We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time at Discovery Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Time at Discovery Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Rather late putting up this review, as we were visiting the end of April. Fabulous location, and fair price. Hotel a bit "creaky" in places, but as long as you take this into consideration you can't go wrong here. Breakfast and lunch were fine, but we did eat out most nights, as we were meeting a friend in the area. Apparently, some of the other guests had issues with the evening meal.

All I can add is that although we were slightly concerned with some of the previous reviews, we had a wonderful time at this very relaxed hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view - worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

Discovery Bay by rex resorts has a fabulous location on the West coast of Barbados, minutes away from Holetown where they are banks, supermarkets, shops and lots of bars and restaurants.

The beach is one of the largest on the west coast with silky white sand and a tranquil turquoise sea.

I am very glad that you enjoyed breakfast and lunch at the hotel and I am happy that you had the opportunity to dine out in the evenings to experience the local cuisine.

It was a pleasure having you stay at Discovery Bay Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    283
    137
    67
    73
See reviews for
114
376
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here recently with 3 friends and could not fault my holiday. On arrival we were greeted with a rum punch by very friendly, accommodating staff. Our rooms were spacious and clean with a lovely view of the pretty garden with it's beautiful plants.The white, sandy beach is just steps away and the sea is just how you would imagine, clear, turquoise and warm! If you fancy lounging round the pool, the loungers are thick and comfy with plenty of sunshades too.We loved the variety of food and never went hungry. The staff were always on hand to help with any questions we had and nothing was too much trouble for them We spent two fabulous mornings on boat trips with a guy called Buju.His boat is called Faith 677 and, although we booked him through a guy called Neil who approached us on the beach, Buju is usually around near the hotel on the beach. One of my friends' was recovering from a broken ankle and he took the utmost care in helping her in and out of the boat. He was very reasonably priced too. We preferred to hire him as opposed to the usual catamaran trip with other people. A week was just not enough for us and i would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room and actually preferred these to a sea view room because if you want to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
In the Caribbean we believe that the best way to start a holiday is with a Rum Punch, it relieves the pressures of travelling. And I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed this and that your first impression was friendly accommodating staff.

I will pass on your compliments regarding the room to our housekeeping department, who try very hard to keep the room “spic& span”.

Our rooms could not be any closer to the beach which is very large after the refurbishment last year. And as you quite rightly mention the sea is wonderfully warm and calm with a soothing turquoise colour.
A
t Discovery we are fortunate to have spacious well manicured grounds which surround the pool deck. The luxury padded loungers and day beds were an addition last year. I am glad that you found these to be comfortable.

Thank you for your compliments on our food; we use the freshest local ingredients which include a variety of lovely fresh fish.

I will keep an eye out for Buju and pass on your compliments which I am sure he will greatly appreciate.

Thank you so much for making Discovery Bay by rex resorts your preferred hotel on Barbados and I look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

first two evenings awful food can only describe as bad canteen food.
hotel change from buffet to menu for evening meals after complaints it go better bu not by much.choice of three starters three mains and three sweets.no imagination and not much choice,same menu day after day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I apologize that our food in the evenings did not meet your expectations.

As you stated we were offering a table d’hôte menu in the evenings which comprised of four starters and five main courses. This was changed every two days to offer a better variety. I am sorry that you thought that the food had no imagination. I will discuss this with the Chef to see where improvements can be made.

Thank you for staying at Discovery Bay by rex resorts and I truly hope that you will return in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Holetown hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Visited May 2014, with grandma and baby. Staff are amazingly helpful, food plentiful and tasty. Mostly local style but the cooks will whip up all sorts when asked. Not the busiest or fanciest hotel on the island, but charming and leaves you feeling relaxed. Nice smallish pool, plenty of loungers including fancy double four poster bed ones. Resort off season so very peaceful. loved the room safes (free), cocktails on arrival and brilliant staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archiesmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, which I will ensure to pass onto the entire team at Discovery Bay by rex resorts.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our food; we use the freshest local produce and are spoiled with a wide variety of fish.

The entire pool deck was refurbished last year which included new luxury padded sun loungers and day beds. This transformed the area into a relaxation zone.

It was a great pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good value hotel, need some more choices for vegetarians. Need more security on room lockers
We had a fab time in Barbados. Room view was excellent you can see sunset from the balcony.


( Watford - U.K. )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Suresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

I am extremely pleased that you thought that Discovery Bay by rex resorts offers good value. It is our goal to offer value for money by ensuring that we deliver superior service and products to our guests.

I have noted your comment on the vegetarian choices and will discuss this with our Chef. I further note your comment on security and will review our current plan.

It is always gratifying when our guests have a fabulous time with us.
Our beach front rooms could not be any closer to the azure Caribbean sea and yes, the sunsets are brilliant.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel evening time after a delayed flight, the check in was very good and the welcome drink (rum punch) was very much appreciated, we were showed to our room very quickly, and what a room it was (80) it had a big sitting room with a bedroom off it,the bed was a queen size and the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in on holiday, the balcony was huge, the food was cooked fresh and was superb , big hello to the cooks who always had a smile, the manager of the dining room and staff always had a smile for you too, the bar staff were lovely too big hello to Cassandra and Jeremy who made us some lovely drinks, the beach outside the hotel has the best space out of all the hotels along the beach plenty of space for the sunbeds and it was so clean,thanks to Malcolm who worked very hard on the beach to keep it tidy, we could not have asked for a better place to stay, we had flowers and bubbly given to us from the hotel as it was our anniversary while we were there which was such a lovely touch, thank you to Sarah in the dining room for being so welcoming to us, please do not listen to the negative comments that people make about this hotel as you could not wish for a better hotel to stay in , thank you discovery bay and Brian Carter for making our first trip to Barbados so special

Room Tip: room 80 has a sea view and is a garden room so very good for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank hollotoffun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I am very pleased that the check in was very good and that the rum punch was appreciated.
As you have quite rightly mentioned Room #80 is a one of a kind in the hotel, it has a living room and a separate bedroom and two balconies. Very similar to what would be classified as a one bedroom suite.
We have had tremendous compliments about our comfortable beds and I am glad that you thought so as well.
Our meals are mainly buffets; we take pride to ensure that the ingredients used are as fresh and local as possible. Each meal is prepared daily which brings out the best flavours to our dishes. I will pass on your greetings to the cooks, Allison, the dining room Manager, Cassandra, and Jeremy.
After the Government refurbishment, the beach it became one of the biggest on the West coast of Barbados.
Malcolm is a treasure to Discovery Bay by rex resorts and is the longest serving employee. He is up very early ensuring the pool area is spotless.
Then he moves onto placing the beach umbrellas and sun loungers along our beautiful beach.

We are pleased that we made your anniversary special and I will pass on your compliments to Sarah.

I am extremely happy that we made your first trip to Barbados memorable and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great little secret on the west coast; keep it that way. Lovely low rise Barbados plantation house feel about the establishment. Pool area fantastically refurbished with best loungers ever! Beach much improved following installation of big "rock stones" breakwater & Malcolm doing a good job.Staff incredibly helpful.(Allison, Polly, and Tyrone) Just ask and like magic it will appear! Likewise with the Manager Brian Carter/Lodge Boy always there and always chatty and helpful.

Don't go there to "fine dine" remember what you paid and enjoy it. Best soups in Barbados!

Room Tip: Pity no ceiling fans in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review, your compliments are greatly appreciated.

Discovery Bay by rex resorts has a very colonial feel which appeals to the tremendous amount of repeat guests.
During closure last year the pool deck was upgraded with padded sun loungers and day beds, which has transformed the area into a central relaxation zone.

The Government refurbished the beach last year as well and Discovery Bay has the best beach in the area by far!

Malcolm is a treasure, he takes great pride in fitting his beach umbrellas firmly into the sand and ensures the beach and pool areas are kept spotless.

Your kind compliments about our incredibly helpful staff are greatly appreciated. And I will ensure to pass them on.

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Discovery Bay by rex resorts and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,
Brian. Lodge Boy. Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.1 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
10.0 mi away
Barbados Beach Club
Barbados Beach Club
#31 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Property: Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Address: St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel situated on St James Beach, the Discovery Bay consists of charming plantation-style houses set in beautiful landscaped gardens. Located on the fashionable West coast, days at this resort are centred around the beach and the pool, the upscale Limegrove shopping mall and nightlife on Holetown's first street a short walk away. The resort is all-inclusive and family friendly, popular with couples also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, West Indies, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Bay By Rex Hotel Saint James
Discovery Bay Barbados
Discovery Bay Hotel Barbados
Discovery Bay By Rex Resorts Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing