We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, traditional style hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Pomme D'or

La Pomme D'or
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Pomme D'or
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oudenaarde
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint, traditional style hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed for two nights in this lovely old hotel. It has a great position on the town square. The rooms are a reasonable size, a bit 'tired' but full of character. The staff were polite and friendly. I was travelling alone but meeting relatives who also stayed here and I felt safe and well looked after. The food was excellent (we had an evening meal with other family members) and the breakfast buffet was also very good. I liked the small decanter of port in the bedroom! Oudenaarde is a lovely town. The only thing that spoilt my stay was the 'herd' of mosquitoes that attacked me during the night on my last night, and I left Belgium looking like the elephant man!

Room Tip: For quietness, a room at the back, for the view, a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
4
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I have just completed a three nights stay at this small hotel overlooking the town square . I was made to feel very welcome, and this is important especially if you are travelling alone. The hotel is situated in the central square opposite the museum, so you certainly feel part of everything going on. On Thursday morning I awoke to the weekly town market just outside my window, a colourful delight to behold. A couple of staff members went out of their way to be helpful. Gino who seems to be both waiter, barman, and support reception couldn't have been better. Also the cleaning staff were very polite and helpful when I had had a small accident. Although parts of the hotel are a little tired, overall a good experience, complimented by an excellent choice at breakfast. I would happily revisit.

Room Tip: If you wanted a quieter night I would suggest not a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissymswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Small hotel on the market place, rooms are redone some years ago in a very cheap way. My room had a view to the airconditions and a wall, the aircos are very noisy! The shower was not properly closing, so the entiry bathroom was flooded. Breakfast is nice, fruits, cereals, ham, cheese, but not a big selection. For dinner, the salads are pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easy_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This is a good value hotel for travellers visiting the region. We stayed in a room looking out on the splendid town hall. The room is spacious with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and fresh fruit salad. We were a bit disappointed about some details, which make the difference between an average and a very good experience: a broken bed lamp, bed sheet too short, empty soap bottle, empty minibar, techno music in breakfast room, ...

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Very easy to find, right on the town square. We arrived on a Saturday evening and the parking on the town square was free (they don't charge on Sunday's either). We were very tired after a long day's drive and arrived about 9pm. The owner, who was on reception, was very welcoming and when we got to the room we found a decanter of port - which was even more welcoming!

There's a lift, but the corridor lights are on timers, so you have to keep prodding the little illuminated switches everytime you leave your room.

The room was a very good size and very tastefully furnished - there was a definite 'grown up' feel to it. The only odd thing was that there was no shower curtain, but we were only there for one night and had baths instead.

We ate at the hotel's brasserie which was also very nice. I wish we'd been staying there for longer as it deserved to be more than just a quick stop-over.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazyferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roznov pod Radhostem, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
190 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Hotel is located just opposite a beautiful town hall. Great place to stay. Problems come as you want to park your car. Then you have to use public parking lot but there are limits, it is free of charge from 6 pm to 9 am. If you are late, you probably get a penalty from local police. Corridors are quite narrow and dark but a lift is available. Rooms are OK with a nice surprice - carafe of liquer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blankaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oudenaarde
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel Oudenaarde
Leopold Hotel Oudenaarde
#1 of 5 in Oudenaarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Zalm
Hotel De Zalm
#4 of 5 in Oudenaarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brasserie Cesar
Hotel Brasserie Cesar
#5 of 5 in Oudenaarde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hoevehotel Ronse
Hoevehotel Ronse
#1 of 1 in Ronse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pomme D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pomme D'or

Property: La Pomme D'or
Address: Markt 62, Oudenaarde 9700, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Oudenaarde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oudenaarde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pomme D'or 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Pomme D'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing