We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oudenaarde
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I've been in Moriaanshoofd Hotel with my cycling team for Tour des Flandres. We spent 3 days in the hotel, in company with Jo and his wife.
Good food, lovely place and nice staff... all good then! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munsterlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Owner was very friendly, room ok in an ikea kind of way. My ONLY reservation is that the heating pipes are noisy, noisy enough to wake me in the middle of the night. Restaurant attached to hotel smells good. Look, it's a budget hotel ok?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were looking for a base in Flanders for a few days riding parts of the ‘Ronde van Vlaanderen’ route. We paid slightly more for a ‘Standard Plus’ room which was excellent. It was located on the top floor of the new block. The room was modern, clean and had great facilities. Breakfast is buffet in the conservatory on the terrace and is great for cyclists! We also paid for half-board and the food was top quality including steak kebabs on the last night (the best steak we've ever tasted!). The hotel is ideal as a base for all of the famous Flanders climbs as most are within riding distance.
Joris and all of the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only thing that could have been improved was the weather, but as Joris told us on the first day, ‘there is no such thing as the wrong weather, only the wrong clothing!’
Andy

Room Tip: We had upstairs room in new block, so can't comment on the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 257Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have not been inside the "Moriaanshoofd" for over 20 yrs. as it was not too good when I stayed there last, but now, What a transformation.! The small, family run private hotel is set back from the main N60 and this means that access can be little awkward from the main road, and you may have to go to the roundabout in order to do a U turn but it is simple with a good satnav.

The accommodation is simple, spotless, comfortable and spacious. A Patio door leads out to a private terrace overlooking the lawns complete with ornamental lake and a pair of Swans. It is perfect. Beautiful En suite shower and toilet facilities, clean and spacious too.

The atmospheric Bar/Restaurant is predominantly wood but it's tone sits perfectly with the building . Flame grilled steaks a speciality Weds through to Sat. Prices very reasonable. Superb Continental Breakfast buffet, Cold meats, Cheeses and Fresh bread rolls.(Not Microwaved). The Owner Joe states he serves Good simple food of the highest quality and I cannot put it any better. When visiting the Flemish Ardennes this is a first class base from which to explore.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the rooms in the new building to enjoy the full benefit of this lovely hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay here for the Tour of Flanders.

The room was spacious and had a luxurious bathroom. We were in the new building, the room had a patio door that opened onto a private sitting area. Lovely view of the lake.

The bar and restaurant reflected the owner, quirky and full of character. Jo made ever effort to make us feel welcome. Good selection of beers, a few more choices of fish on the menu would have been appreciated.

The Tour of Flanders CycloSportive long route (from Bruges) passes the hotel so its convenient to nip in and use the toilet en route. Beats queuing for the porto loo!

We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe room. Unable to comment on the standard rooms but I understand Jo has plans to up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 753ANITAc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Have no experience with the hotel since I live nearby but the restaurant is worth mentioning ... in a negative way , I'm afraid .
French fries fried in old fat (that smells - no doubt about it) , prefab sauces (even when asked if they were homemade , they said yes !) , the meat was cooked badly (I ordered rare and got medium rare , my friend ordered medium rare and got well odne) and the general amount and quality of entrees and desserts on the menu wasn't appealing ( nothing fresh to my opinion , either frozen or fried) .
Combined with elevated prices (1 aperitif , 1 piece of meat , 1/2 bottle of wine and 1 whisky at 42 euros) , this one is to avoid !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ewald1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HerbertuitKuurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oudenaarde
4.0 mi away
Leopold Hotel Oudenaarde
Leopold Hotel Oudenaarde
#1 of 5 in Oudenaarde
119 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Pomme D'or
La Pomme D'or
#3 of 5 in Oudenaarde
44 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel De Zalm
Hotel De Zalm
#4 of 5 in Oudenaarde
9 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Torenhof
Hotel Torenhof
#1 of 2 in Sint-Martens-Latem
95 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Brasserie Cesar
Hotel Brasserie Cesar
#5 of 5 in Oudenaarde
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd

Address: Moriaanshoofd 27 | Mullem, Oudenaarde 9700, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Oudenaarde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oudenaarde
Price Range: £100 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd emerges more and more as the ultimate "Sport & Business hotel" of the Flemish Ardennes. Behind the 400 year old historic building "Moriaanshoofd"; with the Reception, Bar and well-known Grill Restaurant, unsuspecting tourists discovers a brand new hotel in Mediterranean hacienda style with 4 Ha. lovely Hotel gardens. Only 6 min. outside Oudenaarde centrum, this hotel offers all the advantages of a city without any disadvantages, so no nocturnal city noise but an oasis of calm in the 4-acre hotel gardens. No hidden extras for parking, Wi-Fi or secure bike shed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing