We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly terrible”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

It has really been brought home to us that personal standards inevitably vary - of course they do.

This hotel was accompanied by the words in the brochure - 'Enjoy new levels of excellence at this completely renovoted resort which offers great value for money too'

I guess it depends how you judge levels of excellence doesn't it and of course what you are prepared / able to pay for a hotel. I also think that it has taught us quite a bit about perhaps the average standards of tripadvisor users and we will take more care in future in realising this. This certainly was no where near the standard that we are used to - and we acknowledge that we made a mistake in booking something that we thought might be ok only to find that it is best never to trust someone elses view on what might be suitable standards for you but to do all possible research that you can to ensure that you won't be disappointed. This probably means taking recommendations from friends that know you well rather than travel agents or trip advisor where subjectivity inevitably comes into play. For us I think looking at an organisation such as SLH (small luxury hotels) might be a more objective way of making a decision.

We found this hotel to be dirty, cramped, dirty (did I already mention that), next to a smelly swamp which was right outside our oceanfront room.

We were shown round the hotel on our way from reception to our bedroom and knew that we would not be staying at the hotel.

Suffice to say we moved hotel to the Sandpiper along the road and had a marvellous holiday. Just as well because there was absolutely no way that we would have stayed at the hotel - it was move or fly home - the choice was a straightforward as that - in the end the choice is about your personal standards and this wasn't for us.

I would however wish to acknowledge the kindness of the female manager in understanding our reasons for wanting to move and Jonathan Lynch our rep who was outstanding in recommending a hotel which was more suitable for us.

  • Liked — Nothing at all
  • Disliked — Where on earth to start - the foul swamp, the dirty old sunbeds, the cramptness, the ugly tree outside our oceanfront room, the look of the food (truly gross) the tatoos everywhere......
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank bestthingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    407
    129
    48
    29
See reviews for
301
928
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed at Mango Bay for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. It was out third time to Barbados and we normally go self catering. As it was our honeymoon we decided to go all inclusive so someone else could do all the cooking! What made our stay so lovely was the staff, we were so well looked after. The staff were very attentive, cheeful and polite but not over the top. The Manager also took time out to speak to guests and welcome them to the hotel which was another nice touch. The food was lovely, we didn't have a bad meal in the whole two weeks we were there, and the menu varies every day, the portion sizes aren't huge, but we were glad of that, as were eating a lot each day with Breakfast, 2 course lunch, Afternoon tea and 3 course dinners! In terms of location, Mango Bay is perfect, right in the centre of Holetown and right on the beach. Ignore other people's comments about the beach being small (it isn't) and about the 'swamp' at the side of the hotel (it's not a swamp, just a little river). You're too busy enjoying the gorgeous sunsets and clear blue sea to notice it anyway. This being our first time going all inclusive we weren't sure what to expect from the evening entertainment but we really enjoyed it. It was lovely to sample some of the local music and also to support local acts. We would recommend you ask for an Ocean front room as this is by far the best view and it's so relaxing going to sleep to the sound of the waves each night. Barbados is a fantastic island and Mango Bay is the ideal place to enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SJCYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

I had the most fabulous time. This was the third time that I have been to MB and it just gets better and better. The staff are so friendly and helpful making sure that our every comfort was looked after. Despite there being many quality restaurants in the area there was no need to find them as the food in MB was excellent.
On arrival we were greeted with rum punch and shown to a very clean and comfortable room. The staff are constantly working to keep all areas clean and tidy. Th beach is superb and MB have a lovely decked area for sunbathing looking out to sea and the beautiful views. Being of fairer skin I would have liked some bigger parasoles offering better shade.
The evening entertaiment was fun and varied catering for most tastes and we had some good laughs with the guests, some we had met before and some new comers. The catarmaran trips are brilliant and a must when visiting MB.
I cannot imagine staying anywhere else and will be returning next year.

  • Liked — The wonderful way we were treated by the staff
  • Disliked — I would like to more available electric sockets near the mirror in the bedroom for hairdryers and straighteners
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

I have just returned from my 8th visit to Barbados and 3rd stay at Mango Bay. Yet again, my vacation was a relaxing and memorable one and this was mainly due to the people and facilities at Mango Bay. I met many repeat guests from the last 2 years as well as a large proportion of the staff - that says something in itself! The staff are warm, friendly and helpful and will provide you with any information you need to know about the island, culture etc. My philosophy is treat people how you like to be treated yourself - the staff love to interact with the guests - it's the Bajan way! The food is excellent and there is a great choice of menu (the head chef is a great singer too!). If you have any specific requests just ask and they will endeavour to provide what you need. The management team are very visible and always keen to get guest feedback - I have seen changes being made as a result of comments - a sign of how a great business should be run! The rooms are clean and have everything you need. The island has experienced an increase in rainfall over the past 12 months, which has meant that the properties are needing more regular maintenance to control moisture build up. The staff at this hotel are relentless at endeavouring to keep the premises clean and this is seen daily. Although we had a few showers the temperature always remains warm and we came back with a great tan! We are already planning our trip back to Barbados and we will definitely be staying at Mango Bay!

  • Liked — The bar and restaurant
  • Disliked — The umbrellas on the beach were a little 'tired' (but still worked!)
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank angela22Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We stayed at MB for 5 nights at the end of January 09. We arrived on the island around 2pm and were greeted by Bajan Car Rentals holding a sign with our name on it. He took us to our car waiting in the airports parking lot, filled out some paperwork and on our way. BCR even went the extra mile and let us follow him to a store that we questioned about so we wouldn't get lost on our way to the hotel. We would use them again only this time we would rent the mini moke and have it delivered and picked up right at the hotel and use the transfer service that was included with our trip. We only used the car 2 out of the 5 days we were there.

Arriving at the hotel: We were greeted and given rum punch which was quite good. We were very happy that we booked an ocean front room and were given room 311, which we loved... Our view was GREAT!! The bed very comfortable and shower was hot with good pressure. Our balcony was quite large and had a view of the nightly entertainment. We enjoyed listening from our balcony. Entertainment was ok, not the best but that was ok.

The Beach is narrow and you do have to wake by 7 to claim a lounge chair on the beach. This happens most places and how can the hotel stop it?? They can't. We ate breakfast most mornings by 8am. Unfortunately you do have to make your lunch and dinner reservations at breakfast. This we did not like. But there were some days we would show up at different times and they will still take you. After breakfast we would walk the beach which was my favorite part of the day. We would walk for miles either way. Sometimes you would have to walk around some rocky areas but very manageable.

There is a grocery store attached to the mall with some more shops within walking distance. We went to Raggamuffins on a Sunday night and had a great time. Lexy's Piano bar is also a great time.

Our excursions included the Catamaran trip snorkeling with the turtles (A GREAT TRIP), the glass bottom boat, water skiing. All three of these things were included with your room rate and we definately recommend. The glass bottom boat didn't have much to see but husband and I sat on top deck and enjoyed the boat ride.

Wildlife reserve: Highly recommend. They feed the monkeys at 2pm and that was really neat.
We drove to the east coast thru cattlewash and Bethsheba making some stops along the way. We enjoyed a cold banks at the round house. It really is a beautiful island.
We stopped in at the rum factory but didn't do the tour. We just went into the gift shop and did the tasting. DO This. The two gentleman giving the tasting were great.

Navigating around the island isn't the easiest but they do have pretty good maps. We always got confused around bridgetown.

I recommend this hotel for Older couples as most are above 60 and either from Canada or the UK. Everyone is so nice and we met some really nice people.

Also, if your a beer drinker, they only have banks on tap and they serve it in a 10oz cup. Bring your own mug or get some 16oz cups from the grocery store. They also serve stag in the bottle which the bartenders would let us take some for our room.

We have been to Aruba, St. John (US Virgin Island), St. Maarten/St. Martin, Bahamas, Puerto Rico, Puerto Vallarta, Mayan Riviera & Cancun Mexico and now believe Barbados is one of our favorites. We will be returning.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Having to make dinner & Lunch reservations at breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank darlsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We've just returned from Barbados and am so glad we weren't convinced by the positive reports of Mango Bay on this site. We were staying in another hotel.

We went to visit as it is in the heart of Holetown and were really surprised by how cramped, tatty, badly kept and dirty the public areas are. It was so noisy too. No peace for anyone trying to relax on the few rusty and grubby sunloungers- all of which seem to be mismatched as though they had been picked up cheaply.

It may be very good value for money and the food may be excellent but just looking at the crowded, noisy and scruffy pool beach and dining areas was enough to convince us that we wouldn't touch it with a barge pole!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
5 Thank GillBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

Firstly we know this review is long overdue!

Mango Bay is an excellent all inclusive Hotel and ensures a very relaxing holiday. We went in August 2008 and stayed in a top floor Deluxe Room, a very spacious, clean and well presented room, which also gave us a sea view as we requested. The staff and service were wonderful, therefore making our stay so special. They really did go out of their way to make us welcome. Plenty of choice of food, beautifully presented and delicious. Our wine glassses were continually kept full! We looked forward to our dining experience everyday. A special mention to Samantha (thank you for keeping in touch), lovely cuddly Paulette and the ever smiling Rimell and of course Tony with his lovely range of Jewellery, and everyone else who made our holiday one to always remember. We had a wonderful 2 weeks meeting new friends Tina & Jamie from Reigate and Lisa & Ralph from Connecticut - the nights at the Piano Bar will never be forgotten!

Thanks again to all the Management and Staff at Mango Bay. We would love to return one day.

Rob & Sally

  • Liked — The room and the food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,726 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing