We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another positive review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We had previously looked around Mango Bay during another stay in Barbados so knew a bit about the hotel before we booked.

It is a good three star hotel and it doesn't pretend to be a five star or charge five star prices. All the public areas were very clean and the pool was spotless. We could always get a sun bed but the ones on the beach often were taken early in the morning. We booked a Superior Pool View room to avoid some of the noise that the standard rooms can experience from the nearby bars. It had good air con, ceiling fan and the bathroom was very nice with a full range of toiletries.

Some people have said the portion sizes in the restaurant are small but I didn't find this and often had to miss out a course at dinner. The menus were varied with good choice. Service in the restaurant was generally good but could be a bit haphazard at breakfast, when I think that the staff were sometimes a bit overstretched. All the staff without exception were friendly and helpful. The manageress deserves a special mention as one of the friendliest and accessible I have ever come across.

The only negative was that for the first time I got some mosquito bites. Not the hotels fault as we were a bit complacent about using repellent for the first couple of days.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank bread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
There are newer reviews for Mango Bay All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2009

Our first visit to the Caribbean and our choice of Hotel was throughly researched via Tripadvisor and proved spot on.
Its hard to believe a couple of the recent negative reports one of which describes the place as smelly and refers to a dislike of one of the trees !!! and another which criticises ' the look of the food ' , I ask did these people really stay here ?
Mango Bay is small , intimate and unique , you grow into it by the day , the quality and friendliness of the staff is unrivalled , the food is plentiful and excellent , the drinks are great and the wine very good with never an empty glass at dinner where service is excellent.
The Hotel has a vibrant young Manageress who is continually improving the facilities and keen to act on feedback backed up by excellent staff.
The only downside is the proximity of standard rooms to the bars in the street , which are actually superb , if you dont want weekend noise dont book a standard room , there is on site entertainment which winds down around 11.00pm and was quite low key , the restaurant pianist on Sunday lunchtimes was superb.
The surruonding areas are great fun and you can walk safely in the streets , we even joined the Kareoake and were made very welcome by lovely locals.
Try the Bridegetown and Catamaran trips which are included and just enjoy the experience.
One last thing , my wife is the pickiest eater you will find and takes time to relax on holiday , not the case here , the food is excellent and you chill out on your first evening as the place lights up for dinner.Also when looking at reviews , go with the majority view , 8 excellent and two negative speaks for itself.
Thanks to all the staff at Mango Bay ,, long may you prosper , we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Staffordshire Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

just spent a week at the Mango Bay after reading recent reviews on Tripadvisor, and was not disappointed. All-inclusive was great value for money the food was excellent and the staff very friendly and hard working.The only downside was at the weekends when the noise from the bars could get get a bit much.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone bar young,free and single.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jimmyfint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

What a holiday, from the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel welcome. Certainly the friendliest place we have ever stayed at. The staff go out of their way to please you, the food is excellent and always served to you by a waiter/waitress with a smile. The rooms spacious and clean. Beautiful sandy beaches. When the weather is hot just try their lovely fruit punches to cool down. A well stocked bar if you want something else! Nightly entertainment was very good to. Could not fault this hotel, will definitely go back.

If you do venture out why not try the yellow bus, The Reggae Bus, gets you from a to b very quickly with it blasting out the music, its an experience not to be missed. Great fun.

Definitely a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Wrightones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

It has really been brought home to us that personal standards inevitably vary - of course they do.

This hotel was accompanied by the words in the brochure - 'Enjoy new levels of excellence at this completely renovoted resort which offers great value for money too'

I guess it depends how you judge levels of excellence doesn't it and of course what you are prepared / able to pay for a hotel. I also think that it has taught us quite a bit about perhaps the average standards of tripadvisor users and we will take more care in future in realising this. This certainly was no where near the standard that we are used to - and we acknowledge that we made a mistake in booking something that we thought might be ok only to find that it is best never to trust someone elses view on what might be suitable standards for you but to do all possible research that you can to ensure that you won't be disappointed. This probably means taking recommendations from friends that know you well rather than travel agents or trip advisor where subjectivity inevitably comes into play. For us I think looking at an organisation such as SLH (small luxury hotels) might be a more objective way of making a decision.

We found this hotel to be dirty, cramped, dirty (did I already mention that), next to a smelly swamp which was right outside our oceanfront room.

We were shown round the hotel on our way from reception to our bedroom and knew that we would not be staying at the hotel.

Suffice to say we moved hotel to the Sandpiper along the road and had a marvellous holiday. Just as well because there was absolutely no way that we would have stayed at the hotel - it was move or fly home - the choice was a straightforward as that - in the end the choice is about your personal standards and this wasn't for us.

I would however wish to acknowledge the kindness of the female manager in understanding our reasons for wanting to move and Jonathan Lynch our rep who was outstanding in recommending a hotel which was more suitable for us.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank bestthingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We stayed at Mango Bay for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. It was out third time to Barbados and we normally go self catering. As it was our honeymoon we decided to go all inclusive so someone else could do all the cooking! What made our stay so lovely was the staff, we were so well looked after. The staff were very attentive, cheeful and polite but not over the top. The Manager also took time out to speak to guests and welcome them to the hotel which was another nice touch. The food was lovely, we didn't have a bad meal in the whole two weeks we were there, and the menu varies every day, the portion sizes aren't huge, but we were glad of that, as were eating a lot each day with Breakfast, 2 course lunch, Afternoon tea and 3 course dinners! In terms of location, Mango Bay is perfect, right in the centre of Holetown and right on the beach. Ignore other people's comments about the beach being small (it isn't) and about the 'swamp' at the side of the hotel (it's not a swamp, just a little river). You're too busy enjoying the gorgeous sunsets and clear blue sea to notice it anyway. This being our first time going all inclusive we weren't sure what to expect from the evening entertainment but we really enjoyed it. It was lovely to sample some of the local music and also to support local acts. We would recommend you ask for an Ocean front room as this is by far the best view and it's so relaxing going to sleep to the sound of the waves each night. Barbados is a fantastic island and Mango Bay is the ideal place to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SJCYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

I had the most fabulous time. This was the third time that I have been to MB and it just gets better and better. The staff are so friendly and helpful making sure that our every comfort was looked after. Despite there being many quality restaurants in the area there was no need to find them as the food in MB was excellent.
On arrival we were greeted with rum punch and shown to a very clean and comfortable room. The staff are constantly working to keep all areas clean and tidy. Th beach is superb and MB have a lovely decked area for sunbathing looking out to sea and the beautiful views. Being of fairer skin I would have liked some bigger parasoles offering better shade.
The evening entertaiment was fun and varied catering for most tastes and we had some good laughs with the guests, some we had met before and some new comers. The catarmaran trips are brilliant and a must when visiting MB.
I cannot imagine staying anywhere else and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DebbieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,557 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,823 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: £246 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing