We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sid & Jean (Newcastle Upon Tyne)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Fantastic location. Rooms cleaned daily, thank you Francis & Avril, Zacchios restaurant adjacent 'real good' Try Angry Annies & Ragaffumins on first street & don't miss 1st Street Karaoke at One Love Bar on Sunday nights 'brilliant'. Thank you to Mark for remembering us & another fantastic boat trip for snorkelling & swimming with the turtles. Thanks to all the staff @ Sunset for the help & smiles you gave us the two weeks we spent with you. It was just wonderful. It had been 9 yrs since our last visit it wont be 9 yrs until our next. THANK YOU for a brilliant 2 weeks wont forget any of you XXX

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had the good fortune to have an apartment booked here in February which turned out to be during the Holetown Festival! We were on the fourth floor (403), which had fantastic views of the ocean from our private balcony and no pool noise despite being directly above it. There are no elevators so ask for a ground room if you have mobility problems. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Our weekday maid was fantastic and went above and beyond her duties to take excellent care of us. Our room was updated and spotless, the bed comfy, the bathroom was small but adequate. The pool was always well maintained, as were the grounds. The only issue was the A/C. We always had it set to the lowest setting (17C) but the room never got below 22C, which if you're a middle aged woman you'll understand why that would be uncomfortable! The night desk clerk let us take a fan to our room (which was a lifesaver) but the head housekeeper made our maid remove it 2 days later. Needless to say, we did not sleep as well our final two nights. I would suggest that the owners have extra fans available for guests to help circulate the A/C in the rooms. It was wonderful having a small kitchenette that had plenty of cabinet space and was well stocked with dishes, cookware, flatware, a microwave, toaster oven, cook top, coffee maker and a full size refrigerator! The highlight of this apartment/hotel, though is the location. All apartments are oceanfront. On one side is Zaccio's bar/restaurant and on the other side is the beach shack/bar. Both had multiple TVs for sports, happy hours and good, inexpensive (By Bajan standards) food. Across the street was a mall, huge supermarket and bus stop. Next door was a bank with a 24 hour ATM. A block or two away in either direction were multiple restaurants, nightlife, an upscale mall, the police station and a hospital. The Holetown festival was right across the street which made it easy to come and go. An extra benefit was the beach shack had a stage put up for the festival so bands played there too, but not too late. Several nights we never left our balcony because the music was almost below us and we could avoid the crowds! The beach was always spotless and we never had any problem getting beach chairs as long as you were out there before 10 AM. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have mobility issues, no elevator. 403 was quiet and had fabulous views if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jereichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just had 3 weeks of pure delight, clean room, bedding, bathroom. Bed linens and towels changed at least twice weekly, room cleaned every day.Pool and pool area spotlessly cleaned daily. Zacchios adjacent to the property serve brilliant food, lunch and dinner, happy hour at sunset daily right on the beach ( the pool is 8 steps away from the most wonderful beach.) Air conditioned rooms, we had room 7, bit concerned at first as it is close to the bar, no problem, didn't cause us any problem re noise. To Hannah the proprietor, I want to commend you on all staff, the ladies who cleaned our room, the reception staff, the guys who cleaned the pool area and pool, and the bar and restaurant staff (especially Steve, Pearson and Trudy) they are all a credit to you. So friendly and helpful, and it isn't because they expect tips, they are all genuine, lovely people. They all made the effort on the morning we were leaving to come and say goodbye ( reduced me to tears cos I didn't want to leave) This is not a 5* hotel but it is a 5* location and I would not hesitate to go back. Wishing you every success Hannah, love to you,your Husband and daughter Asabe ( hope I've spelled that right) Oh, almost forgot, it was my 60th Birthday whilst I was there and the staff put a birthday card and flower petals all over my bed. THANK YOU for a wonderful and memorable time XX

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynSyl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Returned for the first time in 4 years to the magnificent West Coast. We really do love it here, and a lot has happened since we last visited, Coastal defences, path & the new Mall in Holetown.
Mainly for the better though. Tropical Sunset has been refurbished & it really is a great place. Staff are fantastic, and can't do enough for you. Certainly landed on our feet booking on the Festival week.
The area is going to see a load of redevelopment in the near future, and we really hope it doesn't spoil the region.
The position is superb, and we can't wait to return. Please don't forget us once you get properly discovered!!

Room Tip: Stairs can be challenging for the elderly, so go for Ground/First floor if that's you. Bank is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just arrived back from 10 days stay and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is very basic but it met all our needs and was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we felt very very safe in our accommodation. The kitchen could use a couple more pans. I would recommend bringing a Teflon pan to cook eggs. We had a full size fridge, micro, coffee maker, toaster over and 4 burner stove. All you really need. The grocery store is right across the street..so convenient, and the rad some shops and a bagel place for coffees and sandwiches. Many restaurants within a couple of blocks. I would recommend just grillin. The grilled shrimp was great. Also quite affordable is Opa Greek food, in the Limegrove high end shopping plaza. The beach is wonderful and just steps from your unit. Grear beach chair and umbrella service from Jessy. Plenty of room and shade for everyone. You must experience happy hour at sunset at Zaccios restaurant and bar which is attached to the hotel, a real cheers atmosphere. We met some really nice people there. I would recommend an island tour and you must visit bottom bay..it is so beautiful. Provisions are quite expensive on he island so I would recommend bringing as much as possible from home. You can changed your USD for BBD at the Scotia bank on he hotel premises. Remember to bring your password with you. All in all it was a great vacation and we would return to this location again. Bet we had asked for the 2nd flor and ended up on the top floor, not sure how they count there, lol. Lots of stairs..53 to,our unit on the 4th floor...good workout!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs if you are on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fireball1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have had lots of fun for a week at the Tropical Sunset Beach. We haven't stayed in apartments for years. The ground floor was great for us as it's seconds from the pool and beach. If you want privacy whilst sitting out then upstairs is better probably but stairs! Ha ha felt too lazy for them!! Easy access for anyone with poor mobility wheelchair access is good on the ground floor! We enjoyed being social with the neighbours also from England.Tony and Jean have gone for years and stay for a month at a time there knowledge of Barbados made our
Holiday fabulous!! Rooms are basic but clean but we were never in the rooms long enough they are cleaned every day. So is the pool! And sun bed areas hosed down regularly. The apartments are adequate to cook in if you want too. No need as Zacchio's is fabulous for food and happy hour is so much fun! It's also not open too late so the noise from the bar is negligible. The beach bar is also lively for English sports too. We left the boys in there whilst we swam with the Turtles Trinny and the boys organised it for us they are attached to the tropical sunset beach too! Our boat men Kenry and Lorenzo were fab and made sure we swam with the turtles on our own rather than with a large party of swimmers!! It was so intimate! The supermarket across the road sells everything! The ATM machine is at the bank and 24 hrs just behind the apartments. A new mall has just been built if you like posh and designer or chetell village for a lovely cafe and great beach wear!! I cannot speak highly enough of Hannah and John and staff! Shawntel Shakera and Justin and Anna cleans the rooms! They are full of smiles and are incredibly hardworking and will help you any way they can! Security is good with the safe in your room we felt safe wandering all over this fabulous island. Car hire was arranged by reception and so was our taxi to the airport by Trinny it was worth a little extra as coming from the airport was a small taxi really and we were squashed and hot! We are booking for the festival week next year it's such a fabulous find for us!! I reckon Hannah and John have a real success on their hands it's a hidden gem!! We ate at Sandy Lane and Lone Star expensive but we were celebrating a 50th!! It was great but we also enjoyed being with the Locals at Nancy's Lower Holders Hill opposite the road from the Tamarind hotel a great treat of fun! in a corrugated chicken wire shack! Juju's was fab and the starfish boutique is at the side on the beach she sells fabulous clothes!! Shop whilst your foods cooking! Cash only though!! and the Golden Anchor is a must on Karaoke night!! Sunday night is 1st street and Fri night is Oistins fish fry! Ragamuffins drag night is hilarious but just book a bar stool early when you arrive as it's not necessary to have food it starts at 9! The buses are cheap and regular and the reggae yellow bus is lots of fun! Thank you Hannah and John it's been absolutely fabulous!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at Tropical Sunset from the 15th to 30th of January and could not have had a better holiday experience - perfect location, spotlessly clean, everything you need and the loveliest people. Our huge thanks to Hannah, Curly, Kevin, Lisa and everyone else - it is you who makes Tropical Sunset so special. We'll be back as soon as we can!!

Room Tip: Having a room and covered terrace on the ground floor makes it easier to cope with the occasional tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heredades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,090 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,115 reviews
9.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#1 of 4 in Holetown
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.6 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel

Address: Tropical Sunset Complex, Holetown BB24016, Barbados (Formerly Sunswept Beach Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: £112 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy is to provide the comfort of a home while you enjoy the luxury of a holiday...Tropical Sunset (formerly known as Sunswept Beach Hotel) is situated in Holetown, the west coast's primary hub for visitors and locals alike. Set on the shoreline of the Caribbean Sea, guests can enjoy the breathtaking view from the comfort of their private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunswept Beach
Sunswept Beach Holetown
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing