....
They did some special touches like welcome rum punch on arrival, going round the pool giving cold face cloths to cool off, chocolates on your pillow every evening, brushing sand off your sun bed on the beach.
The hotel location is great, right on a lovely sandy beach. If you can drag yourself away, its just a short walk to Limegrove for all you designer fans, and The Chattel Village, with some nice little shops & cafe bars.
Every thing about the hotel was fabulous.....The location, staff, food, drinks, pool, sunsets.
We stayed in a standard room, which was lovely, big and clean, we only slept in it, and spent about an hour a day to change for the evening .It can be a bit noisy on Sunday night when the locals have a street party, (but we joined in).
A special mention to Peter and Denis the bar men, who kept our wives in cocktails, if we went for a walk. Sandy who sailed the little Hobie Wave, the restaurant staff. All the staff were great to many to mention.
The complimentary catamaran trip and glass bottom boat was very good, we swam with turtles.
We meet some nice people during our stay, and a couple got married while we were there, which was lovely. Everyone wished them well, and it seemed to be well organised.
Mango Bay has lots of returning guest,and now I no why. We hope to be returning soon.
Thanks to all at Mango Bay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear johnlowe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely detailed review about your stay with us!

We are delighted that you had a wonderful relaxing holiday, and that you enjoyed the stellar service you received from out team, as well as our famous rum punch and the many activities and amenities Mango Bay has to offer. You truly experienced what our repeat guests return for year after year!

We look forward to your return visit as it would be our pleasure to provide another fabulous Mango Bay experience!

Warm Regards,
Anthony Johnson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived and felt slightly disappointed at the hotel as it seems very run down and in need of some tender loving care, namely a paintbrush! The rooms are tired and well worn, and could have been cleaner, and the whole of the exterior areas of the hotel could have done with a good sweep.
The food was simple and limited, and the lunch options always seemed better than the dinner menu. Arriving a little later on the first day, the restaurant seemed to have run out of most things.

A plus point was that you do not have to wear the standard all inclusive armbands.

The staff seemed disinterested and vague, apart from lovely Peter in the bar, who went out of his way to make people feel welcome.

Not a bad budget hotel I suppose, but not what we expected at all.

Room Tip: request a pool/beach view room as some rooms at the front could be noisy from the bars in the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your disappointment with your visit.

Unfortunately, during your stay, we apparently fell short of our goals and your expectations. For this I apologize. Every guest’s experience is important to us as we strive for the finest in service and facilities.

Special thanks from Peter, he is happy to be mentioned as being lovely and welcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back, for you to experience the changes we have made.

Regards,
Anthony Johnson,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Mum and I had a weeks all inclusive break her in April 2013 to celebrate our Birthdays.(I have only just written a review as my Mum did one back in 2013!) The hotel is amazing and boutique so it feels very private. We had a an ocean view room with balcony and a hammock and sitting here at the end of the day watching the sunsets was heavenly. Food is great and I'm a vegetarian but there is always a choice. The staff are wonderful and attend to your every needs, a special mention to Hermione and Peter who always knew just when to ask if you needed a drink!! I tried the jet ski-ing for £30 from one of the guys on the beach and we went on the glass boat and catamaran trips..my Mum turned 79 and these were no problem for her. I don't normally like to visit a place twice but I would come back to this hotel.We booked with Kuoni who as always are excellent and recommended the hotel to us. The beach is small but there are plenty of areas to sunbathe around the gardens and the pool and we always found room on the beach so it was never a problem. Do not hesitate to book.

Room Tip: Ocean view abit more expensive but worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Mango Bay Hotel from 21st Feb until 7th March and had a wonderful time. Everything about the holiday was fabulous. The food was varied and delicious (I put 8lb on over the two weeks). All the staff are efficient and courteous. The room clean, pleasant and the bed was so comfortable. The location is great, directly on a beautiful sandy beach and a short walk to lovely shops and bars. The hotel even offers a complimentary catamaran trip which was very enjoyable. We met some lovely people during our stay which added to the whole experience. Thank you Mr Johnson and all the managers and staff, we will certainly be returning to Mango Bay.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the noise from the local bars it may be advisable to upgrade from the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rlellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our second week in the carrabean..after a 1 week cruise we stayed at The Mango Bay hotel. What a find. This was one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in. Only a small hotel with 76 bedrooms situated right on the beach listening to the sea gently touching the shore. The service was to a very high standard in most of the hotel the best of which was Peter who sauntered up to your sunbed offering a bar service any time of the day. The food was amazing, it was like going out to dinner every night. Excellent!!!!! There is one problem however, if you book a standard room you will be subject to very loud music several nights a week which really spoils your stay. The hotel states there may be some noise, but honestly it's a right old racket. Sort this out Mango Bay it's spoiling your hotel.......

Room Tip: Do not book a garden standard room you will not sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Mango Bay Hotel. We found it to be one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The staff were wonderful, courteous and helpful. Our room was on the ground floor, overlooking the sea. (my husband has walking difficulties, and the situation of the room was ideal!)
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and Peter (the Barman) was excellent! The position of the Hotel is ideal for walks into Holetown ect.
Because the Hotel is small, all the guests very quickly got to know each other, which made it for us, as we feel that large Hotels can be quite inpersonnel.
We will return to Mango Bay as soon as our commitments allow, and will recommend it to all our friends.

Janice & Gordon Winspear

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties, rooms 111,112,113,and 114 are ideal, as they are close to all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,722 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing