We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent value apartment in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
our shared 24 metre pool and restaurant
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
our shared 24 metre pool and restaurant
Fabulous white sand beaches just 5 minutes' walk from the apartment Apartment 2 Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
our shared 24 metre pool and restaurant
Fabulous white sand beaches just 5 minutes' walk from the apartment
Apartment 2 Lounge
Apartment 2 Dining Area
Apartment 2 Kitchen
Apartment 2 Bedroom
The property is set in 5 acres of beautiful tropical gardens
part of our gardens
Tides Restaurant 5min walk
Lonestar Restaurant Dine with the Stars
Small Cats Catamaran Cruise
Harrison Caves
Submarine Go to the bottom of the sea and see shipwreck and marine life
Visit Sunbury Plantation House one of many around the island
Watch a game of Polo
Kensington Oval for a game of Cricket
Visit a Typical Rum Shack
Steelband Dance the Night Away
Sandy Lane Beach Famous with the Stars
Paynes Bay 10 mins stroll on the beach
Bathsheba Beach Surfing on the Atlantic Coast
Visit the Flower Forest
See the Monkeys feeding in our gardens
Watch Fabulous Sunsets with a glass of Rum Punch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
MarmiteLo...
West London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value apartment in great location”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Barbados is expensive so it was good to find a holiday apartment that was all-round good value. We stayed for 11 nights at #330 and had a great time. Golden View is a large 1960s but well-managed block with 24-hour security (not that we ever felt unsafe), a big pool, large well-kept grounds and launderette. The flats are all identical one-bedders, compact but perfectly liveable - 330 had everything you need plus an excellent selection of UK box-sets. Very comfortable bed and air-con in bedroom. Kitchen and bathroom are rather dated but work fine. Large balcony (watch out for birds coming in looking for food) with lovely green views and glimpses of sea. 5-10 mins walk into Holetown. A big new supermarket complex was about to open when we were there in November. Yes, GV is popular with older and returning guests and you can see why: it's quiet (next to the cemetery but you can't see it from the flats), safe, beautifully situated and jolly good value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie K
1 review
“Perfect and perfectly lovely!”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed for 10 days in apartment 307 at Goldenview. As a base for our first visit to Barbados it was excellent. The apartment is good sized and has everything you need for your holiday. We particularly loved the gorgeous balcony, big fridge freezer, the extremely powerful shower and the size of the bed (two 3' singles pushed together) Everything was spotless and the maid came after 7 days to clean and change the beds. Doris had provided us with plenty of advice and guidance for our first visit and we enjoyed the air conditioning (tokens from reception), used the laundry facilities and made use of the written information about the best places to go. Goldenview has a beautiful garden and its own swimming pool which has a walk-in end and never had more than a handful of people in at its busiest. Put in your order at the Chinese restaurant and takeaway on site before you get hungry as the Bajan timeframe is very much in evidence. We hired a car for the week which was an air-conditioned godsend although there are plenty of buses and shuttles to take you all over the island. Don't miss a day at The Boatyard which offers food, drink, music, boat rides, water toys, sunbeds, umbrellas and changing facilities on a wonderful stretch of beach just outside Bridgetown.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thankyou so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your first holiday to Barbados. Sounds like you enjoyed the beaches and restaurants too.I look forward to hearing from you again when you are planning another holiday to the magical Caribbean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakemiste...
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was our second stay at Doris Stevens apartment 405 and once again it matched all our expectations. The apartment is clean and well equipped. Perfect for a couple looking for a quiet relaxing stay on this wonderful Island.

The gardens and pool at Golden View are well maintained and are never crowded. There are always lounges available.

The closest supermarket is a Massey Store a 5 minute walk away. In Holetown there are restaurants from the very basic beach bar to top class. Plenty of local beaches that are quiet and clean.

Highly recommend both Golden View apt 405 and the entire area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2017
Thankyou for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in our apartment and in our little piece of paradise in Barbados and we look forward to hearing from you another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogswin
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for short stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Nicely appointed 1 bed, walkable to beach & Holetown shops restaurants etc
Nice pool, 24 hour reception/security so safe and convenient at same time.
WiFi not available in rooms but available on complex otherwise everything one needs for easy self-catering or restaurant based vacation

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just stayed in apartment 422. Everything in place for a relaxing holiday. Lovely views from the balcony. Great to sit out and eat your meals or lie on the beds placed either end of the balcony. Wonderful swimming pool. Easy reach of shops and beach. We enjoyed walking over the golf course on Sandy Lane,early morning before the sun gets too hot.
Would recommend a stay here and we will return.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jigger639
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place + Lovely people = Great holiday!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Anyone of independent mind wanting to take a trip to Paradise should immediately call Doris and book one of her Golden View apartments.
We stayed in apt 307 this year and had our best holiday yet.
The apartment is beautifully furnished and is kept spotlessly clean by Doris's staff, Tina and Lorraine.
The balcony - which gets the sun from early mid-morning and has extremely comfortable day-beds - is ideal for having a casual breakfast in the morning and an evening 'sun-downer' as dusk draws in and the bats begin flitting about.
The Lounge is very well appointed with comfortable sofas and chair and there is satellite TV and a DVD player as well as a CD/radio sound system for the evenings in. It also has a a very convenient dining area near the kitchenette.
I must admit we didn't do much cooking, even though the kitchenette has all mod-cons - microwave, toaster, an absolutely freezing fridge, etc. as, when we did eat in, it was usually a meal from the on-site restaurant.
(One tip about the takeaway meals from the Chinese restaurant: they serve really big portions - absolutely delicious - but really big...)
The bedroom has ample storage space with a very large wardrobe. The bed is so comfortable. There is an air-con unit (you get tokens from reception) but to be honest we didn't use it very often - the breeze through the apartment and the ceiling fans were usually enough to make sleeping comfortable.
The roomy bathroom has a mixer shower (watch out, the hot water here is really HOT) a wash-basin with ample room for his and her toiletries and a wc. And, I must mention, some of the softest/largest towels I've ever used.

The Golden View Condominiums are very well kept and the staff work extremely hard to keep the pool clean, the grounds neat and tidy, and the the whole complex spick-and-span.
The reception staff are extremely helpful and everyone is so pleasant.
And, of course, you are only a short walk away from the shops and eateries of Holetown, and the beautiful Caribbean sea.

We hired a small Jeep and toured the island, using apt 307 as a base and this is why, at the start of the review, I said this was the ideal place for anyone of an independent mind.
What I mean is, its not an all-inclusive hotel where you have to eat at set times, have waiters cater to you, have to get dressed-up for dinner and pay an absolute fortune for the privilege.
Staying at the Golden View in apt 307 - or one of Doris's other apartments - it is as if you're in a real home-from-home. You have the freedom to do as much or as little as you wish.
You set your own agenda. You can have a relaxing morning, brunch at the mall, then tour parts of the island in the afternoon - we did this regularly and really enjoyed it. Some nights we stayed in, others we stuck on the glad-rags and went out for a meal, usually to the Beach House.

My wife and I have been to all-inclusives in Barbados as well as on other Caribbean islands and honestly, hand-on-heart, we have never, ever had better holidays than when we've stayed in one of Doris's apartments.
Seriously, contact Doris and give the Golden View a try - you won't be disappointed.

And anyone with any questions please feel free to contact/pm me through TripAdvisor and I'll do my best to assist.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unfair question - I adore staying here and Barbados in general
Liked least: I honestly cant think of anything - oh, wait a minute, the wifi in the apt was spotty. It was great at the pool area and reception though.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
Thankyou for a fantastic review John I am so pleased you and Maureen enjoyed your stay in 307 and your holiday in our little piece of paradise.
We look forward to hearing from you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noddy1953
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Romantic Holiday”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is superb.Beautifully furnished and so comfortable. Two settees on the private terrace were ideal for serious sunbathing and reading. The bedroom has large fitted wardrobes and a fabulous walk in shower room. The kitchen has every appliance you need but we ate out at a lot at the many restaurants.
Doris' detailed notes were a great help in finding places. We enjoyed our walks around the estate and fed the many monkeys we came across. The large pool and tropical gardens had plenty of sunloungers and you could always find your place in the shade. Holetown is definitely the most convenient place. We walked on the fabulous beaches for miles then had a Barbados rum punch before catching the bus back. Fabulous. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thankyou so much for your review which I am sure will help other people to book on line.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing