We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Short Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Bergholt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb Short Stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Agree 100% with previous reviews - this is a stunning destination, and the bonus for us is, it's only about 2 hours' drive from home. Lovely property, warm welcome, scrumptious breakfasts, and lots of little extra touches - fresh bottles of water laid on, a little flask of milk at our door every day, a newspaper of our choice included at breakfast - and last but not least, when we returned from our days out, there was Penny waiting for us with a pot of tea and a tasty slice of cake. We were totally spoilt and loved every minute of it!

We had visited Flatford and East Bergholt before, but only on a day trip, so it was good to explore the surrounding area. Constable of course is well represented, and Gainsborough's House at Sudbury is well worth a visit. We took in Melford Hall, Ickworth House and Hedingham Castle, all of which were excellent.

Another plus feature was the Red Lion pub which is literally two minutes' stroll away - very nice evening meals and glasses of wine.

This is great walking country, and the River Stour is beautiful, winding its way across Dedham Vale.

All being well, we will definitely make a return visit soon - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

From the moment you find the hotel, the world is a better place. Great location, friendly and helpful owners with a warm welcome, lovely large room and magnificent breakfast. Also pet friendly. Only 70 miles from Hertforshire but it could be 200 miles such is the relaxing atmosphere around East Bergholt. Well placed for visiting the sites where the artist John Constable painted and just having a very relaxing time. We strongly recommend this prestigious B&B to you.



Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandJo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As frequent UK-visitors we start our trips mainly in Harwich. Several times we made a short walk near Flatford at the end of our journey. Never before we stayed a night in East Bergholt. We recommend West Lodge Bed & Breakfast to everyone who loves Constable Country and wants to make one or more walks in the surrounding fields. Penny and Paul are heartwarming owners who give you a delicious breakfast in their spacious cottage and receive you with tea and cake in their lovely garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

From start to finish our trip to West Lodge was an absolute joy. The house and gardens are beautiful. Penny and Paul are incredibly welcoming and attentive. There was a brilliant home cooked breakfast. Very tasty and generous portions in whichever of the numerous choices you go for. Lovely scenery on the doorstep - we stayed for two nights in May and walked straight from the house around some wonderful trails about the Dedham valley. We were able to bring our dog with us and she was made very welcome too, able to sleep in our room, given the run of the gardens and had a most wonderful playmate in Difa, Penny and Paul's black labrador. Our room was very comfortable, it was quiet and nicely decorated.There are a couple of dog friendly pubs which serve food in very easy walking distance for the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just spent three nights at West Lodge where the hosts Penny & Paul really make you feel special;from the welcoming tea and cake to suggestions on places to walk to and visit, not forgetting the excellent breakfasts. The rooms were immaculate and the garden splendid ,especially when viewed from the tree house. We can't wait to return in the summer to sit up in the tree house with a drink .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

From wonderfully welcoming hosts to the fantastic breakfast,our stay at West Lodge was a joy from beginning to end. Tea and Cake on arrival,in a beautiful property, in the centre of the village.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAS693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Where do you start...Friendly welcome...We have never stayed before..yet we were welcomed like old friends. Shepherded to the "Snug" for Tea and Cake on arrival. The snug was well equipped, with TV and fridge, downstairs WC...for convenience. Now to the rooms...again well equipped....TV, ensuite, plenty of storage....good comfy bed Tea Coffee equipment...... I hear you say....so whats so special....About 200 teabags, full jar of coffee, biscuits and bottled water, with kettle, bone china mugs....then theres the furniture around the house...it is magnicent.....the breakfast was plentyful...the crockery exquisite...the cuttlery was silver....The books and ornaments everywhere created many subjects of conversation. Every aspect of this House and its contents ouzed quality and class. Then to the gardens....and the tree house....worth a look . The village was small but perfect. The shop was 5 minutes away (Geniunely only 5 mins...and 4 of those are walking up the drive) The Red Lion Pub is anouther 1 minute further....good honest pub meals...recommended by Penny..and justified. St Marys church is 5 mins in the opposite direction...The bell tower is at ground level and quite an ocassion when bell ringing takes place. Flatford mill is only 20-30 minute walk...a beautiful walk. We got so much more from this break and WEST LOGDE was worth every penny. Imagine what you would expect from staying at a country retreat....you will get that and so much more....Would we stay again.....just try to stop us. Excellent is really an injustice for such a beautiful location, beautiful house and hospitality to die for. It was a special occasion....and by goodness did we feel special...Thanks. Then there is "Deefa" the dog......what a tart! Young but under control...very friendly....not a single noise.....there is nothing better than coming home from a long walk and being welcomed by a dog that just wants to be a friend. Genuinely, everything about this long weekend was perfect! Only one negative....we wished we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: The house only has three rooms....I have seen two of them....both perfect....I have no reason to dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJHDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Bergholt
1.8 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
300 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
279 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: West Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Street, East Bergholt, Babergh District CO7 6TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > East Bergholt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Bergholt
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A warm welcome in the heart of Constable Country"West Lodge is a converted coach house set in two acres of mature garden yet just 80 yards from the centre of East Bergholt with its pubs and shops. There are three double bedrooms, all en suite and with all the usual amenities, with one of them having an interconnecting children's room with two single beds.There is a guest 'snug' with fridge and television. Award-winning breakfasts are served in the Victorian dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Lodge Bed & Breakfast East Bergholt, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing