We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Beija Flor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CharlieFa...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a fantastic holiday home. It is beautifully furnished and has everything for a luxurious and comfortable holiday. The bedrooms are really spacious with large, comfortable beds, walk-in wardrobes and each with their own ensuite shower room. The air con and ceiling fans in every room kept the inside wonderfully cool even when it was very hot and humid outside. The pool is excellent although at times was a little hot - like getting in a warm bath ! There are beach towels and separate pool towels. The garden is beautiful. The road noise didn't really bother us and is well screened by the trees and plants. The gardeners, pool attendant (both weekly) and housekeeper (every three days) kept everything spic and span. For us a hire car was an essential even just for popping into Holetown or for going to west coast beaches. The walk into Holetown is a bit of a trek in the heat and there aren't any pavements on the road from the house or even on parts of the main road so not particularly safe, especially given how some of the yellow bus drivers drive! Plus the local Massy supermarket was closed so we had to go to the Massy at Warrens (with its Waitrose aisle!!) and it was much easier having the car. We hired the car from Holetown car rentals after we arrived and it was about £430 for 14 days which was competitive compared to other reputable car hire companies on the island. We collected the car from their office (in Jamestown Park, Holetown) but you can have the car brought to you at the house and collected at the end. We enjoyed Mullins beach for its liveliness and beach bar (note that there are public parking spaces at the Royal Westmoreland club house just across the road from Mullins beach) but Gibbes was our favourite beach. It was about a 10-minute drive from the house. It was particularly quiet in the mornings and felt very unspoilt compared to other beaches, backed by large private villas hidden behind the trees (be careful of the small, green, poisonous fruits called Manchineels - we hadn't heard of them before, there were no warning signs and it was lucky that someone on the beach alerted us as two of our children were playing catch with one!). About a quarter of a mile before you get to Mullins there is a road on the right signposted to Highway 2A and we parked there (walk back down to the main road, turn right and just after a house called Dudley Wood you will find a narrow track down to Gibbes beach - stunning !). We enjoyed Carizma in Holetown and loved Carizma on the Hill which is a short drive up the hill from the house. Great for sunset cocktails / milkshakes. We had afternoon tea at Sandy Lane and ate lunch at the Tides in Holetown. Both highly recommended. We drove out to St Nicholas Abbey which was very interesting and drove down the east coast (roads in a very bad condition) to Bathsheba. We also visited Bottom Bay which was beautiful but you can't really swim there, and Crane Beach which has beautiful pinkish sand but is a little crowded and dominated by the resort at the top of cliffs. We had a delicious lunch at Cutters of Barbados near Crane. Do just be aware how expensive Barbados is. Even self-catering is an expensive option. Supermarket prices are double (or, depending on the product, triple or quadruple British prices) and we were unaware before we arrived. Overall an amazing holiday and a great villa to stay in. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you, Chris, for such a great and comprehensive review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our villa and appreciate the time you have taken to leave such a detailed review, not just about the villa but, about Barbados as well. It is such a beautiful place - I love it! Thank you for pointing out the increase in supermarket prices. Friends and family, that live on the island, have also mentioned this recently so I think I will put a note in my information pack for guests. Better if you are aware beforehand, as you say, so thank you for that tip. You have visited some of the little gems of Barbados i.e. Cutters (one of my favourite places), so very handy to have a car if you want to get around the island and really discover it. I hope if you visit Barbados again you will consider staying with us again also. We would love to welcome you and your family back! Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry M
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely villa.”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely villa with a nice garden and pool. The bedrooms are beautiful and beautifully decorated. We found the kitchen small, and all the plates in the cupboard were piled on top of each other which was a pain when you wanted something from the very back! There were a few hiccups that is why I have not given it 5 stars.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Thank you Cherry for taking the time to leave a review and for giving me direct feedback. I spoke to my property manager who has addressed the minor problems you reported and I apologise for any inconvenience it may have caused. Regarding the crockery, we made the decision to supply guests with the broadest selection of crockery required for 6 people. However, we have taken your comments on board and are looking at alternative accessibility solutions to maintain customer satisfaction.
Thanks once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsims61
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Barbados Break”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Recently back from our 1st trip to Barbados and stay at Beira Flor. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for our 1st visit. The villa is fabulous, and Sharon as the owner gave us so much helpful information before we arrived. Add that to all the help and assistance that we got from Juliet when we arrived and we were in heaven! Villa and pool perfect, and perfectly located for a short walk to a beautiful beach. We loved Beija Flor and loved our 1st holiday in Barbados- we will most definitely be back - as soon as we can! No complaints whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is much appreciated. I am so pleased that you like the villa and that your first experience of Barbados was a great one. I will let Juliet know the feedback.
Love to have you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2017
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad that you like our villa and had a lovely holiday. I would love to have you stay again sometime.
Warm Regards
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pattynewm...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worked perfectly for us.”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent 3 weeks in Beija Flor. The villa is very well appointed with good quality furniture and soft furnishing in fact everything in the villa is of a good quality. The pool was super, exceptionally big for a 3 bed villa and had the sun all day. The weather was a bit mixed so we tended to stay around the villa as we could use the pool as and when and relax on the patio. All the rooms are of a good size which again is a bonus in a rental villa. We had a hire car but more active people could easily walk to the main road and catch a bus or walk to the beach. The villa does back onto the road but we didn't find it a problem - a lot better than noisy neighbours! Attention to detail is evident throughout and all the staff were very helpful. I think it says it all when we say we have already booked for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Thank you, Patty, for taking care of the villa during your stay and for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad you booked when you did for next year. I've had two other requests for that period since taking your booking. So it's true, 'the early bird catches the worm'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebsnMark...
Bolton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at a fabulous villa”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 11 nights in February to celebrate our 50th birthdays was welcomed by Juliet the property manager on the evening we arrived and given birthday cards for us and our daughter who was 10 the following day, cupcakes, wine and some food provisions which was a lovely personal touch :-) the villa is beautiful and has everything you need for a relaxing holiday, bedrooms spacious and beds really comfy! Kitchen has dishwasher, washing machine and drier which was handy, cleaner Julie came twice did a lovely job, given dates of when gardeners and pool guys came but we were usually out and about! There were safes in bedrooms which was great and the villa was well equipped for having meals and cooking which was great for us with children after a long day out. Juliet recommended a great taxi driver Roger for our night out to the Cliff but otherwise we hired a car for the duration which we feel you need in Barbados although the bus service is really good and the walk from the villa to the bus stop is only 5 mins I'm not sure I'd want to do in the dark especially with children. Will be putting on more reviews for places we visited like cool runnings, harbour lights and the cliff amongst others, thought Barbados has gone extremely expensive in the ten years since last here. Juliet was fantastic so warm and helpful and sorted out a broken beach camping chair for us and gas for the BBQ nothing was too much trouble and she made it clear that she was always available should we need her which was comforting. The shutters and alarm on property made us feel secure and the location of the villa is lovely. Sharon was immensely helpful with information prior to our visit and directions to get to the villa were great so all in all a fantastic trip staying in a lovely luxury home we loved it and would highly recommend thank you to everyone who made our stay a wonderful one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Thank you, Debra and Mark, for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. Glad you had a great time. Also, thank you for respecting and taking care of our villa during your stay, it is greatly appreciated.
Hope to welcome you back someday. Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
484terry
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Villa”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful Christmas in Barbados last year, And we could not fault this villa it was perfect for us and our four teenage children. It is in a great location that is very peaceful but yet only minutes from Holetown and the Beach at the Colony Club,One of the highlights was having breakfast on the terrace one morning and watching the monkeys walk through the bottom of the garden. It has everything we needed the management team were very helpful we have told all our friends about it and we would not hesitate to stay at Beija Flor again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2016
Thank you Terry for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am so glad you had a wonderful Christmas at our villa last year and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Merry Christmas from me and the team in Barbados. Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing