We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time lucky! We'll be back.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Second time lucky! We'll be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

My wife, our 2-year old son and I stayed at Mango Bay for 2 weeks this March 2009 and had once again a fantastic holiday thanks to the fabulous staff. This is the second consecutive year we come to this all inclusive 3 star hotel on beautiful Barbados and will surely be back again like many returning guests.

We stayed on the ground floor of the standard rooms building in room 419 (last year 420, same floor) which offers significantly more living space than the rooms on the upper floors of the block. There was room for a king size bed, a single bed and a 3-seat sofa and still ample floor space for our son to run around and play. The 3 bigger standard bedrooms on the ground floor also offer appreciable shelter from the noisy back street pubs and clubs. The hotel is comfortable without been too pretencious and its facilities are good (apart from the poor satellite TV reception-instead walk to the beach pub nearby showing all the big rugby/footy games).

The beach is a hit or a miss depending on the sea condition at the time. The hotel seems to be very concerned about the safety of its guests and will put the red flag up on the beach to advise them if the sea is rough (trust them even if there is no warning at the hotel next door, they know the West Coast and liaise daily with the local weather center). There seems to be less sand in the bay than in the past, before they build the marina further north. Snorkeling at nearby Folkestone national park is affected (water visibility) but still worth the 10 minutes walk on the good days. The beach there is also better for kids to play (safer than the one at the hotel, shallower, supervised).

The hotel swimming pool is nice, with a 2.5 feet shallow end where our son spent 50% of his stay. It is cleaned frequently. It is not so big (enough to do a few lengths) but never seems crowded.

Mango Bay hotel is in Holetown, very well located for shopping and also to start exploring the island without being caught into too much traffic if you rent a car. We went north-east to the Scotland district via Cherry Tree hill (good viewpoint), down to Bathsheba, to the Flower Forest, the Ocean Park (fun splash zone for kids-bring a towel and a swimming costume) and Harrison's Caves (all worth the visit). With the swamp right next to the hotel (some people don't like it), you have a chance to see a bit of the local wildlife at your doorstep: egrets, herons, crabs, green monkeys, mangouses, bats, many birds and fish... There are many hotel activities and organised tours to the local events (cricket, racing, polo, Oistin fish fest, music...).

What makes this place so special and attractive is the excellent quality of its food and the genuine friendliness and professionalism of all its staff. The food is a nice mix of barbadian and western food, of buffets and a-la-carte (the fish choice is always excellent). The hotel operates a 2-week rota of their menu which garantees enough variety. The staff can't do enough to help you. The fact many members of staff have been employed at Mango for many years is a testimony that they really appreciate working there. The staff can be very proud of their hotel and the fact that many like us are returning again and again!

Finally we went to visit Almond Beach Village while we were passing because it was an option in the same price range we had considered for our son and were really disappointed by the place. Although it does cater more for families and kids, it does not suffer the comparison with Mango Bay: much bigger hotel, impersonal, horrible tower buildings, dirty, run-down, looking crowded (even when only at 60% capacity!), small room...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nicandjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    391
    129
    47
    28
See reviews for
289
896
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

I have just got back from a one week stay. We had an ocean front room which was really nice and kept very clean with a nightly turn down service.
The beach was great, I think it really depends on the weather as to how much beach and what condition it is in. You could walk up the beach for over an hour past all the houses and hotels. When we first arrived it had been raining and there was alot of coral in the water but as the week went on it slowly cleared up.
The bar staff here were really good, they were funny and made great cocktails, even when the bar was really busy they kept it running very smoothly.
Breakfast and lunch here are good, the dinner is ala carte but its safe to say its all made at the beginning of the evening and kept warm on hot plates until served... so dont ask for your lamb cutlets served pink, the option is only well done.
Just outside the hotel entrance is the main street for Holetown, on Friday-Sunday night it is very busy with a mix of locals and tourists, I was amazed at how firendly everyone was. The music goes on until 2-3am. We also went to Ostins fish market which again is for locals and tourists, I would really recommend the trip.
The hotel has alot of return guests and after a week you can really see why, it is a great value place. We ate out 4 times in the evening, but it was still alot cheaper to stay here and do that then pay for all the meals and drinks at another hotel. An average meal at a local restaurant in Holetown without wine is about £100 for 2 courses. We had lunch at Tides and dinner at Mews, Spago and the Indian.
As an overall the hotel is not at a standard like a LHW, but the guests, staff and plenty of drinks makes it a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mackay-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

beach - had been quite high tides so not much beach but the young beach attendants usually their best (unlike their supervisor who did nothing!) to get you sorted. The conditions had also left the sea very difficult to get in and out.
food - overall quite good but did vary, (sometimes came only warm) good variation and decent quality. Did expect to see more fish (or variety) on the menu. Not 5* though they did try. Breakfast basic but had all you needed. Lunch was good as it gave a choice of salads or toasted sandwiches. Portions small but when you are eating 3/4 times a day it is more than enough.
Wine was good and was always topped up (Again dependant who was serving)
staff - usually very friendly and laid back - though housekeeping was a bit sour.
rooms - tried to get a ocean front as i had read previous reviews about the noise but as we booked late was only able to get an apartment (same price as ocean front) which is in a seperate o with privately owned and rented apartments. This did feel a bit strange and we felt a bit cut off.
Entertainment - this is good but sometimes a bit cheesy however its nice to listen and look at while havinga drink and your dinner. It finishes at 11pm so head out the hotel to Lexys - the best piano bar i have ever been to. (cover charge weekends which is refunded on drinks). (saw Russ Abbott in there on the Saturday). The other bars in the area cater for the younger 20's to about 50's.
Excursions - the hotel needs to sort out their catamaran trips as nobody was given help by the staff to get on and alot struggled. Only given lifejackets when asked for and the trip lasted only an hour and no explanation.
Grounds - thiscould be better as some of the areas had bits of pipe and rubbish lying around. The place could generally do with a bit of a tidy up.
Overall I think they do try but it tends not to be consistent. If the highest standard that we witnessed on the odd occasion was achieved all the time this would be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank catmanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Facilities are limited, but surely if that's what you want you would go to one the larger, faceless resorts. Everthing that we wanted was there; bar, pool, sea front location and great service.

From reading other reviews glad we upgraded to a pool side room as we didn't have any problems with noise.

Really nice touch having entertainment every night.

Food was generally of a high standard and we didn't see the same menu twice in 10 nights.

Easy to see why people go back year after year.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cmadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

This was our third visit to Mango Bay. Previously we stayed in the superior rooms but, as we booked late, we could only get the garden view rooms which, unfortunately, back on to the streets with restaurants and bars. These were OK but on Friday to Sunday nights they were VERY VERY noisy, which went on to about 3 am. The staff are all very friendly and the food was excellent. I was a bit peeved when entering the restaurant to be given only inside tables instead of sitting out in the open space. I mentioned this to the reception saying was it because we were in the garden rooms and was told no. After that, every meal we were shown to the outside tables! If you have a problem, they will try to resolve it straightaway. Also one day our room wasn't cleaned until after 5 pm. When I mentioned this to reception, it was done by 9 am the next day! My overall summary is that if you can afford it, definitely upgrade the room because the superior ones are bigger, better and much quieter. All in all, a good place for couples, not for families. Suitable for 40 plus.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunqueenBexley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

just returned from mango bay,it was everything we wanted .the sevice is great ,the bar staff can be a little quiet but there willing to talk when you want it.the food is fab and the staff are so lovely nothing is to much problem.the weather had not been to good before we arrived so part of the beech had been washed away but did not affect our stay.there are so many free trips and things to do that come with your stay.if i had one moan it would be about the evening entertainment,its pretty much the same every evening, they could have a couple of more lively nights for the younger people.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank millyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

23 of our family and friends, including ourselves had a fantastic time at the Mango Bay. The Manager,Shireen, and her 'right-hand' woman, Josea, really do have a passion for hospitality. Several of us were given a room upgrade upon arrival which was appreciated. Other hotels should take note that if upgrade rooms are available then why not? It is such a great policy and 'major plus' point to do this. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Robert, the restaurant manager was great too. He was especially attentive and caring when my father-in-law was very poorly. We loved beach-front location and the food was very very good. The range of watersports on offer was the best we have ever experienced. It can be tricky when recommending a hotel to friends/family who have spent a lot of money coming out to Barbados for your wedding but we can honestly say that everyone of them were extremely happy with the Mango Bay. We loved the double sunbed baskets and the evening entertainment, I adored the comfy huge bed, and will definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RedbournTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
8.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#1 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelbag and Hotels.com so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing