We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal location comfortable stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Forge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Z959VCsar...
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ideal location comfortable stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Old Forge is in a pretty setting, offers plenty of space for a family group, has a homely feel and is an ideal base to explore the area. Shops, restaurants and pharmacy are just minutes walk away. There are adequate facilities in the property but some basic sundries e.g dishwasher tablets would be helpful. Some areas of the property are in need of general improvement and decoration. The mattresses in all rooms bar the twin are very uncomfortable and in desperate need of replacement, the rail on the top bunk needs fixing for safety.
A lovely time was had by all at the Old Forge, I would definitely visit again if the improvements were made.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review, and your positive comments. Thanks also for drawing our attention to the mattresses and bunk beds - I have personally tested these and agree with you. Accordingly I am replacing both double mattresses and the bunk beds this week. I do hope you will return to The Old Forge in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarke316
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage situated in an ideal area and base for holiday. With two dogs great for walks in close proximity. Central for travelling to many amazing areas, too many for one week! Cottage was lovely and warm and welcoming. Would have given 4* but some areas a little tired, e.g. mattresses need replacing (not twin beds). However still represents good value for money and we enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review, and your positive comments. Thanks also for drawing our attention to the mattresses - I have personally tested these and agree with you. Accordingly I am replacing both double mattresses this week. I do hope you will return to The Old Forge in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickjf
south yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the old forge”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

The old forge is a big house (holiday cottage) directly next to a river in a beautiful Yorkshire country village of Great Ayton.
When we arrived we were welcomed with a 'welcoming' pack of - local handmade bread, jam, marmalade, milk and to top it, a bottle of extremely nice wine was waiting for us too..... Perfect! (there were tea and coffee too)
The old forge really is 'home from home' . It is a beautiful house which has two bathrooms (one upstairs and one downstairs), a large kitchen, dinner, four large bedrooms, large living room with open log fire for those winter evenings and enough sofas and room for two or more large families. Every room was spotless and there wasn't anything you don't need. We went in December this year (2015) and it was so cosy inside with the central heating and with a log fire it was perfect. Outside has a garden next to the river which is very picturesque. There are lots of walks in the country right out side the front door or nip over the road to the royal oak inn for amazing meals by a log fire. The village is beautiful historical place shops that provide everything you will need. This is one of the nicest holiday homes/cottages i've stayed in and we will be going back in the very near future.
I would highly recommend the old forge for a relaxing holiday, romantic holiday, walking holiday, fun holiday, sight seeing holiday, winter, spring, summer and autumn holiday!
Its simply perfect for any occasion

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Hi Patrick - thank you for your excellent review. We really appreciate your comments, they make everything we do worthwhile. We really hope you visit The Old Forge again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review Angela, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Old Forge. You will be pleased to know we have upgraded the wifi since your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing