We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Great Ayton B&B and Inns
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

AFTER READING SOME OF THE PREVIOUS REVIEWS WE WERE A BIT SCEPTICAL OF BOOKING . WHAT A SUPRISE WE GOT. For £99'50 Weekend break we had dinner / bed/breakfast Which was fantastic value The room was spacious warm (a really cold night) and scrupulously clean . The breakfast WE had was full English and after the evening meal the previous evening this proved to much for my wife (me being greedy ate the lot) but there were plenty of other options available to suite all tastes The evening meal was the set 3 courses. again a good selection and good size portions . The staff in both the restaurant and breakfast room could not of been more helpfully or friendly . I JUST WONDER SOMETIMES if some people just expect too much these days listening to a table near me complaining about something minor and debating how it was cooked on some cookery show on TV all in all for me this was cracking value well done all of you at the Kings Head We Will be back

Room Tip: A very quite area late at night so front or rear both good options
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBT321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review - we could not agree with your comments more! We hope you return again soon in the near future. Thank you for your five stars too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    57
    32
    33
    29
See reviews for
82
105
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have been many times to the Kings Head but today was our first since new owners had taken over, it has gone downhill rapidly, one of our party made a comment about it been so quite, we later realised why. I had the beef the waitress asked who has ordered the small beef, only to be corrected by another 'no no they are just large plates' I was gobsmacked at the size, one thin slice of beef, one roast potato, three choices of veg, carrots, mash potato and cauliflower, for £13.50 this was pathetic. Do not go save your money and go else where we will definitely not be setting foot in there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Ownership and plates (and dessert trolley) may have changed, but our brilliant kitchen and front of house team have not. The same great food, no change in portion sizes - sorry that you are mistaken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Ayton hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night for the first time and will definitely be looking to go back even if just for food. The 3 course set meal had great choice and was very tasty, the room was quaint and very comfortable and the breakfast this morning was beautiful. Great value for money at just £99.50 for two :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for an excellent review and five stars too. We hope you return to stay and dine in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland . u k
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I have been here lots of times over the last 20 years , I now know that the owners have changed and sold this to another owner , first the meal menu , there is potato skins and a Carlie dressing , well the were returned as they were potato pealings fried , no taste no appeal in looks and about 10 skinny pealings , not a good start . The main course roast of the day pork great till we got there at 1pm and on ordering told sorry the roast is now Turkey. After only 1 hour of serving the roast of the day ( get it of the day) non left , also the sweet trolley not around now, small selection ot deserts , and very repeated from last week , well thanks for the happy meals over the years , but we may move on to other places for our lunch break , the service was good if now a little slow ,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gkbCleveland.uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
How disappointing to read your review. Yes, the sweets trolley has gone but our desserts - made by our same talented kitchen team are the same! And we do like to try popular dishes like out potato skins - as opposed to 'pealings'. They certainly went down a treat with our other diners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch with a friend we have lunched here on numerous occasions prior to October 2013. We were very disappointed with meal, e.g. roast beef not as good and a smaller portion. We were looking forward to our desserts but we're told sweet trolley no more. Portions and choice poor. Coffee no longer served in a cafetier, just a cup. Overall very disappointed and don't think we will be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank NorthYorkshireJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
That's a shame to hear. While we no longer have a sweets trolley, we certainly have not altered our portion sizes. They are as hearty as ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
461 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We visited this eatery on Xmas eve afternoon (party of 6).
We all chose the set Menu which had enough choice to suit all tastes.
The food was served promptly and with courtesy.
It was a busy buzy place testament to it's popularity with Diners.

We have Been before and will certainly come again, enough said!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal and that you have eaten before. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a family meal out to celebrate a birthday. We chose from the set menu, that changes every 7 days, and is great value. The food was excellent , the service first class and friendly. Will be going back next time I am in the area.
This was my second visit and it gets better and better

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
A great review - thank you - and thanks, too, for the five stars! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Ayton
3.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
4.0 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
7.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: The Green | Newton-under-Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Great Ayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Great Ayton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing