We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base in Constable Country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Bergholt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Den Haag
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect base in Constable Country”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As frequent UK-visitors we start our trips mainly in Harwich. Several times we made a short walk near Flatford at the end of our journey. Never before we stayed a night in East Bergholt. We recommend West Lodge Bed & Breakfast to everyone who loves Constable Country and wants to make one or more walks in the surrounding fields. Penny and Paul are heartwarming owners who give you a delicious breakfast in their spacious cottage and receive you with tea and cake in their lovely garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

From start to finish our trip to West Lodge was an absolute joy. The house and gardens are beautiful. Penny and Paul are incredibly welcoming and attentive. There was a brilliant home cooked breakfast. Very tasty and generous portions in whichever of the numerous choices you go for. Lovely scenery on the doorstep - we stayed for two nights in May and walked straight from the house around some wonderful trails about the Dedham valley. We were able to bring our dog with us and she was made very welcome too, able to sleep in our room, given the run of the gardens and had a most wonderful playmate in Difa, Penny and Paul's black labrador. Our room was very comfortable, it was quiet and nicely decorated.There are a couple of dog friendly pubs which serve food in very easy walking distance for the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just spent three nights at West Lodge where the hosts Penny & Paul really make you feel special;from the welcoming tea and cake to suggestions on places to walk to and visit, not forgetting the excellent breakfasts. The rooms were immaculate and the garden splendid ,especially when viewed from the tree house. We can't wait to return in the summer to sit up in the tree house with a drink .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

From wonderfully welcoming hosts to the fantastic breakfast,our stay at West Lodge was a joy from beginning to end. Tea and Cake on arrival,in a beautiful property, in the centre of the village.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAS693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Where do you start...Friendly welcome...We have never stayed before..yet we were welcomed like old friends. Shepherded to the "Snug" for Tea and Cake on arrival. The snug was well equipped, with TV and fridge, downstairs WC...for convenience. Now to the rooms...again well equipped....TV, ensuite, plenty of storage....good comfy bed Tea Coffee equipment...... I hear you say....so whats so special....About 200 teabags, full jar of coffee, biscuits and bottled water, with kettle, bone china mugs....then theres the furniture around the house...it is magnicent.....the breakfast was plentyful...the crockery exquisite...the cuttlery was silver....The books and ornaments everywhere created many subjects of conversation. Every aspect of this House and its contents ouzed quality and class. Then to the gardens....and the tree house....worth a look . The village was small but perfect. The shop was 5 minutes away (Geniunely only 5 mins...and 4 of those are walking up the drive) The Red Lion Pub is anouther 1 minute further....good honest pub meals...recommended by Penny..and justified. St Marys church is 5 mins in the opposite direction...The bell tower is at ground level and quite an ocassion when bell ringing takes place. Flatford mill is only 20-30 minute walk...a beautiful walk. We got so much more from this break and WEST LOGDE was worth every penny. Imagine what you would expect from staying at a country retreat....you will get that and so much more....Would we stay again.....just try to stop us. Excellent is really an injustice for such a beautiful location, beautiful house and hospitality to die for. It was a special occasion....and by goodness did we feel special...Thanks. Then there is "Deefa" the dog......what a tart! Young but under control...very friendly....not a single noise.....there is nothing better than coming home from a long walk and being welcomed by a dog that just wants to be a friend. Genuinely, everything about this long weekend was perfect! Only one negative....we wished we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: The house only has three rooms....I have seen two of them....both perfect....I have no reason to dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJHDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolvey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A standard for B & B's to aspire to - a warm and hospitable welcome, excellent meals, quiet location and attention to detail, all in a characterful location with its own grounds in the centre of the village.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeoffDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Penny gave a warm welcome to us seven cyclists and we thoroughly enjoyed the delightful and well-appointed rooms (we had a shower) and the great breakfast. It was really quiet and a short distance from the Red Lion pub where we ate a good evening meal. The garden is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaSouthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Bergholt
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
1.8 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
The Crown, Stoke By Nayland
#1 of 1 in Stoke by Nayland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Ipswich hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: West Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Street, East Bergholt, Babergh District CO7 6TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > East Bergholt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Bergholt
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A warm welcome in the heart of Constable Country"West Lodge is a converted coach house set in two acres of mature garden yet just 80 yards from the centre of East Bergholt with its pubs and shops. There are three double bedrooms, all en suite and with all the usual amenities, with one of them having an interconnecting children's room with two single beds.There is a guest 'snug' with fridge and television. Award-winning breakfasts are served in the Victorian dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Lodge Bed & Breakfast East Bergholt, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing