We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Front of villa
Amaryllis dining
the beach at Ramshackles
wonderful local beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MEB17
Tenerife, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a lovely Villa, absolutely stunning. We were so surprised at just how large Amaryllis Villa was. There was nothing you could want for in the way of appliances in the kitchen, all the rooms were a good size and it was very clean. A lovely private patio at the rear with another patio at the front with a nice size swimming pool to keep cool. We were woken mostornjngs by the monkeys running across the roof, it was great fun watching their antics up close. The villa is in a quiet lane, only 5 mins walk to the main road, max 15 min stroll the Massey, the local supermarket. 10 mins to the lovely Limegrove Shopping Centre and the beach and local restaurants. It's a great location. The local bus runs frequently from the main road so getting the Bridgetown or Speightstown or the lovely beach at Mullins Bat is easy and only 2 Bajan dollars. I would highly recommend this Villa, from booking through to arrival it was easy and Joan during the booking process was really helpful as was Agnes who met us on arrival. We loved it here and would definitely book again when visiting Barbados.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, I will pass on to Agnes who we are lucky to have looking after the villa and guests. We look forward to you returning in the future- Joan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakeyLon...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Villa in a great location”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here over Easter with our 2 children (5 and 4 at the time). Having stayed on the West Coast previously we wanted to be close to Holetown and this location is perfect. We were within a short walk of the supermarket, beaches and restaurants and the kids had no problem walking to and from the Villa.

The Villa itself was bigger than we expected (pleasantly) and was a great spec and very clean. It has Wifi, TV and all of the facilities we needed for the times we did cook at home. It had a nice outside area for eating and a small pool that the kids particularly loved.

Donna and Dave were great. Incredibly friendly and available for any help or advice about excursions, restaurants or when things were on (as places close on Bank Holidays).

I would highly recommend the property and will definitely book again in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thanks for the review Verity, Whanks for being perfect guests.
will look forward to welcoming you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special trip with our daughter and two granddaughters”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We chose this villa because it was exactly the right size for me, my husband and our daughter and two granddaughters 3years and the baby of seven months. The agent was extremely helpful during the booking process and on arrival everything was as we discussed. She arranged transfer from the airport as we needed two car seats.
The villa was clean and spacious with adequate equipment and facilities. The air on in both bedrooms was essential but we only needed to use it before we went to bed at night.
The property was adjoined to another part of the villa which during our stay was occupied by the owners. However this could be rented as well for bigger groups. The owners were friendly and very helpful but at first we felt they were over conscientious about keeping things neat and tidy. Once we got to know them it became easier.
The villa is in a quiet cul de sac with very little traffic. It is about a 5 min walk to the main road where you can catch the local buses or walk to some of the local beaches. The hotel opposite was an all inclusive and charges $200 per day. If you turn to the right and go further along the main roadtheother hotels let you use their facilities as long as you buy drinks and meals there. All very good. Turning left at the junction with the main road takes you into Limegrove an up market shopping mall. Air condoned with some good eating places. Beyond the Mall on the left is another smaller mall that locals use with a well stocked supermarket. Walk further along is a really good value local restaurant called Just Grillin.
Both our children were in pushchairs and we managed to get on and off local buses although we did use a cab some of the time particularly if we went to Pebble Beach just the other side of Bridgetown. On a couple of occasions the Villa owners gave us lifts which was extremely kind.
The pool was big enough and the children loved it

Overall we had a brilliant time and would definitely use the villa again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and style of the villa
Liked least: At times Having the owners on site although they were a dally lovely couple
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
Thanks Dee, would love to see you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overross
ross on wye
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“spacious and quiet”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
7
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I rented this property for the last two weeks in April. The weather was hot and humid with a little rain. Probably fairly normal for the time of year.

I have taken time to write a fairly full review as there don’t seem to be any others at the moment.

We rented the front half (left side) of the property – ie 2 bedrooms. As advertised the back half (right side ) was closed off.
The whole property is quite imposing. It is generally well furnished and maintained and cleaned.
It sits in a very quiet residential lane cul de sac. There is little traffic – an occasional van or truck to a small business at the end of the lane. I think a plant nursery. There are occasional pedestrians. They are screened by the 5ft front wall.
There is some noise from neighbours dogs. There is a school about 200 metres away – you may just hear the children at break.
There is a villa on the left ( viewed from the property) which is for holiday lets and a local residential property on the right. Both are well screened by fencing , shrubs and trees. Directly across the road is a semi maintained area of grass shrubs and trees May be a future build plot. Diagonally across the lane to the left is a property which was not occupied while we were there – but well maintained.
In summary this is a quiet and private location.
It is approx. 300 metres pleasant walk to the main coast road.
Turn left on the coast road and it is approx. 100 metres to the stunning Limegrove shopping centre and 1st and 2nd street. Further couple of hundred metres to Masseys supermarket.
The nearest access point to the beach is via the Discovery Bay Hotel. This is advertised on Home and Away details for residents of Jamestown Park. However we were not permitted through the grounds – but taken by the security guard to a gate path between the hotel and the creek. This is very unpleasant as basically it crosses over all the hotel septic tanks.
We asked about using the hotel facilities. There is a charge of 200 Barbados dollars a day to use the pool , beds and includes lunch. It didn’t seem as they wanted non residents.
The area of beach immediately in front of the Discovery Bay was extremely smelly ( septic tanks or mangrove swamp – take your pick ?) on the first day we visited – but not bad on other days.
50 metres along the road to the right (north) of Discovery Bay there is informal access to the beach past the Art studios. The beaches are quite small coves and generally involve wading or climbing over rocks to get from one to another. They are quite easy shelving into the sea and calm sandy bays. You can reach the Discovery Bay beach or Settlers bay beaches via this route. There is no provision for sunbed hire at either. Be prepared to lie on your towels. Nearest point for sunbed hire and beach bar for is 200 metres further south down the beach at the Surfside. This is crowded and expensive. I think 20 us per day for a bed and 10 us for an umbrella. We didnt bother.
We walked most of the time around Holetown during the day and at night. We ate out nearly every night. SeaCat for good quality fish ( approx. 10 minute walk north down the coasts road – about $90 US for two people including a couple of drinks. Lemon grass - noodles and Thai in the Limegrove. similar price. Just grilling for a cheaper night. Nishi for a treat. Having been to Barbados and other islands a number of times we both found the restaurants to be better than previously experienced well run and good quality.
Tip – have a cheap meal at just grilling then stroll down to the limegrove for a desert , coffee and rum.

Back to the house.
The Housekeeper Agnes met us as arranged and showed us around. We agreed with the booking agent for housekeeping 3 times per week – as there were only two of us. This was plenty and worked well. Agnes and her team (mostly family) did a great job.
There are a lot of keys and lots of locks. Quite confusing for a while.
There are burglar bars on most of the windows and the upstairs balcony and downstairs patio doors.
Window all have mossy netting. Doors do not.
The Kitchen Is reasonably sized (by uk standards) with american fridge , micro wave and oven. Good quality cutlery and crockery. Perfectly adequate kitchen for the amount of cooking you are likely to want to do. Large breakfast worktop between kitchen and lounge / diner.
Wifi available and reasonable speeds ok for surfing and skype telephone. Not quite up to skype video.
Lounge / diner. Pleasant room . large round glass table and chairs. Wicker sofa and chairs. Smallish flat screen tv. Plenty of channels – mostly pretty poor. Could do with a coffee table to use whilst watching TV.
Two ceiling fans. No air con. Patio doors out to patio and swimming pool. This room is difficult to keep cool – insufficient airflow – even with all the windows open. It help with the side door opened – but this has no bars or mossy net – so no good at night.
Utility room. Good washing machine. Clothes line in garden. Plenty of spare towels – including for pool and beach.
Downstairs cloak and shower. Fine.
Bedroom 1. Master. This is a lovely large room. Two single beds put together. Good linen. Ensuite. Separate walk in wardrobe. Safe. Patio doors out to very large and private terrace ( 12 feet x 12 feet approx.) Ceiling fan and good aircon unit. Again difficult to keep cool via natural means at night as insufficient airflow – even with all window and doors open. We resorted to using the Aircon which we prefer not to do if possible. Aircon worked well. Its worth doing a little research on the web about how aircons work and what the modes mean.
Second bedroom. Decent size and fair amount of storage. Two single beds put together. Not ensuite – but separate bathroom immediately next to it. Ceiling fan. This room is particularly stuffy. Aircon older unit and blows across bed. We didnt sleep in this room but used it for clothes storage.
Outside area. Via patio doors from lounge. Good quality table and chairs and 6 comfortable sun loungers. Lots of space and shade or sun as you prefer. Sun disappears behind boundary trees about 4pm. Retreat to bedroom terrace for more sun.
Pool is about 4 x 6 metres. About 3ft deep to max 5 feet. Its just big enough to swim in ( 7 strokes from end to end). Good water quality. Quite clean and low chemical.
The outside area was very pleasant and private. No views as such but surrounded by tropical plants and palm trees plus some very entertaining birds to feed.
In conclusion. For the two of us this was a fine , spacious and enjoyable property.
The only downside is the difficulty in getting some cooling breeze into it. This I believe could be improved. The pool could be a little bigger and deeper.
We would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: master bedroom, patio pool
Liked least: difficult to get air through property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing